We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emma and Jo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Les Cigognes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Les Cigognes to your Saves list
Dar Les Cigognes
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Emma and Jo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Highly recommended as a tasteful, serene haven, within easy walking distance of the square and main sights. A welcoming response from the first email onwards, with transfer from the airport organised and a personal greeting on arrival, followed by a tour of the riad and a Moroccan dinner. Pierre (Manager) and his team could not have done more to make us feel at home. Excellent service, pleasant and willing at any time of day, with very helpful guidance on what to see and where to eat. It really made a difference to be so well looked after, right down to the stocking on our door on Christmas morning!
Lovely riad surroundings, elegant and simple with floor candle lanterns and the peaceful sound of the water feature. A gem that we will always remember, both the place and the staff. This would take some beating.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    43
    8
    11
    6
See reviews for
25
173
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

A beautiful riad in the least interesting part of the medina. great service, rooms are impeccably kept. as with all riads, the rooms have little light as they mostly open up into the atrium, but the decor is simple, elegant, and clean. bed was mediocre in comfort through linens were top grade. breakfast was only ok but the service there and throughout every aspect was superb. Pierre, the Manager, is funny, friendly, sophisticated, and mostly trustworthy with regards to restaurants. Downside is location. Most uninteresting and clotted part of the medina. It's pricey, but I don't know how the experience compares to other riads, so don't let that deter you. Overall, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We booked this Riad/Boutique Hotel through the Mr and Mrs Smith website (booking was easy, efficient and they organised the transfers via the Riad for us) and were not disappointed.

The airport transfers (and all transfers during our stay) were booked through a car agency that the Riad subcontracted to, and the cars were clean, the drivers friendly, English-speaking, and knowledgable. Our smiling driver was there waiting as we left customs, and guided us to the cash points/bureau de change to buy the Moroccan Dirham (do not be tempted to get it at the English airport as their exchange rates are dreadful).

On arrival at the Riad, Pierre (the Manager) and Hajiba were waiting with mint tea and pastries, a quick chat about ideas for our stay, recommendations for meals, etc. There was no pressure associated with Pierre's ideas - he seems to be sussing out the type of things you desire, your ideas and expectations and just ease their futition. He made great reservations for us in the restaurants we wanted or he had recommended, and we always got a table in the best place for people watching or seeing the views.

We had a downstairs room in the 2nd building (the Atlas room)- it was exquisite. Beautiful roaring fire when we arrived, beautifully neutral and stylishly decorated - clean and intimate. The bed was enormous, really comfy - the riad quiet and calm.

Breakfast on the roof terrace was delicious - waking up to the sounds of the city, the storks nesting on the Palace roof, the warming sun, the Atlas mountains in the distance.

We can honestly say we felt like Royalty for our 3 night stay. We were celebrating a 'significant' birthday - everyone seemed to know! "Happy birthday" from all - a Hamaam as a gift was a great experience- a little like an all over sand-papering but we both felt cleansed and quite evigorated after.

We would recommend this place wholeheartedly. We didn't eat dinner in, but hear the food was also very good, as we wanted to be out and about experiencing the sounds and sights of the city. The short walk to the Medina main centre is no problem at all - passing interesting places and people on the way.

None of these boutique type Riads are cheap cheap but we appreciated the quality of the settings and the staff for the money we paid.

I disagree with the reviewer who thought this place looked tired, unclean and out of date. The atmosphere is calm and the lighting subdued, but not to cover up shabbiness or uncleaniness - the beautiful courtyards lit by lanterns and candles create a romantic, tranquil atmosphere.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: In the colder months getting a room with a log fireplace would be preferential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

The staff are extremely hospitable and accommodating highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Exceptionally attentive service; clean, comfortable rooms; outstanding breakfast; great spa...I would thoroughly recommend staying here - I shall have no hesitation whatsoever in doing so whenever I am next in town.

To give a fair and balanced review, was it perfect? No...shower temperatures did fluctuate, dinner was merely good (rather than the deliciously epic breakfasts), and it is a short (10 min) stroll from the very heart of the old city. But if anything that trivial is going to upset you then you are sure to have far greater concerns when you experience the full, technicolor assault on the senses that is Marrakech in all of its glory. And those few picky, inconsequential caveats are vastly outweighed by the litany of positives.

