We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriem Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Meriem Hotel to your Saves list
Meriem Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

amazing two weeks at hotel meryam!
i have been at hotel meryam hotel for two weeks at first, when i saw the comments by others i was unsure in coming to this hotel. However upon arriving at the hotel the staff were very welcoming and helpful as they helped us with our luggage and assisted us to the room. First impression of the room was very clean but too small for my family.
my mother went to the reception and told them that the room was small for us so they changed us into a much bigger, spacious room for all three of us. The food at the hotel was nice cant complain so are the staff. i enjoyed my stay at hotel meryem and if i do come back to marrakech i will definitely come back to hotel meryem.
i must say for a four star hotel it is very decent , it has many facilities for a good price.
the staff are very helpful and forever smiling.

Room Tip: rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    106
    82
    51
    47
See reviews for
86
110
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Manager and the staff were very nice and the room we had with my girlfriend was very nice for the price.... there are 2 swimming pools but if you really want to sun bending you have to go on the roof and you will have the sun all day, something you need to know otherwise the sun in the swimming pools are short time because of the hotel's walls and the trees...I didn't use the restaurant much, but the few times we order the diner in the room and it was good (correct price...)The Hotel is in the middle of Marrakech easy to take a taxi or walk, but I didn't really like the area...

Room Tip: Swimming pools view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The rules and customer service are interesting. It seems like there is an attitude of 'the trouble with the hotel is the guests'. There is no information to help understand the hotel or any tourist information to help new to the city / country travellers to find their way. The drains are loud and noisy, our shower bubbled like a cauldron! For a 4 star, I was shocked.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I too had read the reviews with dread. I had booked on opodo to stay at the MERIEM but the address was for the Meryem.So actually was not sure what i was going to get.
If you are expecting a 4**** hotel UK standard its prob a good 3 ***.But Morrocco standard its great.
The staff are inviting and work very hard to meet your every need. A small tip doesnt go a miss and they are very appreciative.In fact a 10 drm tip about 80p is about right.
We booked a standard room and we where very impressed. The beds are enormous and everything was very clean. The bathroom was clean and the shower was fantastic.
The toilet which was seperate was a little small but not complaining just observing.
I booked bed and breakfast. The breakfast was very good for the price and you could eat as much as you wanted. Everything was fresh ! If you wanted sit by the pool a small tip 10drms would have a beautifuly laid table by the pool and the food just keeps coming whether you ask for it or not. Coffe( which is good) keeps pooring.Very impressed.
The hotel is very close to the impressive train station and about 7 kms from the airport. It should cost no more than 100 drm to get to the hotel.
If you arrive late there is a grotty looking but good cafe across the road.Or if you want to be quick a Mcdonnalds and Kfc just by the station 2 mins walk.
Jemma El Fna which is a great place to spend hours people watching drinking coffee and mooching the thousands of market stalls is a 30drm taxi ride.If you get the chap on the door to organise you a cab its usually a little cheaper.
DO NOT TRY AND HIRE A CAR FOR AROUND TOWN AS.YOU HAVE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE IT. ITS THE ARC DE TRIUMPH ON ACID.
We met an excellent taxi driver who looked after us most of the time. We hired him for the day and he took us on a drive into the mountains, Camel rides walks to a water fall. best restaraunts for the best price. He only charged us 600 drms.
Please dont be put off this hotel by other negative comments on trip advisor we thought it was excellent for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

While the hotel is ok-ish, they come up with a whole bunch of rules that make anything but sleeping there a nightmare. People not staying at the hotel are not allowed in the lobby, much less to the room for even a minute (in this case to help with some carrying), staff have been very insulting.
The breakfast, while overpriced, is ok if you are not looking for a big meal to start your day. Generally it is one of the hotels you have to come with a whole lot of demands in order to negotiate down to basic service, there are many less expensive and nicer options all over town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is by far the worst hospitality I have ever seen in my life. The hotel staff and the owner are all very rude. There is no respect what so ever to their clients and they dont care about your comfort or what you want. You cant even have a friend visit you in the lobby or something. They immediately kick out anyone from the hotel lobby who doesnt have a room even if they are just their for 2 minutes. They don't talk or explain anything but they shout to tell you what you want. I dont recommend anyone to go. And this situation was repeated with so many people and not just us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one night on the 05/03 and it was fantastic. The rooms are comfortable. The service is impeccable and the cuisine is delicious. Breakfast was included which was great.
Service was top notch! Hassna Kadani was especially helpful and welcoming. I will return To hotel Meriem every time I'm in marakesh.

Mrs. Alaoui Mhamdi Rachida

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriem Hotel

Address: 154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meriem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Meriem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.