We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Meriem Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Meriem Hotel to your Saves list
Meriem Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for four nights in June. The hotel was fine for what we wanted. Room was comfortable and the hotel was spotless. The staff on reception were so helpful and friendly. On checkout from our first two nights I mentioned I didn't sleep well with the noise of the road as I am a light sleeper. They promised to upgrade us on our return a few days later as we were off to Essaouria for few days. On our return the moment we walked in the door they recalled their promise and upgraded us which was great. There are two pools but quite small. You will get some sun in one section of the courtyard if you want to sunbathe but the rest is shaded. The breakfast buffet was disappointing but after staying in another hotel, it seems to be the same. One thing we didn't realise was that alot of hotels dont serve alcohol. But there are two lovely bars/restaurants in the street parallel to the hotel- just around the corner. Food and wine suberb. The train station is five mins walk from the hotel. We thought it was a shopping centre until we walked in. Lots of food outlets and an amazing Italian restaurant upstairs which we discover ed on our last day! For those travelling, the bus station is just up from the train station. You can walk from the hotel to it no hassle with case on wheels. We did two nights at meriem hotel. . went to Essaouria for three nights on the comfort coach...then back to meriem hotel for the last two nights. Book your ticket in advance which was 100 dirhams and you pay 20 extra per piece of luggage. Regular coach was 70. We got this on return as the comfort coach just leaves Essaouria at five in the evening whereas the other bus is more regularly. Definitely recommend doing two destinations as seven nights in either place would be too much. Meriem hotel was a good base for marrakech. Spent about 30 dirhams for taxi into the centre. The hotel is also not far from the airport. On arrival I had a lot of hard work to do to negotiate the price. Wanted to charge us 150 but from someone elses review I knew you shouldn't pay more than 70.so I kept haggling until he said 70. On our return trip to the airport a fast one was pulled. The taxi said to pay whatever. So I said 50. When we got out of the taxi I only had 100. He took it and wouldn't give me change and insisted it was 100. Not that that is alot but next time I would make sure I have change. Overall enjoyable week and enjoyable stay in marrakech. Definitely think it is more of a cultural holiday. Happy holidays

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    106
    82
    51
    47
See reviews for
86
110
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located on a side-street near the station, Meriem Hotel is not in the location you would expect to find it but this doesn't matter. For the small price you pay you get comfortable rooms, impressive spacious public areas (foyer, bar, restaurant), and helpful staff. I would be more than happy to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Me and my family visited Morocco during the month of February. The hotel is perfect for families and definitely worth the money as it is fairly cheap. The staff were very friendly except on the first day during breakfast one of the men who seemed like a manager was quite rude. However overall the staff that were present at breakfast were very nice especially one of the waiters who was exceptionally nice. Unfortunately I didn't get his name but he was tall.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a 2 minute walk from the train station and a 20 minute walk from jema el fna. There are also really good restaurants and cafes near the hotel. McDonals and KFC were near the train station. The hotel arranged our excursions, this was very easy and also safe. The only thing you should look out for are taxis as they charge more so ask for them to put the meter on. Overall it was a very enjoyable holiday! Definitely would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a fairly cheap enjoyable holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a poolside view. Much more pleasant than staring into someone's house :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel was a jumping off point for us so had no problem that it's on the outskirts of the city. There are some nice restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel and the souks are about a half an hour walk away. The hotel itself has a lovely reception area but the rooms are a little tired. Apart from that the hotel has a good pool and breakfast buffet. There are also tortoises in the gardens!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room, if you don't you're looking straight into peoples homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went with so much hope but was left disappointed. Firstly if you have kids then do not take them here. The owner constantly complained about the kids running and making noise. Secondly half of the staff were quite rude to be honest but the manager Hasna was real nice and was probably the only English speaking member of staff in the whole hotel and there were about 50 members of staff. And finally the most disappointing for me and the kids was the fact we could not use the swimming pool. It was jus too cold. Even though it was outside the problem was in the whole day the sun only shined on the pool about 2 hours so was too cold to swim in. Loved the experience but will definitely go to another hotel next time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
thank you very much for choising our hotel MERIEM for your stay in our sunny city Marrakech ,I m sorry to inform you that your children were briullant according to claim other guest in the same stay off you
I think you were well taken incharge by the hotel management and all the staff was available for you
sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Good location in the new town, close to the train station, easy to reach by feet main attractions of Marrakech, only 20-30 min walk to get to Jamal Fina square. Wonderful large entrance hall, nice place to relax with a cup of mint tea.They got 2 small outdoor pools with a fully furnished terrace nestling between old and new building of the hotel. In the new part our room was very comfortable and spacious with a tiny balcony just to take a look in an open air from the last floor over the red city – great!. Spacious and clean bathroom with hot water and bath tube, the toilet is separate, but the decision about the bidet is very strange – put it in the bathroom?!?! Free Wi-Fi with good connection but don’t forget to ask about password.
Tasty breakfast with plenty of choice and the dinner is also was good and good flavored, but all drinks including water cost extra.
Really friendly, very helpful, kind and funny staff – thanks all to you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir choisi notre hôtel MERIEM pour la deuxième fois , je suis heureuse de lire qu vous avez apprécié votre séjours et contente de vos jugements de confiance envers nos employés.
Cher hôte nous serions toujours prêt à vous accueillir avec grand plaisir
Nos salutations les plus ensoleillées de la ville rouge Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The location is good - 10 mins taxi from the airport and a short bus ride into the centre (No 1 is the best). There are good local restaurants/cafes so it is in a good location. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, the central lobby has free wifi (and I believe you can get it in the rooms), and the price is good value (we had to stay a few extra nights and the staff were excellent in arranging this) - speak a bit of French, say hello and thank you in Arabic - it makes a big difference.
The rooms are ok (the hot water was difficult to control but we have been in similar hotels in Morocco without any hot water!) and were always clean. Breakfast was plentiful.
It is a good budget hotel, used by tours, and though you may find better, for a family it was absolutely fine. The swimming pools are excellent and the 4 tortoises are an added distraction.
It is not a Premier Inn but a Moroccan 4* hotel.

Room Tip: There are family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the HOTEL MERIEM and Thank you for your positive review about our Resort on Tripadvisor!

I am very pleased to read that we could live up to your expectations with , our service . We are looking very much forward to see and welcome you again on our hotel and hope you will then have a bit more time to relax in our red city MARRAKECH

I remain with sunny regards from HOTEL MERIEM MARRAKECH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriem Hotel

Address: 154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meriem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Meriem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.