We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Save Saved
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
“an oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stepping into the Dar Les Cigognes is like walking into a calm and cool oasis - at least I relaxed immediately when entering from the hustle and bustle of the medina. Have stayed at several riads but this is my favourite - beautifully designed and still very functional. Especially of note are the many "escape retreats" within the hotel (and not just the lovely rooms) like the library with the fireplace and the spa - and best of all, the roof top terrace where once can see the stocks nesting on the palace opposite the hotel amongst lush plants and a nice breeze!. Service was impeccable - and the food lovely - am very partial to their homemade yoghurt! And loved the art dotted around the hotel - especially in the hall ways (and in the rooms - at least what I got to see) - straight out of 1001 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    212
    40
    7
    11
    6
See reviews for
22
153
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pierre and team were magnifique! Everything about this riad was perfect - the service, the food, the staff, the tips on where to shop, sightsee and eat. The rooftop garden where meals are served is a beautiful spot overlooking dozens of stork nests. The dinner we had there was probably the best we had in Marrakech. A gem!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were there in May 2013 and it was already getting very hot. This is an absolutely beautiful Hotel. When you enter the Riad its calmness and elegance is captivating, you feel immediately relaxed and at ease, a peaceful retreat from the busy streets. The staff is very friendly and welcomes you with a warm smile, service is impeccable. The location is close to place Mellah, at the edge of the Medina from where you have easy access to the Souks but also can find a taxi in 1 minute walk (some of the Riads in the Medina are in pedestrian areas). The best part is breakfast at the roof terrasse, from where you can see the storks breeding. In the evening you can lounge there, have dinner, smoke a shisha pipe if you want to or just relax. Pierre the GM is very friendly and if you book a cooking class, will show you around the market place (not where the tourists go but where the local people including the hotel buy their supplies). The cooking class was a truly great experience, you will learn in an easy way how to use all those different spices and the cook has been on TV shows and gets many visits from international chefs who want to learn from her. Try it :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had not booked Dar Les Cigognes, but, due to a boiler problem with our room at Riad Kaiss, we were transferred to this riad directly from the airport. The hotel was very apologetic, and provided a lovely welcome with mint tea and pastries and gave us information about the city. Our room was lovely, facing the inner courtyard. All the staff at the riad provided a wonderful service, with nothing too much trouble. Breakfast and dinner were served whenever we wanted and someone was always on hand to provide a mint tea or snack. The air conditioning did fail in our room (clearly slightly unlucky with technical issues) but again it was dealt with very well and we were offered another room to sleep in, which we didn't take. Given the noise of Marrakech the rooms are amazingly quiet at night - you can not hear anything.

The rooftop garden is wonderful and very calm and provides a great setting for breakfast and dinner.

The riad is about 10minutes from the main square, and there are restaurants close by. The riad should be quite easy to find (compared to others) as it right next to the palace walls - however we did manage to get lost. The manager does provide a telephone number and an offer to come and get you if you get completely lost.

We also took advantage of the hamman, which was an interesting experience, but very relaxing. Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

If you are looking for a luxurious Riad with wonderful, friendly, personal service this is it. Pierre is brilliantly organised, a font of knowledge of where to go, what to see and where to eat or drink and nothing is too much trouble for him or the rest of the staff. I had booked a 5 night stay as a birthday present for my wife with the idea that she might particularly like to experience the cookery class. In the end I joined-in too and it was brilliant. Pierre took us around the Jewish quarter in which the Riad is situated and we got to meet his suppliers and see the parts of the souk and markets we wouldn't have done otherwise. We cooked far too much food though it was all delicious as we had expert instruction from Saida despite our lack or Moroccan arabic. In case you are wondering how the Riad got its name it is from the storks nesting on the palace walls that are easily visible from the wonderful terrace where we ate breakfast, lunch and dinner on different occasions. A real find.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Unassuming entrance to old style Arab home with courtyard and roof top garden- each room very different in style most with Arab/Moor flavor. Hotel is billed as culinary treat with cooking class (which we were not able to book although we were entitled to which I will give them the benefit of the doubt on with communication problem- Unfortunately the manager, Pierre- who was most gracious in greeting us and asking us a lot of questions about what we wanted to see etc was off the following day and we didn't feel things were covered in that regard as they should have been. The food was very good but not outstanding. We were not particularly happy with the tour guide we got, but that was probably not the fault of the hotel per se- "luck of the draw" so to speak. minor irritant but noteworthy I think- for the prices we paid It would have been nice to have a new bottle of water each day as most hotels did for our Africa Sojourn- when we asked about it they said they would be glad to "bill us"for that -really less than gracious in my opinion
But overall a very nice place and very close tin old Medina for the sights etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I cannot recommend Dar Les Cigognes highly enough. Close enough to all the action of the souks and Djemaa el-Fna square, but far enough off the main drag to afford guests some much-needed peace and quiet from all the madness, it really is a hidden gem - an oasis of exclusivity, tranquility and calm and the absolutely perfect base for any visit to Marrakech. From the moment we arrived, every need or request was looked after by the welcoming, knowledgeable and consummate professional Pierre and his superb team - from mint tea and homemade cakes on the terrace courtesy of Hammid, to tips on daytrips and evening plans from Sanna, and even a little box of homemade goodies for our return transfer to the airport - the team were always polite and helpful but not overbearing, and everything was designed with our comfort, enjoyment and convenience in mind. Our room - Safari - was beautiful with everything you might need - a comfy bed, easy-to-use safe, plenty of storage space, luxurious bathroom and indulgent toileteries - and a few rose petals thrown in! The roof terrace is beautiful - with views on one side of nesting storks and on the other of the Atlas Mountains. We were also able to enjoy the rooftop pool at its sister riad, the Riad Kaiss (another beautiful spot with fantastic staff) and were lucky enough to have it to ourselves on two occassions - pure indulgence! My only reservation in leaving this review is that I want to keep the secret to myself - but otherwise would say go ahead and book with confidence, if you ever get the opportunity to experience this magical place - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech
Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.