We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location, helpful staff - WOULD RECOMMEND!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Casablanca | Lotissment Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #333 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, good location, helpful staff - WOULD RECOMMEND!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Traveled from 17-24/12/2011 with 10 & 13 yr old children - first visit to North Africa.

Hotel is basic but clean and the maid changed the good quality towels every day and made the beds to perfection. There was plenty of piping hot water and the showers were powerful. The bathrooms were spacious and clean with a daily clean by the friendly maid. We popped a few valuables into a suitcase and locked with a small padlock; whilst it is always advisable to use the safe provided, we did not; all our possessions were safe and sound.

Breakfast was ample and served from 6:30-10am so catered for everyone; pastries were light and tasty, pancakes and omelets cooked on demand alongside the cereals, bread, tea/coffee and fruit available.

Pool area was spotless and the pool attendant cleaned the loungers (that were nicely padded) daily; pool towels were readily available for a 100MAD refundable deposit.

We ate dinner in the hotel on the night we arrived; while the food was OK we later discovered it was pricey! Our advise is to turn right out of the hotel, right again and use the Diament Vert on the corner of the main road (conveniently opposite a cash machine). Diament Vert offer 3 courses for an amazing 75MAD for quality service and food; we were served by Said who was very friendly and helpful.

For bottled water and cold drinks, turn right out of the hotel and left; there's a little shop near the Pharmacia that sells water for 4MAD and coke for 8MAD!

Taxis are readily available outside the hotel so never any need pre-book; it cost us 120MAD to return to the airport at the end of our stay.

We did walk back from the main town but would be too far with small children. The immediate area (Semalia) is mainloy residential with some hotels and restaurants. If you prefer to get out and about and explore the place you are visiting that this hotel is perfect.

Must see:
Atlas mountains (waterfalls)
Majorelle gardens (40 MAD p/p entry)
Jemma al Fna souq
Medina city areas
Palace Badia restoration project (10MAD p/p entry)

My son was poorly on the last day so reception allowed us to check out at 1pm instead of 11am which was more than helpful. There was a disabled chap staying at the same time as us and the breakfast staff were assisting him to bring food to the table and were generally very happy to help.

We booked this holiday at a fraction of the price of previous holidays; I was expecting the worse having read the reviews, but I was totally satisfied and would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    60
    42
    14
    13
See reviews for
36
56
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

I stayed in Tropicana for 6 nights as part of a holiday package. Not sure if that had anything to play to my experience, but I must say that the biggest let down in our entire Marrakech trip was the hotel. I stayed here with my wife and 2 children (aged 3 and 5).

The rooms are very basic, was only cleaned twice during our period of stay. You are not allowed to bring in any food into the room, which is quite rubbish given that the hotel does not provide a room service and it is not quite easy to always smuggle in food/water when you are travelling with kids.

On the first day of my stay, my mobile was stolen from room while I went down with my family for breakfast. The staff was absolutely not cooperative, and the manager who came along with me to check the room kept blaming my memory for thinking that the mobile was stolen from the hotel. Since then, we have been locking every single item into our luggage bags, lest it not be stolen again.

Breakfast is a joke - The menu is very repetitive. The orange juice provided is just TANG and for the days that we tried the dinner we were absolutely horrified with the experience. The menu card was a piece of paper photocopied from something handwritten. The charge per person was 160 MAD, and the food was absolutely hopeless. It is worth taking a taxi to better restaurants or walking up to the nearest cafes outside the hotel for dinner.

I remember reading on one of the reviews that this place does not have a kettle. I would like to reiterate this here once again - there is no kettle and no way of getting a bed coffee if you are used to one!

We have just returned from our trip - so as you can imagine, the timing was not quite suitable to use the pool. However, even when we did attempt to use it, there was absolutely no guidance available - in the rooms there were leaflets warning us not to use the towels from the rooms, and near the pools there was no one available at about 3pm, and the reason we were provided was that the person was on vacation or had left early!

