We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meriem Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Meriem Hotel to your Saves list
Meriem Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #334 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I too had read the reviews with dread. I had booked on opodo to stay at the MERIEM but the address was for the Meryem.So actually was not sure what i was going to get.
If you are expecting a 4**** hotel UK standard its prob a good 3 ***.But Morrocco standard its great.
The staff are inviting and work very hard to meet your every need. A small tip doesnt go a miss and they are very appreciative.In fact a 10 drm tip about 80p is about right.
We booked a standard room and we where very impressed. The beds are enormous and everything was very clean. The bathroom was clean and the shower was fantastic.
The toilet which was seperate was a little small but not complaining just observing.
I booked bed and breakfast. The breakfast was very good for the price and you could eat as much as you wanted. Everything was fresh ! If you wanted sit by the pool a small tip 10drms would have a beautifuly laid table by the pool and the food just keeps coming whether you ask for it or not. Coffe( which is good) keeps pooring.Very impressed.
The hotel is very close to the impressive train station and about 7 kms from the airport. It should cost no more than 100 drm to get to the hotel.
If you arrive late there is a grotty looking but good cafe across the road.Or if you want to be quick a Mcdonnalds and Kfc just by the station 2 mins walk.
Jemma El Fna which is a great place to spend hours people watching drinking coffee and mooching the thousands of market stalls is a 30drm taxi ride.If you get the chap on the door to organise you a cab its usually a little cheaper.
DO NOT TRY AND HIRE A CAR FOR AROUND TOWN AS.YOU HAVE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE IT. ITS THE ARC DE TRIUMPH ON ACID.
We met an excellent taxi driver who looked after us most of the time. We hired him for the day and he took us on a drive into the mountains, Camel rides walks to a water fall. best restaraunts for the best price. He only charged us 600 drms.
Please dont be put off this hotel by other negative comments on trip advisor we thought it was excellent for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    103
    80
    49
    44
See reviews for
83
105
27
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

While the hotel is ok-ish, they come up with a whole bunch of rules that make anything but sleeping there a nightmare. People not staying at the hotel are not allowed in the lobby, much less to the room for even a minute (in this case to help with some carrying), staff have been very insulting.
The breakfast, while overpriced, is ok if you are not looking for a big meal to start your day. Generally it is one of the hotels you have to come with a whole lot of demands in order to negotiate down to basic service, there are many less expensive and nicer options all over town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is by far the worst hospitality I have ever seen in my life. The hotel staff and the owner are all very rude. There is no respect what so ever to their clients and they dont care about your comfort or what you want. You cant even have a friend visit you in the lobby or something. They immediately kick out anyone from the hotel lobby who doesnt have a room even if they are just their for 2 minutes. They don't talk or explain anything but they shout to tell you what you want. I dont recommend anyone to go. And this situation was repeated with so many people and not just us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel one night on the 05/03 and it was fantastic. The rooms are comfortable. The service is impeccable and the cuisine is delicious. Breakfast was included which was great.
Service was top notch! Hassna Kadani was especially helpful and welcoming. I will return To hotel Meriem every time I'm in marakesh.

Mrs. Alaoui Mhamdi Rachida

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My first point is to the poster who said that those complaining about not being able to bring in their own food and drink showed a lack of respect, only to later post they have a stash of alcohol in their suitcase!! What an ignorant fool.
I'll start with the positives. After 3 days in the High Atlas we arrived fearing the worst. Our fears were seemingly unfounded when we arrived in a very pleasant lobby area.
The staff are extremely helpful and polite, the maids, the waiting staff, the concierges etc. We found no fault here. It seems Moroccans love their children and as we had our 14 month old daughter we had a slight advantage.
The food, unlike commented on previously, was very good for buffet food. The breakfast was ample with a great range and a selection of freshly prepared pastries and breads. The evening buffet was equally good. Local Moroccan and fresh. Quite overpriced at 170dh, though we were offered ours at 120 per person, though not really sure of the reason why.
The staff work tirelessly on the cleanliness of the pool area and it is spotless. It also makes a beautiful location for eating.
Unfortunately there are several negatives. Do not believe the hotel amenities, they simply arent correct. Our first room was at the front of the hotel, tiny, with no cot as requested, steaming hot, no balcony and generally rubbish. We read that he rooms have balconies, only a few do. There are no in room coffee making facilities.
We were lucky enough to be switched. This time our room was again tiny, the bed barely bigger than a single with terrible mattress and pillows. We only kept it as it had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool which we needed as we had our daughter asleep and used the webcam at meal times.
The room is fairly clean, though the grout in the tiles is filthy, many tiles are cracked and in the bathroom the mastic around the bath is disgusting.
The map is also incorrect. This place is no where near where it states on the map. It is miles (literally) from the centre. This made walking in stressful with a pushchair as the pavements in places are a foot high.
Unfortunately, I hate to say, eating at meal time was stressful also. The hotel became quieter as we got further into our stay thankfully, but the hotel was largely full of Germans. The manners they possess is dreadful and so typical of them in hotels like this. No pleases, no thank yous, no waiting. Lighting up cigarettes left right and centre with no regard for who is next to them. One woman objected so strongly for me asking her to move that she complained to the manager. The manager then asked her to move!
There is no food or drink allowed to be taken to the room from outside. This is absolutley outrageous! By showing a lack of respect, according to our prior poster, we continued to flout this rule by bringing bottled water bought for 5dh into the room. I also saw 3 beer vendors nearby so was able to quietly enjoy a beer or 2 of an evening.
There are many hotels much closer to the square but I would definitely recommend a Riad for a more traditional experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Ask for discount on meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neath
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We thought the hotel was good, food not so, only on the last day when a hoard of Americans arrived did it improve considerably. It was chicken every night and not nice tasting chicken either. Hotel was clean, staff all good. The room we had the shower head was broken but all in all you only get what you pay for and our holiday was very reasonably priced. Stayed for 4 nights and would go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor, overlooking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

We have travelled in Morocco for weeks and stayed in all kinds of hotels, from budget hostel to charming riad. Meryem beats them all, on the downside. Dirty pillows with mascara and other stains on it, broken shower, stinking toilet, dirt falling from the airco, babybed installed way too late - all babies are sleeping at that time! - and it appeared to be broken, rude staff... We booked a non-smoking room, but got a smoking room instead. We ordered a taxi at the reception but it turned out that they did not write down the time - very unconvenient if you have to catch an early flight. One advice: there are plenty more better hotels than this one so keep on looking!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meriem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriem Hotel

Address: 154 Med El Beqal Street, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#133 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Meriem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meriem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meryem Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meriem Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.