We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not four star, but it's not four star prices either” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meriem Hotel

Save Saved
You added Meriem Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriem Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It's not four star, but it's not four star prices either”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located on a side-street near the station, Meriem Hotel is not in the location you would expect to find it but this doesn't matter. For the small price you pay you get comfortable rooms, impressive spacious public areas (foyer, bar, restaurant), and helpful staff. I would be more than happy to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    101
    76
    48
    43
See reviews for
81
100
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Me and my family visited Morocco during the month of February. The hotel is perfect for families and definitely worth the money as it is fairly cheap. The staff were very friendly except on the first day during breakfast one of the men who seemed like a manager was quite rude. However overall the staff that were present at breakfast were very nice especially one of the waiters who was exceptionally nice. Unfortunately I didn't get his name but he was tall.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, just a 2 minute walk from the train station and a 20 minute walk from jema el fna. There are also really good restaurants and cafes near the hotel. McDonals and KFC were near the train station. The hotel arranged our excursions, this was very easy and also safe. The only thing you should look out for are taxis as they charge more so ask for them to put the meter on. Overall it was a very enjoyable holiday! Definitely would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a fairly cheap enjoyable holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a poolside view. Much more pleasant than staring into someone's house :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel was a jumping off point for us so had no problem that it's on the outskirts of the city. There are some nice restaurants within a few minutes walk of the hotel and the souks are about a half an hour walk away. The hotel itself has a lovely reception area but the rooms are a little tired. Apart from that the hotel has a good pool and breakfast buffet. There are also tortoises in the gardens!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room, if you don't you're looking straight into peoples homes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I went with so much hope but was left disappointed. Firstly if you have kids then do not take them here. The owner constantly complained about the kids running and making noise. Secondly half of the staff were quite rude to be honest but the manager Hasna was real nice and was probably the only English speaking member of staff in the whole hotel and there were about 50 members of staff. And finally the most disappointing for me and the kids was the fact we could not use the swimming pool. It was jus too cold. Even though it was outside the problem was in the whole day the sun only shined on the pool about 2 hours so was too cold to swim in. Loved the experience but will definitely go to another hotel next time.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
thank you very much for choising our hotel MERIEM for your stay in our sunny city Marrakech ,I m sorry to inform you that your children were briullant according to claim other guest in the same stay off you
I think you were well taken incharge by the hotel management and all the staff was available for you
sunny regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Good location in the new town, close to the train station, easy to reach by feet main attractions of Marrakech, only 20-30 min walk to get to Jamal Fina square. Wonderful large entrance hall, nice place to relax with a cup of mint tea.They got 2 small outdoor pools with a fully furnished terrace nestling between old and new building of the hotel. In the new part our room was very comfortable and spacious with a tiny balcony just to take a look in an open air from the last floor over the red city – great!. Spacious and clean bathroom with hot water and bath tube, the toilet is separate, but the decision about the bidet is very strange – put it in the bathroom?!?! Free Wi-Fi with good connection but don’t forget to ask about password.
Tasty breakfast with plenty of choice and the dinner is also was good and good flavored, but all drinks including water cost extra.
Really friendly, very helpful, kind and funny staff – thanks all to you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir choisi notre hôtel MERIEM pour la deuxième fois , je suis heureuse de lire qu vous avez apprécié votre séjours et contente de vos jugements de confiance envers nos employés.
Cher hôte nous serions toujours prêt à vous accueillir avec grand plaisir
Nos salutations les plus ensoleillées de la ville rouge Marrakech
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The location is good - 10 mins taxi from the airport and a short bus ride into the centre (No 1 is the best). There are good local restaurants/cafes so it is in a good location. We found the staff very friendly and helpful, the central lobby has free wifi (and I believe you can get it in the rooms), and the price is good value (we had to stay a few extra nights and the staff were excellent in arranging this) - speak a bit of French, say hello and thank you in Arabic - it makes a big difference.
The rooms are ok (the hot water was difficult to control but we have been in similar hotels in Morocco without any hot water!) and were always clean. Breakfast was plentiful.
It is a good budget hotel, used by tours, and though you may find better, for a family it was absolutely fine. The swimming pools are excellent and the 4 tortoises are an added distraction.
It is not a Premier Inn but a Moroccan 4* hotel.

Room Tip: There are family rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the HOTEL MERIEM and Thank you for your positive review about our Resort on Tripadvisor!

I am very pleased to read that we could live up to your expectations with , our service . We are looking very much forward to see and welcome you again on our hotel and hope you will then have a bit more time to relax in our red city MARRAKECH

I remain with sunny regards from HOTEL MERIEM MARRAKECH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed in this hotel recently with a tour group. I don't like bad reviews but will be honest with my findings.
The lobby was very nice and presentable, a small reception, with the most unfriendliest receptionist I have come across in a long time, it was like we were very unwelcome.
The pool was clean, but the public areas were lifeless.
The room was nice, clean and comfortable - ideal for my needs. The bed was very comfy and I slept very well.
My air con did not work on arrival, a technician came and fixed this no problem. I called at reception for the safe key, and was told I had to pay 20 MAD pd for this, this I find a total rip off, do not mind paying a deposit but an actual fee I find a cheek.
There is a mini fridge in the room and TV with BBC World news for those who like to keep in touch with what is going on in the world. The wifi worked well too - and is free.
My shower would suddenly go very cold then scolding hot, but you strangely got used to it.
The food left a lot to be desired, the breakfast was continental, so you could make do there, but the evening meal, I am sorry to say really let them down, we had better meals in hotels across Morocco. The manager of the restaurant was also atrocious, but the waiting staff were very helpful and friendly.
The hotel though has a good location, not far from the station, and easy to get into the town.
I am therefore in 50/50 if I would recommend this hotel, rooms are ok, location is good, it was just the front of house management and the food that lets it down, so take the B&B option if you can and that takes issue out of the scenario.

Room Tip: ask for a room on floor 4 or 5 overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriem Hotel

Address: 154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#129 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#132 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meriem Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Meriem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.