We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place- AVOID!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss International Imperial Holiday

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss International Imperial Holiday to your Saves list
Swiss International Imperial Holiday
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrible place- AVOID!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Groupon. And after reading the reviews we knew what to expect, But as we are not the type of person that hangs out in their hotel during holidays we didn't mind. Well, their incompetent and rude staff manage to make the whole stay a horrible experience even if you have little contact with them. From the check in to the check out its just a nightmare!
Avoid this place. Go somewhere else. It's not even a 4 stars and its not worth ruining any moment of your holiday wasting time with these people.
There is no reason why you should stay there! The location isnt that good, the premises arent pretty, food is bad... You wouldn't believe how rude they are and how poor poor poor their service is. I just still can't believe how bad it was!
AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    91
    77
    52
    55
See reviews for
58
112
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

this hotel is not 4 star and we wouldnt recommend it. Rooms were clean but very 'tired'! bathrooms need major overhaul, shower not very good. Breakfast adequate but did not eat any other meals here. The noise at night from bar/ nightclub kept us awake till very late.
reception staff polite but not very friendly but the porter was very helpful. Staying here did not ruin our trip, but we think its over priced for what you get and if we return to Marrakech would book accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We're two older ladies and weren't sure what to expect. We were treated with great respect by all the staff, who were helpful and friendly all the time. They couldn't do enough for us.. The room was very clean and we got to know the cleaning lady well . She was very thorough and we had clean towels every day.The food was quite varied and the waiters eager to make sure everything was satisfactory. We are well travelled and for the price we paid for our week, we can recommend this hotel. Excellent value for money. Kathy and Bridie. BEDFORD

Room Tip: Room overlooked pool yet was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

What the general comments say here are true
The rooms aren't the cleanest - the bathrooms being the worst. The power of the shower is awful. It took me 20mins to wash the shampoo out of my hair.
The air con is poor.
That being said, we requested to change rooms and this was done for us where the air con was fantastic.
Location - very near to Mohammed avenu V - took about 7 mins to walk up. The jem el fna is about a 35 min walk. You're right near the McDonald's, train station, KFC with this hotel. Taxis to the medina cost 20 - 25 dirhams. Make sure u haggle!
The pool is clean - a big improvement from last time. Break fast is good - lots of choice for everyone and a chef on hand to make omelettes too.
Excursions are offered by the hotel.
Take a travel iron - the ironing there is rubbish and not worth the cost.
Quite loud on both sides of the hotel - at the front very loud traffic and locals
At the back very loud music from downstairs - however we didn't mind this so much.
It's definately not a 4 star hotel by any standard - more a 2.5 star ( just lower than a travel lodge in the uk) - hence why the price is so low across most websites.
If your going to be heading out and about all day then it's fine to stay here as we did.
But if u want to experience beautiful Moroccan hotels and a decent price - look at the others on Mohammed avenue V or stay in a riad.
We have been to Marrakech 3 times now - and wouldn't stay in this hotel out of choice again -
Hope this helps
Happy travelling people !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is in the newer part of town and provides basic accomodations at a reasonable price. There are quite a few restaurants (including McDonalds) nearby and also lots of shops. The medina is about a 15 minute walk. This hotel has a decent pool and offers breakfast which was at best average. The staff is friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying here as a couple or a family if you are looking for reasonably priced hotels without a lot of luxury.

Room Tip: View of the pool is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall great choice. Clean, decor bit dated, lifts had a mind of their own. breakfast was adequate. Restaurant staff were very nice and helpful but there were so many if them in an empty breakfast room that if u sneezed there were 3 lined up with a tissue. Reception staff wouldn't make a dinner reservation for me in a local restaurant. I couldn't understand why. I was however allowed to leave my case after checking out as my flight was later. I was slightly concerned though, that I managed to take it without anyone seeing. I would stay again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Imperial Holiday hotel in Marrakesh was a delight to stay in. The rooms were spacious, good air conditioning and balcony. Very clean and comfortable. Maid service excellent. All staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Staff provided good advice on places to visit.
The leisure facilities were also excellent from the good sized swimming pool and garden to the spa facilities. Pool and Bar staff were fantastic and spa treatments excellent. The restaurant served good quality food and waiting staff were well controlled under the superb head waiter Bouazza. The chef took an interest and was happy to provide alternatives to the good choice of buffet if required. Whilst 4 star Marrekech is perhaps 3 star UK, Mr Sadi runs a very efficient and welcoming hotel offering excellent value and location to explore Marrakesh and surrounding areas. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for both couples and family holidays. My sincere thanks to all at the hotel for contributing to a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear over look the nice pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss International Imperial Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Imperial Holiday

Address: 30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#154 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#157 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Imperial Holiday 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Marrakech, this hotel is a 10-minute drive from the famous Jamaa El Fna. It features an outdoor pool and a heated, indoor one, a sauna, a fitness room and hammam. An airport shuttle is available upon request. Most of air-conditioned rooms and suites have a balcony features in each one. Some of the rooms offer a hot tub, a four-poster bed and a marble bathroom. All of the rooms have satellite TV. Le Mont-Royal restaurant serves international and Moroccan cuisine. Sample cocktails on the Imperial Holiday's rooftop terrace with panoramic views over Marrakech. Relax in The Niagara Falls pool-side bar or enjoy the on-site entertainment. The 24-hour reception hotel is a 2-minute walk from Marrakech Plaza shopping centre. Menara Airport is a 15-minute drive away and an shuttle is available upon reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss International Imperial Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Holiday Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss International Imperial Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.