We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Holiday Hotel to your Saves list
Imperial Holiday Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Swiss International Imperial Holiday)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #452 of 491 Hotels in Marrakech
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015 via mobile

Don't go here unless you can speak French they don't want to know Scottish people not interested same repetative break fast every morning black scrambled egg stale bread from day before .waiting line for coffee diluting juice no fruit with breakfast .staff very ignorant . Diffrentvrules for French and english/ scottish/ French Muslims. Don't do lunch in bar area have to eat in restaurant. Novdrinks given with meal in restyrant when paid half board have to pay extra for drinks including water/ not allowed to bring in any water or soft drinks have to be purchased in the hotel to consume them no food allowed either if brought from outside n seen with it your fridge will be removed from your room m. Very grey old worn towels and bedding hotel clean enough but in need of revamp . Roof terrace not been cleaned invyears . Large pool and small pool there is life guard who just walks around thebpool while we were there an elderly Asian man and his. Grandaughter got into great difficulty in the small pool while the life guard / pool attendant juststood buy also another member off staff watched as 3 different members of diffrentbfamilys ie holiday makers jumped into pool to save both the man and his grandaughtsr . No changing facilitys at the pool or anywerevelss not allowed to walk threw the hottelbin wet swiming clothes after using pool ...ie this is a muslim country yet no changing facilitys no signs stating cant govthrew hotel in swiming atire . Just ignorant staff shouting at you if you do or change infront of other guests . Waterv/ juice ourchased in the hotel 3 times more than you can buy it outside the hotel .staff at reception very arrogant again unless you speaking French .dat trips excurssiins vert expensivee if booked threw hotel can be bought on line at half the price while booking your holiday .maids at hotel very nice plessnt to every 1 and 2 female witresses very nice and one of the door men nice to every one. On arival looks very nice clean ect un reception until you get to your room with no balcony only a window especially when you have paid for room with balcony and upgradeded to superior room ..mshocking experience at this hotel woulnt gi back to this hotel not for free but would go back to marrakesh beautifull lots to do perfect holiday if hotel was right .

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saidi m, Directeur général at Imperial Holiday Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2015
we regret to inform you if you have really this complain you have to see the Manager of the Hotel who speaks 07 languages, i speak scotish too, you said that the hotel is clean . a complain not left by the reception on the presence of the client is not a complain. next time if you come we will take care of you on the small thing. best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015 via mobile

I don't know when this hotel received it's 4star rating, but I seriously doubt it was any time during the last decade. From the moment we stepped over the threshold into the shabby and rundown foyer, we were disappointed. Once checked in, we were pointed towards the scratched and graffitied but occasionally correctly functioning lifts which took us to our next disappointment which was our room. Shabby, worn, seen better days. Cheap toiletries, badly chipped bath, a solitary loo roll, creased shower curtain. 4 star? Hot water stopped on day2! Cleaning standards not great, but beds and bedding ok, so we resigned ourselves to staying there as we would be out a lot. Room overlooking the pool which we never used as it gets almost no sun at this time of year due to it's position on the north side of the hotel. We checked out the spa in the dim and dingy basement. Therapist had done her best to make it welcoming, but even in the half dark it was obviously another neglected area. That night we were woken in the wee, small hours by a thumping disco beat. And the next night, although hotel staff denied any knowledge of any sort of night club, stating "everything closes at 11pm". However, Nadia, the customer services manager suggested changing rooms, so on day 3, we moved ourselves to a room at the front of the hotel. Where's the 4 star service? The room was in better condition, but still no fridge, old towels, cheap toiletries (one bottle was filled with water!) and rationed loo roll. The bath had a huge chip by the taps and yet another unironed shower curtain, but there was hot water. Hurray! That night and every other we were woken at 2am and 4am as rowdy patrons of another establishment next door spilled onto the street. Quite scarily one night there was a massive street brawl involving local people and taxis blocking the street, yet hotel management seemed to have no idea, still insisting that "everything closes at 11pm".
We had booked all inclusive in Marrakech's Fawlty Towers as one reviewer aptly named it, and food was mediocre at best with incompetent service. Chipped crockery, fake orange juice and badly laid tables are but a few of the hallmarks of this so called restaurant, where you can expect to pay an additional 25 mad for a decent cup of coffee. The final straw came on the evening we arrived for dinner to find an electrician scrabbling on the floor, trying to restore power to the three bain maries and fused the lights, plunging the whole dining room into darkness. The food was already stone cold and the restaurant manager tried to reheat it in said bain maries! A lengthy discussion ensued between him and us about food safety and hygiene, so at our insistence he removed the trays, only to return with them five minutes later and put the same food back out for other, unsuspecting guests. We ate at a lovely, local restaurant called Bagatelle after that. So here ends the saga of the utterly atrocious, 4 star Imperial Holiday Hotel. You have been warned. Oh, one more thing-should you venture here against all my sage advice, check your final bill very carefully as we were "accidentally " overcharged. Finally, the one good thing about this place is its proximity to the Bagatelle restaurant which we would highly recommend.