A superb place to stay, with the most accommodating and delightful of hosts. If you are going to Marrakech, stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Have you ever wished that you had some friends who moved to Marrakech, bought a beautiful riad and invited you to come and stay? That's what my experience at Dar Les Cigognes was like. My husband and I travel a lot. We've stayed in some lovely hotels around the world, but never have we experienced the quality of service and attention we did here. From the minute we arrived, Pierre and Hajiba greeted us at the door, sat us down (in what was to be our personal reception suite for the evening), gave us mint tea and Moroccan sweets and talked us through our stay. As we hadn't eaten, an intimate table by a wood burning fire was laid and an outstanding four course meal was immediately produced for us. I felt as if I had walked into a dream.

Our room was equally stunning - also with a wood burning fire, which was lit for our arrival. It really helped to take the chill off the cold Moroccan nights. Everything about the décor, the furnishings, and the bed was beautiful and authentically Moroccan. I didn't get a chance to see the other rooms, but ours (a deluxe) had a bathroom about the size of a mini hammam and a gorgeous array of products, including rose scented bath salts which we used in our enormous bathtub.

Breakfast was served on the roof terrace, which is not to be missed. We loved watching the storks on the adjoining palace roof and enjoying the delicious freshly baked breads.

Pierre, the concierge was truly amazing. There was nothing he couldn't do or produce. All of his recommendations for lunch and dinner were fantastic. I had the misfortune of coming down with a throat infection while I was in Marrakech and Pierre simply picked up the phone, ordered me some antibiotics and then had the kitchen create a special Moroccan tea for sore throats.

In spite of that, I was still able to use the hammam and enjoy a cookery lesson where we created our own dinner, while standing around in the kitchen laughing and chatting over glasses of wine with the chef. The whole experience was so intimate and pleasurable that I really do feel as if I've passed a long weekend with friends.

When it came time to leave, Pierre and Hajiba gave us kisses and hugs (and a small parcel of biscuits from the kitchen) to take with us, before waving us off.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This lovely Ryad is on a very busy street. There is a large wooden door with a Moroccan Hand of Fatima Hamsa as the door knocker. You must knock and be invited in. Once the doors are opened and you are welcomed by the friendly staff, you enter into a vestibule that opens to a wonderful open air court yard. The Ryad manager greets you and immediately offers you traditional Moroccan welcome tea, which consists of the delicious but heavily sweetened Green Tea with Fresh Mint and a few lovely little sweets. After the tea you are taken on a tour to show you the lay of the land and finally you are shown to your room.
We had two different rooms on our trip and both were equally beautiful - tastefully appointed and comfortable with all of the contemporary amenities one would expect.The staff are incredibly accommodating and generous; in fact, I don't believe we have EVER met such genuinely lovely people. Because our plans changed at the last minute, we had to stay an additional 3 nights in Marrakech; our hosts were equally generous in offering a better rate for the larger and more opulant room we had to move into (the first room was already booked by someone else). The only negative thing I can think of is that the second part of the Ryad (where our second room was) did not have wifi — but that was quickly remedied by spending time in the common areas in the first house.
We participated in the cooking class offered by Dar Les Cigognes and it was really fun; Hayat was an excellent translator (sadly I cannot recall the name of our beautiful chef, but she was also incredible and patient with our inexperience with Moroccan cooking). The food we prepared was beautifully presented and delicious. I would recommend to eat dinner at this Ryad, whether or not you take the cooking class. The food is very good.
The staff arranged for a car and driver to take us to the Atlas Mountains and it was exceptional. Our driver was fluent in English, knowledgeable and chatty. The driver arranged for a guide in the Berber village and we had a lovely walk through the village, and then tea in a Berber household. A great adventure and not unreasonably priced.
On our last night, I had asked Hayat to recommend a place to purchase an authentic tajine in which I can also cook, and about an hour later she arrives to our room with a tajine as a GIFT to us! A very thoughtful and generous thing to do, and not soon forgotten.
The breakfasts were lovely and served at your leisure in any one of the many common rooms or the roof top terrace. I loved the coffee that was served with hot milk.
This Ryad is well located; the staff are professional, incredibly helpful and generous with their time.

Room Tip: The first house has wifi but the rooms open to a courtyard and if there is an event in the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Les Cigognes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Les Cigognes

Address: 108 rue de Berima, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#34 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Les Cigognes 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Les Cigognes is a luxurious boutique hotel centrally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech. An oasis of calm in a dazzling city, relax and enjoy our hammam, have a massage, or an unforgettable meal. The view from the roof terraces to the Atlas Mountains and onto the palace ramparts is unforgettable. Opposite royal palace, parking, 11 rooms and suites, fireplaces, AC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Les Cigognes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Les Cigognes Marrakech
Dar Les Cigognes Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Les Cigognes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.