We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills for a short stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Holiday

Save Saved
You added Imperial Holiday to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Imperial Holiday
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #367 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No frills for a short stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Family including 2 teenagers stayed for 3 nights on our first trip to Marrakech Feb half term.Half board/flight package with Broadway Travel. No regrets for the price, no frills. Rooms clean and warm, food adequate. Awful bar. Spa is extra didn't try. Next door is Galerie des Tanneurs. and nearby restaurants where the locals eat. Don't be put off if smiling Nadia from Atlas Marba Tours approaches you as you're booking in for tours out of Marrakech. Best decision we made and recommended: Essaouira 400MAD pp and Cascades d'Ozoud 400MAD pp. Both trips included lunch. See separate reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    85
    71
    49
    40
See reviews for
49
96
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The hotel room was spacious, the cleaning staff are very good,rooms cleaned everyday! Everyone at the hotel is very friendly and approachable. The guy working at the dining room, Bouza, is a really good guy, friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend friends to come here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel itself is nice and very convenient to Le Gare Marrakech (main train station), in a nice neighborhood. It is clean and tidy and seems to attract upscale clientele. But the service can be awful. The girl in the bar can hardly conceal the fact that she is surfing the net behind the bar and any request for a beverage is strictly and annoyance for her. We fixed her when she left the place unattended for a 15 min absence, by going behind the bar and fetching our own beers (which we duly paid for at their exorbitant prices). Front desk service can also be lazy or even surly, depending on who is at the desk. Generally a decent property and value of that service thing can be overlooked.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saidi m, General Manager at Imperial Holiday, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
we are pleased to respond to your complain wich is not really true because after my investigation over my staff you have been rude with the girl waiter in the Bar you want from her to pay only 2 beers with your credit card total of the charge 50 dhs only and she has the hotel instruction for the credit card payment must be at least 100 dh . She told you that so it is not her mistake and endly she accepts and make exeption for you and then you say that she was not helpfull !!! No, we are not agree with you .
Also, you have not the room in our hotel you came only for 02 beers because may be the hotel where you are has not accepted your credit card ... Anyway we welcome everyone but the client also must a littel polite with the staff. we hope to see you again and offer you 2 beers next time !! just be happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days during September 2013.
As it was rated 4 star we anticipated no problems,however the hotel was dark,dingy and depressing.
We could not use the public areas as they were unkept and the pool ares was a mud bath.
We were not made to feel welcome and the only part of the hotel we were able to use was our
room.
We have complained to Thomas Cook and are still waiting a response.
The cleaning ladies were friendly.
I would definatley not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saidi m, General Manager at Imperial Holiday, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
We ask ourselves why this client said that the public area is unkept and i confirm that our hall and public area is well furnished with cleaned Sofa, tables, surpervised on all time cleaned and confortable. our pool is not accessible because we are in the winter but if this client has told us this, we can remediate immediatly and offer him a better service as offering him our spa center.
you have missed also our public relation who can suggest to you a bunch of things like excurions, visits and make you happy.
we hope to see you again to make things up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hi everybody,
I hope everybody is fine and are well,
Me and my beautiful fiancaille enjoyed our stay at this hotel because of the swimming pool its breakfast and the friendliness of the staff.
It is very close also to the Central train station.
I would above all like to pay particular attention to The directeur General Mohammed Saidi who helped us through a potentially very difficult situation He helped us by going to the bank with us and went beyond the call of duty.So on our behalf I would like to say a sincere thank you for your support and help.
I would like therefore to highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Ask at reception for the best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

