We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend your money elsewhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss International Imperial Holiday

Save Saved
You added Swiss International Imperial Holiday to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss International Imperial Holiday
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spend your money elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

What the general comments say here are true
The rooms aren't the cleanest - the bathrooms being the worst. The power of the shower is awful. It took me 20mins to wash the shampoo out of my hair.
The air con is poor.
That being said, we requested to change rooms and this was done for us where the air con was fantastic.
Location - very near to Mohammed avenu V - took about 7 mins to walk up. The jem el fna is about a 35 min walk. You're right near the McDonald's, train station, KFC with this hotel. Taxis to the medina cost 20 - 25 dirhams. Make sure u haggle!
The pool is clean - a big improvement from last time. Break fast is good - lots of choice for everyone and a chef on hand to make omelettes too.
Excursions are offered by the hotel.
Take a travel iron - the ironing there is rubbish and not worth the cost.
Quite loud on both sides of the hotel - at the front very loud traffic and locals
At the back very loud music from downstairs - however we didn't mind this so much.
It's definately not a 4 star hotel by any standard - more a 2.5 star ( just lower than a travel lodge in the uk) - hence why the price is so low across most websites.
If your going to be heading out and about all day then it's fine to stay here as we did.
But if u want to experience beautiful Moroccan hotels and a decent price - look at the others on Mohammed avenue V or stay in a riad.
We have been to Marrakech 3 times now - and wouldn't stay in this hotel out of choice again -
Hope this helps
Happy travelling people !

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    84
    68
    46
    44
See reviews for
53
101
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is in the newer part of town and provides basic accomodations at a reasonable price. There are quite a few restaurants (including McDonalds) nearby and also lots of shops. The medina is about a 15 minute walk. This hotel has a decent pool and offers breakfast which was at best average. The staff is friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying here as a couple or a family if you are looking for reasonably priced hotels without a lot of luxury.

Room Tip: View of the pool is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall great choice. Clean, decor bit dated, lifts had a mind of their own. breakfast was adequate. Restaurant staff were very nice and helpful but there were so many if them in an empty breakfast room that if u sneezed there were 3 lined up with a tissue. Reception staff wouldn't make a dinner reservation for me in a local restaurant. I couldn't understand why. I was however allowed to leave my case after checking out as my flight was later. I was slightly concerned though, that I managed to take it without anyone seeing. I would stay again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Imperial Holiday hotel in Marrakesh was a delight to stay in. The rooms were spacious, good air conditioning and balcony. Very clean and comfortable. Maid service excellent. All staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Staff provided good advice on places to visit.
The leisure facilities were also excellent from the good sized swimming pool and garden to the spa facilities. Pool and Bar staff were fantastic and spa treatments excellent. The restaurant served good quality food and waiting staff were well controlled under the superb head waiter Bouazza. The chef took an interest and was happy to provide alternatives to the good choice of buffet if required. Whilst 4 star Marrekech is perhaps 3 star UK, Mr Sadi runs a very efficient and welcoming hotel offering excellent value and location to explore Marrakesh and surrounding areas. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for both couples and family holidays. My sincere thanks to all at the hotel for contributing to a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear over look the nice pool and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

good hotel, clean, nice pool, very nice and helpfull staff
The beds are a bit small

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

This hotel was booked by my partner and when I came on trip advisor I was really quite apprehensive about staying here because of some of the reviews I read. I thought staying here was going to ruin our trip but it didn't. This is not a four star hotel by any stretch of the imagination, parts of it are shabby, in particular the roof terrace, the staff are hit and miss, sometimes very kind and helpful, sometimes blank faced and disinterested but overall it wasn't as awful as some of the reviews painted it out to be and it is in a good position in the city. If you already have this placed booked - don't worry staying here will not ruin your holiday but if you have not yet decided - pick somewhere else.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the pool but were told in quite an aggressive manner by the receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmarouane, General Manager at Swiss International Imperial Holiday, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Good morning Ellie,
en respond to your review we have to let you know that we have a good staff with experiences and all them is coming from the hotel school, some of them are the trainers.our reception staff have had a long experience, friendly with clients. we are surprised that you said the reception staff is aggressive, we are not agree with you the staff is friendly an helpful l .we don't know when you were here you said to the public relation that everything is good and when you use the TripAdvisor you said the opposit. we can not understand you!!! Anyway we invite you to come back if you come in Marrakech i will take in charge with you and do your stay enjoyable. thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Is a 4 star hotel. With very friendly staff.

Everything that a hotel needed for 4 stars, were old and at the end of their life. I do not know if these things will live to the end next week. The week we were Imperial Holiday Hotel in Marrakech there, everything was still just, working.

The toilet paper was so small that a Tempos look like a bed sheets in comparison. It was so thin that one had to fold it 6 to 8 times to make it usable.

Swimming pool area excellent see photos.

Food good to very good.

On the last day we did not get breakfast because the man responsible had not been told. The waiter from the night before had not told him!!!!!!!!!!!! A pity.

Room Tip: Recommendation for all guests, take only rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the swimming poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmarouane, General Manager at Swiss International Imperial Holiday, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
we thank you very much for you good opinion regarding our hotel except the toilet paper wich we have taken already notice of it .thanks for your opinion regarding our good foods and staff wich is friendly.
we hope to welcome you again with more attentions.
you welcome next time in imperial holiday hotel Marrakech
SAIDI mohamed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss International Imperial Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Imperial Holiday

Address: 30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#144 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#149 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Imperial Holiday 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss International Imperial Holiday is in an ideal location for your holidays and businesses, elegantly equipped with modern facilities. Nestled in a quiet oasis from the busy city center of Marrakech, the hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, a heated indoor swimming pool, a sauna, a fitness room, a hammam and also designated smoking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Swiss International Imperial Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Holiday Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss International Imperial Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.