We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming hotel that offers great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriem Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Meriem Hotel to your Saves list
Meriem Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #368 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Level Contributor
136 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Unassuming hotel that offers great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I always associate waking up in Marrakech with the sound of birdsong echoing against the walls of the hotel. An excellent night's sleep in this pleasant hotel where I spent one night after travelling from the north. There are more exciting hotels to be found in the city but this ticked all the boxes for me just before flying home.

There are two outdoor pools in the little garden, the larger of which is flanked by an impressive line of bamboo that will provide much needed shade in the warmer seasons.

The breakfast room was a little chaotic as half the world descended on it at the same time, but the staff are first class - infinitely patient and friendly.

Generous sized bedroom that was warm and comfortable - much appreciated after a very wet afternoon and a cooler than anticipated evening.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    125
    97
    58
    58
See reviews for
100
126
30
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel has a great location and good price, that's it.
We stayed there for one week. breakfast was poor and the same everyday, canned orange juice mixed with water, bread, butter, boiled eggs, tea and coffee...sad.
We asked for another room because the toilet stinks in the first room.
Nice pools.
We also had dinner once, it was very poor and the servers stand and keep watching you.
Again, if you want a place in the center of the city for a decent price, it's a good choice, just don't eat there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated at walking distance from the train station in the middle of the new town center. The staff is very friendly and helpfull, the rooms are big, nothing fancy but you have everything you need. The breakfast buffet is ok. If I ever go back to Marrakech I would certainly consider using the Meriem hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hassna K, Responsable relations publiques at Meriem Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
THANK YOU FOR ' leaving your comment you are welcome every time in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is exactly as it says on the tin, a reasonable priced hotel with 3-4 stars worth of quality. The room was clean but sparse, the breakfast ediable but not exciting, the staff pleasant but not to helpful. Like everything in marakesh there is a steep surcharge for everything additional, you don't get out for nowt, safe key £4 per night, no kettle in room, tax of £3 a night, trips at well over going rate etc. All in all like easjet, you get what you pay for and nothing more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is totally overated. The food is more than terrible. We went for 4 nights at xmas but in summer this would be a most basic first ever holiday hotel. The staff are good. But you have to be on the side of the hotel that has a terrace.
It is the first Muslim hotel I have visited in North Africa that has no bar and does not allow bringing in any food or drink.
Stay in a Riad instead.

Room Tip: Dont stay hear. Choose a Riad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a standard, business class hotel that delivers what it promises. Functional and clean with lots of businessmen staying over. If you have an early train to catch then this is ideal but if you are a tourist then do yourself a favour and get a Riad in the medina

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at hotel Meriem, the staff were always helpful and pleasant especially the ones on reception (sincere thanks to all). We stayed in a comfortable room with a balcony. Sometimes after breakfast we would sit outside by the pools listening to the birds singing, what a joy!
We arranged a few trips through the hotel and they were very good and always punctual.
I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Balcony room on corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#403 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#270 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#301 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Sea Le Printemps
Blue Sea Le Printemps
#356 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#350 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#394 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriem Hotel

Address: 154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#183 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meriem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Meriem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.