Stayed October 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saidi m, Gérant at Imperial Holiday Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2015
Google Translation
nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire que nous nous demandons si vous avez vraiment vecu ces scenes pourquoi vous n'aviez pas allerté la direction de l'Hôtel pendant votre séjour ?. nous vous assurons que nos 4 etoiles nous ont eté attribuées par une commission chargée de classement des Hotels et avions eté selectionnés comme 4 etoiles depuis l'Ouverture et encore reclassé comme 4 etoiles en 2011. en tout cas nous vous remercions et esperons nous avoir de votre confiance à vous revoir parmi nous, nous vous reserverons une attention beaucoup plus particuliere car il y a des clients qui sont trés éxigents. merci bcp et comptant sur votre bonne compréhension.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015

On arrival we were welcomed by the receptionist at the front desk, told what time dinner was served till and then told our room numbers. We were explained the very basics we needed at the time but were not given any more information other than this. As we came down to eat, we had no clue where the dining area was or anything else for that matter. After finding things out for ourselves we were able to feel more comfortable.

The food was decent. For breakfast they had the same every morning which consisted of eggs, sausage (in a red sauce with onions), cereals, croissants and cinnamon buns etc. They also had tea, coffee and hot chocolate. The kettles handle was falling off one morning which was a bit dangerous. A variety of different dishes were served during lunch and dinner with a lovely display of deserts and fruit (if you like spice, you will not like this food). If there were not many guests for lunch, the chef would prepare a set meal which we had twice. This was amazing! We loved this the most. There was also one young waiter called Ismail who always smiled!

We had two rooms, one for my parents which was perfect. It was big, clean and bright. The AC worked brilliantly. The other room we had was not as nice. Although it looked the same, it had an overwhelming sewage smell that resulted in my sister being sick. The receptionist changed our room very quickly once we explained which was reassuring. The second room was so much more better! We had a good sleep only on some nights as on others we could here constant shuffling of furniture. The rooms were cleaned every morning by very polite and smiley staff. The pool area was cleaned every morning around 9am which we thought was a bit late as we were not able to sit outside comfortably until after they had been cleaned.

The hotel is located on a street with a number of different restaurants and cafes. It is a 30 min walk away from the famous Kotoubia masjid and the souks. Catching the bus after a 5 min walk took about 10 mins which we loved! A 10 min walk in a different direction instructed by hotel staff took us to the modern shopping mall which was refreshing.

We received amazing help from a lady called Nadia who helped organise trips out, gave us great tips to handle ourselves, requested specific foods for us etc. She would often come and see us for a chat and always did her best to make us feel comfortable. After learning about our curiosity about Moroccan weddings, she even bought in her wedding album for us to see which was just beautiful. She introduced us to the hotel manager who greeted all guests in the morning. Even the doorman was very pleasant and taught us some Arabic phrases we could use.