I believe this hotel should be stripped off of its star rating. Yes, it has the space and provision for the grandeur. But there is absolutely no drive either from the management or the staff to provide you an experience that is 4 star or even good quality!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed here for one week and had a lovely time staying at the hotel. The pool is impressive, it is split into two pools by a little bridge, which looks really nice. There were always plenty of sun loungers available when we stayed. The snack bar was never open, which was a little disappointing as it was stated when we made the booking. Breakfast was OK, I stuck to cornflakes mainly, but there is a selection of pastries like croissants, pain au chocolats, madeira cake etc as well as crepes and orange juice. At dinner there are about six main dishes for you to choose from as well a selection of salads and bread rolls. The dinners are often themed, eg Spanish, Italian, Moroccan etc. On our last night there was a Moroccan themed night with Moroccan entertainment at dinner, which was a very nice experience. The food is generally quite healthy, very tasty and filling. The bar isn't very good, it is quite old fashioned and pretty dull, but OK for one or two drinks. The "entertainment" was awful, one night it was a man shouting down the mic and him and his friend giving dirty looks to people who did not clap. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with enough space, we also had a nice balcony with ours. The location is very good, it is far enough away from the chaotic Medina, but near enough for a short taxi ride (30-50 Dirhams.) Generally the hotel was very good and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel tropicana is a fantastic base from which to explore Marrakech! the hotel is very basic but the food and the staff are first class! The hotel is situated in the new part of the city and has two fantastic pools. I would stongly recommend a tour to the foothills of the Atlas mountains (the tourist information office can advice) the medina, YSL gardens, the night market to mention but a few! A truely magical city!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Hotel is a good location for exploring the city as its only a short taxi journey away which only costs 2-3 pounds. However, the hotel is very basic, and the food is even worse. Breakfast and dinner didnt have any choice and food very bland so we ended up eating out a few nights. Pool area is really nice and always kept clean. However, we only paid £60 each for 3 nights half board so we got what we paid for. Overall, a good hotel for a short stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windlesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Hotel rooms tired but functional and clean. Had to ask for towels but beds fresh every day. Pool fabulous. Swam every morning and sufficient sunbeds and shady places during the day. Pool bar has great pizzas for sharing at lunch but water expensive. Better to get into dinner early as food sits out all evening but selection very good...tagine always available and veggie option. Essential to barter for taxis into the square. Ours ranged from 30-50 dirhams for single journey. Fixed price artisan shopping means no haggling in souks. Leave enough room in suitcase to take back wonderful silks, crafts, leather bags, spices and jewellry. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Okay for this trip I took of my diva hat and was a humble person. I'm used to fancy hotels but thought this is far from fancy. The important factors were there, the room was clean and so was the bathroom. The two swimming pools are really nice and the time of year we went it was not packed which was great. There is also a table tennis by the pool which was nice. I was disappointed with the selection of breakfast, breakfast was pancakes, freshly made fried eff or omelettes and a range of pasties, with a fresh glass of orange juice or hot drink. For lunch and dinner we tended to go out, as the hotel food was more expensive and limited choice. The bathroom door in my room never closed and there was a dirty ashtray on the balcony the night we got there I was not impressed with that. But the staff are all very friendly. The hotel had good entertainment in the evening and its great that the hotel had FREE wi-fi. The hotel is in a great location and its easy to get a taxi from outside the hotel

Room Tip: Bring a big bag when you go out in the day time just in case you wanna bring snacks into your hotel...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien

Address: Route de Casablanca | Lotissment Semlalia, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropicana is a four stars Hotel located in the heart a magnificent garden. The hotel is 5 minutes from the hand attraction of Marrakech.- 144 spacious rooms with bathtub and balcony- swimming-pool, mini-club- restaurant, piano-bar, snack bar- Spa with traditional hammam- TV, phon, WI FI, air conditioned, safety box- ShopsThe Tropicana has place where each will find his own relieving environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Hotel Marrakech
Tropicana Hotel Paladien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Hotel Club Paladien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.