We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its really not that bad!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jnan El Harti

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jnan El Harti
Save
You added Jnan El Harti to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Rue Cadi Ayad, Marrakech -, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #461 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Coalville, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Its really not that bad!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My Girlfriend and I stayed at the Jnan El Harti whilst on a Moroccan Explorer trip. We stopped in two rooms whilst on the tour and I have to say, while being basic by european standards I found them both clean and comfortable. The hotel again is basic but if like me you only use your room as a place to rest your head its a deccent place to stay. The main attractions like Djemaa el Fna and Koutoubia Mosque are a good 15-20 minute walk away the there are some nice shops and restraunts close by. Overall it may not be the best hotel but by no means is it the worst!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    10
    12
    24
See reviews for
4
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We were travelling through Morocco with Explore Tour, and we spent two night in this hotel. The temperature was quite high (35 C and more), and the hotel has A/C, but the system was working only as heating, because the hotel has not switch to A/C yet (at least this is the motivation that people at the reception gave us). We slept with the windows open, and although we were facing a small street, Moroccans are really noisy and we have problems sleeping. The swimming pool is really small, and the bar at the top floor was always dirty.

The room was ok ,and the bathroom too. They have an old PC connected to Internet in the hall free of charge.

If the A/C was working, you may consider staying in this hotel.

Stayed April 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

There are better hotels in Marrakech for less. (Try the Hotel Agdal - it has a bar that is, well interesting). The front desk staff were really arrogant and rude as well. It's close to a few places of interest but I'd never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and though it is clearly not shining clean, I found it was ok for a short stay. Sure, the building is old and many repairs would need to be done. But my room was not as bad or dirty as other comments describe, the floor and the sheets were clean. I may have been lucky, but no bugs or leaking bathtub for me. The view over a garden is actually pretty nice. Didn't try the swimming-pool (which does exist though small) nor the restaurant. Still, I guess you can find much better for the same price in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Britain
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I had to stay there because my tour operator had booked us in, Explore Adventure Travel, otherwise I too would have walked straight out. The most filthy depressing hole that I have ever had to stay in. Fortunately I only had to stay two nights before flying back to the UK so sleeping fully dressed and not washing was not too much of a disruption. No way was I going to use the bathroom or rest my head on the sheets. Should be closed down as should Explore Adventure Travel for using them.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2008

We stayed at the el harti hotel for one night on 7/11/08 and thanked our lucky stars is was just for the one night! We were on an excursion from agadir to marrakech so booked the hotel through a tour company and werent too sure what too expect. The room was dark and dingy and in need of a serious clean and refurbishment, the paint was peeling of the walls and as for the bathroom it was totally disgusting. I dont know what was in the toilet whether it was jus rust or simply dirty but i couldnt bear to use them. As for breakfast - well what breakfast? All we got was some croissants and tea oh and juice. Would never go there or recommend it to anyone!!
Oh and forgot to mention the lasy at receptionist was really miserable!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

This hotel is OK apart from the bathroom - a bit dark. The aircon was just a breeze but sufficient. The hotel is in a nice quite location, overlooking nice gardens. It has a little swimming pool on top of the terrace but it not big enough for a swim. There are only about 4 sunloungers, but who goes to Marrakech sunbathing?! The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk, depending on how hot it is, from the main square and about 10 mins from the train and bus station - opposite direction to the square. Breakfast is OK but very sweet and always and forever the same and if you have wheat or gluten alergy you will struggle. They have the best parrot in the whole world, it's very clever and loads of fun. Staff are friendly but unable to give you any advice as they don't speak very much english.Bar on top floor, and many bars around the hotel.

Don't bother going to tourist information - waste of time!!!
There is a travel agent next to the little shop on the left handside of the hotel entrance - (if you walking out of the hotel)You have to walk into a little alleyway and walk on to the end. They organise trips to Atlas mountains etc. Make sure you pay in Dirhams and not in Euros or any other currency. We took an all day trip to Atlas Mountains and it was fantastic! We had a really good time even though the guide did not speak English, only French. Lunch was included and fantastic. Don't forget your camera!

We spent a day by the sea, but to get to Essaouiera you need to book a coach, which can be difficult and have to book a couple of days in advance, so don't leave it to the last minute and if you do book tickets for a day book it the earliest coach- the journey lasts 3 hours. The coach station is just by the train station, which is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel walking towards the opera.

In Marrakech there is too much to see. Do not forger the most beautiful
Majorelle Gardens - YSL has his villa there! Tranquille, amazing colours
Tanneries - good to see, but very smelly. They give you mint to hold under your nose but remember you pay for everything! Trying to find the tanneries was difficult and we spent quite a bit of money and time to find it only on the way back we found out that it's not hard to find at all and it is not millions miles away from the
Ali Ben Youssef Medersa, which is an old Quranic school? Worth seeing.
Jemaa el-Fna: Fresh orange Juice, Monkeys, Snake charmers, steamed snails, drummers, story-tellers, endless rows of slippers and speeding motorbikes all shrouded in smoke: fascinating, manic, funny. When it all gets too much, find a romantic spot on a roof-top terrace around Jemaa el-Fna, and serenely watch the crowds from above as the sun sets.

Unfortunately we did not have time for Hammam - morrocan's spas.

We spent last day in the souks bying presents. Do not tell them it is your last day, otherwise they think it is your last day so you are desperate to buy presents which will affect the prize. Haggle Haggle Haggle. They will give it to you almost for free! If you strong enough :-)

Enjoy the experience!

  • Liked — walking distance to everything
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jnan El Harti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jnan El Harti

Address: 30 Rue Cadi Ayad, Marrakech -, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #461 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jnan El Harti 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Jnan El Harti Marrakech
Jnan El Harti Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jnan El Harti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.