When we were leaving the hotel, the chubby receptionist told us we had to pay local taxes. As our flight was leaving in 1,5 hour we were kind of in a hurry. Firstly he commented that it was not much and it was only 165 MAD. We didn't know about the taxes, so we were arguing with the receptionist about the taxes, because this wasn't communicated to us through the Groupon deal we made. To save time I tried to withdraw some cash at the atm at the hotel, but it didn't respond to my debit card, whilst I had enough money on the card, even showing it through my app to the receptionist, but he said that I was out of money, and the same goes for my girlfriends debit card. Then the receptionist told us that he could show us that we had to pay tax if he could see the Groupon-voucher, so we printed it out for that rude guy. Our voucher stated that we had to pay all our expenses to Holidaybooked, which was the initiator of our deal with Groupon and not to the hotel. To prove himself right he showed us a French Groupon deal which stated that the tax should be payed at the hotel. This didn't made sense to us, because we didn't buy a French Groupon deal, but a Dutch one and ours didn't state the tax paying part. When we tried to leave the hotel, the receptionist tried to stop us, by pulling my girlfriend's (!!) suitcase and blocked the door and started pushing us. He even called security. This went on for a couple of minutes, but as time was passing by, the only thing I wanted to do was catch our flight, of which they didn't bother anyhow. So I tried to pay it with my credit card and that succeeded. In the end the 165 MAD was suddenly 132 MAD. After this we went straight to the airport and we were almost to late for our flight, when sitting in our cab we noticed that my girlfriend had a scratch on her hand. See picture...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohammed S, General Manager at Imperial Holiday, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
It is petty really that you been a little rude in front our receptionist who wanted to explain to you that the local taxes are paid by all the customers coming through Groupon, we have the contract signed by our hands. you should pay it against a bill and complain it to your Groupon of Germany.
you have provoked him and it is normal to defend himself. It is normal to stop the luggage for a client who doesn't want to pay his bill, It is international way Also, if he has let you going for exemple he must pay it himself . it is simply a misunderstanding you commit . From now, we given our instruction to the reception to inform the clients on the arrival in that way we will have time to resolve the problem between the client and the travel agency or online organism.during his stay. sorry about that and promise to up grading you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 7 nights, on a half board basis. We were all sadly disappointed with the hotel and the staffs. I travel 3 times a year and this is the first time I have put negative reviews.
The lobby was fine. The Receptionist was oblivious and bored of working. She tried to charge us £90 (GBP) for City tax, until my friend complained and refused to pay. Her colleague then intervened and informed us that the receptionist had quoted incorrectly. It was actually £28 in total for 7 nights.
The food was terrible. The dinner was limited to four dishes and the same or similar food was served every day. There were 2-3 types of salads served.
There is a catch if you book half board; namely that you have to pay for each time you buy a beverage, even though you’ve booked half board. The cost of a glass of coke was £2.
The dining area looked tired and the table clothes were tired too. The chairs near the pool were broken or tacky.
The breakfast was ok. But if you want hot food then there is a separate charge. We were not informed of hot food, however upon querying, we were informed of this. So there are no omelettes unless you wish to pay.
We wanted a map, they had none!
The Staff were ok, except for the receptionist. She was moody and unhelpful, but this did not bother us. it seemed she was tired of doing her job. They do not fully understand English, so this was a bit of a pain!
The hotel charges you for everything that is extra. I.e., if you ask them to make a call to the transfer company, they will charge you; Even if this is as little as 10 Dirham. If you ask for the keys to the safe, it costs 25 Dirham per night.
The lift is dangerous. We were stuck between the second and third floor for a short while. When we raised this with the receptionist, she behaved as if it was normal!
The walls in the rooms are so thin that even if you are speaking in a normal tone, the guests next door could hear clearly. All the noise from outside could be heard!
The bathroom looked terribly tired. The shower just about worked. The bath was old and the shower curtains were dying! The room was far too basic. The balcony...well if you even call that a balcony, was tiny! The balcony door did not lock at all.
The only two good things about this hotel were the swimming pool area and the fact that it was not far from the Jamaa el Fena!
Only book this hotel if you do not intend to stay at the hotel a lot!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Holiday

Also Known As:
Imperial Holiday Marrakech
Address: 30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Holiday 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AvailPro, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Imperial Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.