We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely staff, family vibe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Casablanca | Lotissment Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #336 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely staff, family vibe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here may 2011, family of 6, 3 double rooms.

Average 3* hotel rooms, old deco but clean which is most important, same breakfast all week so after 3 days we were bored.

Location wasn't great, located in old marrakech, so needed taxi daily, taxi stand outside hotel but constant haggling with price which is a pain.

Hotel staff very helpful, always willing to go the extra mile.

Room Tip: this hotel is in old marrakech, stay in new Marrakech or closer to the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    42
    14
    13
See reviews for
36
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year and it was great! The staffs are extremely friendly and helpful, which made our stay even better. The selection of food was good, loads of local Moroccan food although you had to pay for your own drinks including the water. The hotel had regular excursions running everyday. I would recommend them and if you can try and lower the price because they tend to put it up because they see you’re a foreigner. It’s a 10-hour car journey; the mini buses aren’t completely safe due to seat belts however it was a lovely trip. I was 18 yrs old at the time and I loved it however my mother didn’t, it was too long for her so it depends on if your feeling a little adventures.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

If you want a holiday from hell then come here, but you won't be able to stay. We booked a 3 night half term break, half board and on arrival late at night after being fleeced by the taxi drivers at the airport went in to find the hotel in darkness and not a guest in sight, to be told by the receptionist to ring the agency as the hotel was closed and we had to use our own mobile and call Spain, as we don't speak Spanish this proved tricky. Eventually a lovely English family arrived back and on seeing them I realised if they were allowed to stay, we would be too. Grudgingly the receptionist told us we could have dinner quickly as the restaurant was closing (thankfully) What this means is that the staff now come in and microwave the leftovers.
We were given a key and left in pitch dark and open air to find our way to our room on the top floor. Make sure you bring a torch as you will need it. On seeing the room we realised why it was closed, we couldn't wait to leave. The room was quite warm and not a bad size with two big single beds. The next morning the receptionist had arranged a transfer for us over the road to the Imperial Plaza which was fabulous in every way and we had a great time and made some lovely friends there. The Tropicana hotel is closed now for reburishment but word has it bookings are still being taken so beware.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We did not have great expectations for this hotel as we did not pay a great deal for this break, however, hot water would have been nice! The staff kept telling us it was being fixed but the rumour was that the hotel was in financial difficulties; after 2-days without hot water we checked out. Other than that the hotel was clean and comfortable, in need of some updating but ok for the money paid.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Visited in August 2011. The hotel was clean and i found most of the staff to be helpful. Language wasnt much of a barrier but French is the Language thats widely spoken in Morrocco.

Rooms were simple and clean and same for the breakfast in the morning.

I found the bar and restaurant to be a little over-priced but thats to be expected i guess.

Hotel entertainment wasnt great but then again I never spent much of the evenings in the hotel. If you are taking a taxi anywhere never pay more than £5.

All in all i would go back as it was good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Tropicana for a quick weekend break, and enjoyed it tremendously.

Yes, the rooms are a bit down at heel, décor-wise, but they're clean (and the plumbing is blessedly sound). No, the staff don't subscribe to the American style of obsequious service: they'll treat you the way you treat them (unless they're in a bad mood, but we're all human). Yes, the restaurant and bar charge hotel prices (including seasonal ups and downs), but I defy you to find me a hotel anywhere in the world that doesn't!

One TripAdvisor review leveled a few complaints about the hotel, including the limited breakfast selection. This is a bit unfair, as from what I understand, a typical Moroccan breakfast is mint tea with bread, butter, jam and/or honey - all provided - or a breakfast à la Française, which is to say pastry, coffee and a great, gasping Gauloise, I'm sure. Again, all these items were provided. Is it a European-style four-star hotel? Well, here's a hint: Morocco is not Europe. Please don't travel to a foreign country and then complain that it's a foreign country.

It is a bit outside the centre of town, and this is both a blessing and a curse in that you'll need somewhere to unwind after the wonderful, heady madness that is Marrakech, but it'll take you a bit of time to get to and from. Consider it as time to build or take down your mental barriers. We paid about 50MAD to get to the city each morning: Yes, we could have paid less, but it came out to under £4 and meant that we never had to fight for a taxi.

In short, Hotel Tropicana is a gem of a bargain hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 via mobile

Went on a lads holidays, so the rooms were not a great deal just needed working shower n clean bed. Bed really comfortable and bathroom is clean. Power sockets were a pain, unable to get them workibg without spending 5 mins playing around with the loose socket.
Large Swimming pool, not heated tho and shaded from the sun by trees. Basic breakfast provided, enough to get by until lunch. Excellent value for money.
Although its marked as four stars, it's not the four star you are thinking about.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien

Address: Route de Casablanca | Lotissment Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana is a four stars Hotel located in the heart a magnificent garden. The hotel is 5 minutes from the hand attraction of Marrakech.- 144 spacious rooms with bathtub and balcony- swimming-pool, mini-club- restaurant, piano-bar, snack bar- Spa with traditional hammam- TV, phon, WI FI, air conditioned, safety box- ShopsThe Tropicana has place where each will find his own relieving environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Marrakech
Tropicana Hotel Paladien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;