We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What happens behind the Walls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 474 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What happens behind the Walls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I love that in Marrakech you do not know the beauty that sits just behind the walls. Every floor of this hotel stay offers authentic elegance balanced beautifully by comfort. I loved my room on the second floor, not huge like in some Riad's but perfectly positioned (and the enormous bath was all I needed - felt like a private hot tub after a long day of walking the souks). The food is what they are known for and take full advantage of this - eat there, cook with the chef, ask to go to the food market with someone - and do it all on a roof top garden to rival any or a stunning candle lit courtyard. Lastly - amazing staff that really helped me with an issue not of their making. Loved it, Kay

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    47
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
184
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Just returned from a six day stay with my partner in this lovely riad in the south part of the medina. All the staff were very courteous and welcoming, and Pierre was particularly helpful in offering suggestions of places to eat at or visit based on our wishes and energy levels, as we both arrived from the UK feeling ill! Our only complaint was that the shower was cold for the first couple of days (hence '4' for rooms, above) but this was soon fixed and we were given a free hammam as compensation, so no complaint really. We would echo all the great comments other reviewers have stated here essentially - we found the riad to be a calm and quiet oasis away from the bustle of the street, and this may have been due in part to the location of our room (Berber) on the opposite side to the street. Anything we asked for was organised well and without a fuss. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to anyone else, particularly if visiting Marrakech for the first time and wanting to be centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experiences with us at Dar Les Cigognes.

We are doubly sorry for the problem with the hot water heater. There was an electrical short which caused the fuse to require replacing, which we did on your first night. We have separate water heaters for each room so that we can minimise the impact of problems such as this which may arise from time to time.

We appreciate your understanding for this matter and will look forward to seeing you in Marrakech again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Choukran!!
What a fabulous time we had over the last few days of our first holiday in Morocco. We had an amazing & relaxing time in the most beautiful surroundings of this very smart Riad. What a stunning roof terrace garden and well placed tables, to make us feel secluded in our own space. We could not have been better catered for and felt in the lap of luxury. Pierre's attentiveness & personal touch made us feel very special guests. Nothing was felt to be too much and the attention to detail was incredible. We stayed in the Sahara room with a very comfortable bed with duvet, AC & lovely bathroom including luxurious complementary toiletries.
We really enjoyed meeting the head chef & her teaching us to cook Moroccan food in the Riad's kitchen. Fun & delicious. They are a fantastic team of people who made us feel very welcome & have been the best hosts we've ever known. They should all be very proud - we will be telling all our friends & family who will hopefully meet them all too.
This Riad is well placed for the Southern exploration of the Medina and still only a short walk from the central Jeema al Fna & main souks which can be so easily explored by foot. We recommend at least one evening eating out at the Night Market. A real Marrakech experience not to be missed!
Highly recommended Riad - we booked through Mr & Mrs Smith website & got 2 nights for price of one - but even without a deal, we would recommend this Riad for a night or two of feeling like Royalty!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_234, Manager at Dar Les Cigognes, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Dar Les Cigognes with others. We are super happy that you enjoyed yourselves so much, and in particular that you enjoyed your cooking class.

Thank you also for sharing your thoughts on the location, with the Southern Medina being the centre of the major tourist sites (Badi Palace, Saadian Tombs, Bahia Palace, 2 Royal Palaces, Dar Si Said Museum) all within a 5 minute walk.

We would love to see you here again soon.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This has been our first trip to Marrakech and this charming hotel has certainly made it special. Pierre and his staff cannot do enough to help and their local knowledge has been invaluable, whether for booking a supper venue, local pricing or advising on itineries.
We stayed in the Orientalist Suite, which was lovely, with beautiful wooden doors opening out towards the courtyard.
It was a pleasure having breakfast on the roof terrace every morning, though the bees took some getting used to (they didn't pester though, just wanted the sweet jams!). Watching the nesting storks on the ramparts opposite, was a delight.
Our only criticisms were that the little touches from a 'boutique hotel' were often missing. Bottled water wasn't replaced, the advertised afternoon refreshments and pastries arrived variably as did the nightly 'turn down'. The most disconcerting aspect was the noise. The hotel is on quite a busy road and the buzzing mopeds took some getting used to. Also, the 'Riad' style of stone floored courtyard with the rooms surrounding, meant that it was difficult to sleep beyond 7ish as the sounds of early rising guests and the bustle of the hotel daily preparations echoed loudly, thus I wouldn't recommend this hotel for light sleepers or late risers (unless you bring your earplugs!)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaffa, Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This place is centrally located to the center of the city. It is opulent and extra-ordinary. 5 star hotel, 5 star staff, 5 star location. I have posted a long review about my stay here:
http://www.greenprophet.com/2011/09/dar-des-cigognes/

Room Tip: It is a small hotel. All the rooms are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have just returned from an amazing stay at Dar Les Cigognes – it really is an oasis of calm in the middle of a frenetic city. We were blown away by the sheer beauty and peacefulness of this beautiful boutique hotel. We were treated like royalty from the moment we arrived and were given a free upgrade to the absolutely stunning Harem room. We had a wonderful private tour arranged by the hotel and our guide took us on a memorable excursion to the Atlas Mountains where we found ourselves being welcomed into the home of a local couple who cooked us a delicious lunch. The breakfasts on the terrace are very special, the massages are a perfect way to unwind and this romantic haven offers peace and tranquility which we highly recommend.

Room Tip: The Harem room is wonderfully romantic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Highly recommended as a tasteful, serene haven, within easy walking distance of the square and main sights. A welcoming response from the first email onwards, with transfer from the airport organised and a personal greeting on arrival, followed by a tour of the riad and a Moroccan dinner. Pierre (Manager) and his team could not have done more to make us feel at home. Excellent service, pleasant and willing at any time of day, with very helpful guidance on what to see and where to eat. It really made a difference to be so well looked after, right down to the stocking on our door on Christmas morning!
Lovely riad surroundings, elegant and simple with floor candle lanterns and the peaceful sound of the water feature. A gem that we will always remember, both the place and the staff. This would take some beating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#110 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.