All in all we had a lovely holiday and first impressions were changed quickly as the hotel staff made us more comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abeeda000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saidi m, Directeur général at Imperial Holiday Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2015
Google Translation
nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire positif à l’égard de notre Etablissement, nous sommes contents d'avoir passé un bon séjour et vous aviez profité de nos buffets à thèmes et petit déjeuner , Vous aviez aimé notre staff qui etait toujours à l’écoute pour les derniers détails et ce afin de rendre votre séjour agréable. nous serions ravi de vous revoir parmi nous prochainement, nous vous accorderons un surclassement et un traitement spécial à vous et votre famille bien entendu..
bien cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2015

Their PR is only after money, doesn't even ask you if you need anything after the first day when you don't book anything with her. A expresso should be included in the fare when you breakfast included and drinks in the dinner. The pool service was awful, they would give used towels to stay by the pool, or even worst wouldn't have enough for everyone. The safe was on the deal but they also said we would have to pay to use it. They forgot to pick us up at the airport which is not ideal when you're visiting a new country. The room with view and AC wasn't bad but a 4 stars should at least have a bottle of water, bathrobe, toiletries, slippers. Food was satisfying far from what to expect in a 4stars. The eating room servants were very welcoming.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony to the pool in the 1st floor, the balcony is bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for four days and while everything was generally fine, I would in no way describe it as a four star hotel!
The WIFI was rubbish and would only work in the lobby if even then! We spent 3 days in the tiny village of Taghazout on the coast and our little apartment had amazing WIFI! I don't know why it can't be the same here!
The air conditioning in the room wasn't very strong which made for some uncomfortably hot nights.
Some of the fittings in our bathroom needed replacing and the the toilet leaked. Again it was nothing major really, just things that shouldn't be in a four star hotel.
We also had quite a lot of mix-ups with the staff regarding lack of towels/toilet paper in our room, room service and ordering and paying for food and never actually receiving it or getting it an hour late. I think (and hope) that this was mainly due to the language barrier.

On the other hand, the pool is amazing and the outdoor area of the hotel was beautiful.
It also has a great rooftop shisha and drinks bar that had great views of the city and was pretty full of locals and people from the hotel.
We also had a great breakfast by the pool one morning with brilliant freshly made crepes and the best orange juice I ever had!
My friends also went to the spa for hammam treatments and really enjoyed them.

Overall, a good hotel but needs a few tweaks to improve to a four star!

Stayed August 2015, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2015 via mobile

Reception staff were great, room service were great! Pool was decent, food was decent. Nadia at the front desk was very helpful.

Only down was that the AC didn't work for my room although my friends rooms were fine. I spoke to reception twice and it still didn't work.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mca1395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

After reading some of the other reviews we weren't to sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised the hotel was lovely offering all holiday amenities a lovely pool with surrounding gardens and outdoor eating area if desired. Also an underground spa for those that would like treatments. We were within easy access to the souks & short cab ride away from all other tourist's spots. The hotel manager was more than happy to help with trips into the atlas mountains & gave us good advice on places to go. The staff & management were very friendly.we have just had a wonderful holiday.it's a magical place that needs to be explored.

Room Tip: Room at the back overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#335 of 491 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#408 of 491 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#288 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#358 of 491 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#306 of 491 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
5.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Holiday Hotel

Address: 30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Swiss International Imperial Holiday)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#208 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Holiday Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Marrakech, this hotel is a 10-minute drive from the famous Jamaa El Fna. It features an outdoor pool and a heated, indoor one, a sauna, a fitness room and hammam. An airport shuttle is available upon request. Most of air-conditioned rooms and suites have a balcony features in each one. Some of the rooms offer a hot tub, a four-poster bed and a marble bathroom. All of the rooms have satellite TV. Le Mont-Royal restaurant serves international and Moroccan cuisine. Sample cocktails on the Imperial Holiday's rooftop terrace with panoramic views over Marrakech. Relax in The Niagara Falls pool-side bar or enjoy the on-site entertainment. The 24-hour reception hotel is a 2-minute walk from Marrakech Plaza shopping centre. Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an shuttle is available upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Holiday Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing