We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great base for exploring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss International Imperial Holiday

Save Saved
You added Swiss International Imperial Holiday to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss International Imperial Holiday
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“great base for exploring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Spent 4 days at the Imperial with Carol, Jo and Helen. It's dated and a bit tired, but comfortable, clean enough and provided what we needed - a base to explore from. The Guest Liaison Manager, Jad, was lovely and helpful, not pushy, and had lots of suggestions for sight-seeing, getting about, shopping and transport. Some other staff wanted to be helpful and were friendly, but things seemed to take a long while to get done. I stood at the bar one evening and watched 3 bar staff discussing the finer workings of the till for at least 10 minutes without even a nod in my direction. Oh, and I asked for the music being played around the pool during the day to be turned down (as I'm getting on and couldn't hear our conversation!) and the smiling pool man did as i asked - 30 minutes later!

Breakfast for us consisted of croissants and boiled eggs, which was fine for 4 days. Dinners were a good mix of spicy and simple food - lots of chicken and lamb, some fish, great vegetables, and a range of salads and little cakes.

Our aircon worked, the view of the pool from our room was lovely, we could walk to the Medina from the Imperial (although we got cabs in and horse and carriage back - about 50 dirhams for 4 people); Jad recommended a great excursion to the Ouzoud region at the foothills of the Atlas Mountains (although we only got to see the first, fairly mediocre, of apparently seven waterfalls, so check details before booking).

Overall, we felt welcome and respected.

Room Tip: poolside room - cooler and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    84
    68
    46
    44
See reviews for
53
101
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just come back from 4 nights' stay.
Situated outside of the centre of Marrakech but near enough to walk.
Restaurant and pool bar staff were very friendly but found reception and indoor bar staff a bit grumpy! Rooms were comfortable and clean - ours overlooked the pool so was lovely and quiet. My friends had to ask several times for replacement towels and toilet paper!
Food was nice, good choices for breakfast and evening meal.
Yes, we had to pay a daily fee for the safe in our room but don't you everywhere? And it was only minimal.
The best thing about the hotel is the 'man who can' in reception, Jed. He spoke excellent English and helped with all aspects of our holiday.
Thanks Jed, from one of the 4 english 'girls' who left on Monday!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool (at the back of the hotel) are comfortable, have a balcony and are nice a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over Easter break it was rather dated breakfasts were good providing a range from pastries, eggs, pancakes, however you had to pay extra for good coffee. The evening meals where disappointing not very good quite bland in flavour. Staff were not very friendly and seemd to have a promlem with Brits, prefered the French. Rooms where clean though and there where no noises throught the night. Over all happy as hotel was far enough away from hustle and bustle of the city but not too far.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Marrakech staying at the Imperial Holiday Hotel. We paid under £100 each for a week half board and have no complaints what so ever. Yes, it's a little tired, yes, it's a little cheesy - but it depends what is important to you. We want a safe place to leave our stuff, clean towels and sheets daily, great food and friendly helpful staff, we got that 'with knobs on' at the Imperial. I must redress two particular comments from one reviewer who said the food & staff were terrible. Firstly, the restaurant provided a vaired and excellent buffet every day of authentic Morrocan food. Secondly, the staff were so friendly and helpful, from the cleaner to the front of house and restaurant mangager, we felt welcomed and appriciated at all times. The location is great - right in between the Old Town and the beautiful Gardens Majorelle, and the view of the Atlas Mountais is wonderful from the roof terrace.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very disappointed. We couldn't sleep due to the noise either outside the hotel or inside ( could hear a couple next door having sex because their bed headboard was knocking on the wall!!
Breakfast very poor and no Wifi as expected in the room.
No proper car park ( had to pay the street guard daily to guard the car), and had to pay for the safe in the room. Staff unprofessional. The only good thing about this hotel is its location (walking distance to the shops).

Room Tip: Choose a room facing their tiny pool if you want to sleep at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is nicely located: it takes 30 minutes walk to the medina. Very nice rooftop. Rooms are ok. Very helpful and friendly staff. To behonoust; we do not undstand why there are reviews on this hotel that say the staff is not friendly or supportive. Could be a bit cleaner (windows, light swithes and tap in the bathroom seem never to be cleaned).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Groupon. And after reading the reviews we knew what to expect, But as we are not the type of person that hangs out in their hotel during holidays we didn't mind. Well, their incompetent and rude staff manage to make the whole stay a horrible experience even if you have little contact with them. From the check in to the check out its just a nightmare!
Avoid this place. Go somewhere else. It's not even a 4 stars and its not worth ruining any moment of your holiday wasting time with these people.
There is no reason why you should stay there! The location isnt that good, the premises arent pretty, food is bad... You wouldn't believe how rude they are and how poor poor poor their service is. I just still can't believe how bad it was!
AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss International Imperial Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Imperial Holiday

Address: 30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#149 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Imperial Holiday 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss International Imperial Holiday is in an ideal location for your holidays and businesses, elegantly equipped with modern facilities. Nestled in a quiet oasis from the busy city center of Marrakech, the hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, a heated indoor swimming pool, a sauna, a fitness room, a hammam and also designated smoking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Swiss International Imperial Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Holiday Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss International Imperial Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;