We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“3 days in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We can't recommend this beautiful riad enough. In a great location in the south Medina, close enough to the souks, yet far enough away to be able to enjoy the riad's relaxing vibes. Pierre, the riad manager, was absolutely charming from the first minute and really made our experience unforgettable. From recommending restaurants, to providing private tours around the markets he really did make the difference. The room was spectacular, as was the food. All in all we had a wonderful stay and would definently recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with the TripAdvisor Community
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    43
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
173
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Booked through Mr and Mrs Smith and the descriptions are wholly accurate. We were spoilt from the start. A 15 min sit down with the General Manager over mint tea with a long list of recommended restaurants, sites, shops etc. Hammam, massage, dinner and a private cookery lesson booked. The room was amazing with fireplace and huge polished plaster bath, the hammam an experience you have to try but the setting for dinner was something else. A private dining room for two, beautifully furnished and decorated with a fire and chess board set up for a post meal game. Breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the royal palace, the storks nests with the atlas mountains in the distance. Off around the markets where the General manager escorted us round the local markets showing us where they bought their produce and back to the kitchens to prepare our lunch. It's not the cheapest around but it is luxurious, peaceful ( no tv's! :) ) and despite being full, we only bumped into other guests 3 times!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Tropez, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My and my wife have been staying 5 nights at Dar Les Cigognes we had a wonderful room, a very personalised service, excellent restaurant. The Riad is also like a museum it is not Disney land but real.
The location is situated next to the actual kings palace and when we go from the Riad to the square we pass through very interrestibg quaters that are less touristy and very nice.
I can only advise you to book this Riad rather then going for resort hotels etc...

Room Tip: Take the superior rooms. Its worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

If you plan to venture into the mayhem that is Marrakesh, ensure that your stay is with the Riad Dar Les Cigognes, which I can only describe as being an oasis and welcome break from the chaos of Marrakech's Medina. The Riad is located directly across from the Royal Palace and although the exterior is rather indiscriminate (in a way rather off putting), it is actually a masquerade for the gem that lies within!

The staff are welcoming and always accommodating to each travelers needs, guaranteeing that your stay in Marrakesh is as worry free as possible. Traveling with our 2 year old son was a concern to us, however the staff soon placed our fears at rest. (I cannot emphasize enough the courtesy, friendship and warmth that all of the staff offered!)

For those weary travelers tired of the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh, the Riad also offers a set evening meal each night that emphasizes the best blend of Moroccan and French cooking, that can be served in one of the character rooms located in the Riad. Weather abiding, breakfast and dinner can also be served on the roof top terrace, which provides distance views of the Atlas mountains.

Should we return to Marrakesh in the future, I can assure you that the Riad Dar Les Cigognes would be our first choice in accommodations!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Dar Les Cigognes for 4 nights at the beginning of Oct 2012. It is a lovely tranquil haven away from the hustle and bustle of the souks and busy roads of the Medina. As soon as we arrived we were greeted with a warm welcome, mint tea and shown our room. We stayed in the large and comfortable "Atlas" room in the adjoining section, through a maze staircases and archways. The riad breakfast is served on the roof terrace and we did this twice during our stay and we would recommend this. A great place for couples to unwind.

We soon got our bearings and a short walk away is the main square where it all happens (take a photo of the snakes, monkeys or belly dancers and expect to pay for it). Market stall food here is cheap and reasonable. The souks are as always an invasion of your senses and we found that most market holders are friendly if you smile, are polite and walk past if it's not for you. We would also recommend a horse drawn carriage ride (approx 45 mins), the Cyberpark gardens and the Majorelle (YSL) garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I to come backwas concerned about Marrakesh and Morocco in general. What a surprise to check into this small jewel of a Riad, walkable into great shopping in the souks, The manager, Pierre greeted us with mint tea and asked after we saw our sumptuous room (we were upgraded complimentary) if he could give us a 20 minute walk of our new neighborhood. We did, we felt safe, welcome and after 4 days, we checked into another hotel and called and begged to come back-Pierre found us a room. Our morning breakfasts were on the rooftop in a covered banquette with great smiles and service. We took hundreds of photos of the large storks nesting in the roof across the street. A definite place to return to. While there are more expensive places in town, this was is a great value and a gem. Thanks-would highly recommend it for couples.

Room Tip: only saw two rooms and they were both great. The hotel is small and each room is uniquely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our first trip to Marrakech and I would definitely recommend this riad. From the moment we walked in the door, Pierre and his staff were extremely attentive and helpful. We were a little unsure of our surroundings when we first arrived, but we were assured that the area is safe and there were plenty of guided tours and activities to help us along the way. I highly recommend the personal guided tour. We never would have seen so much without our fabulous tour guide, Omar (booked direct through the hotel). There are a lot of windy streets and pathways, so it would be easy to get lost without a tour guide. The cooking class was also a lot of fun and gave us an opportunity to pick out some of the best spices to take home with us. The riad itself is just beautiful. Each room is meticulously decorated, exceptionally clean and full of delicious aromas, either from the cooking, the hammam, or the fresh air and flowers on the roof deck. We loved this place and the staff so much we probably spent more time there than exploring other parts of Marrakech. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sahara room, which wad beautifully decorated like the Sahara Desert with a star pai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.