We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss International Imperial Holiday

Save Saved
You added Swiss International Imperial Holiday to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss International Imperial Holiday
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #372 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Madrid, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Nice Hotel and excellent service.
25 minutes walking from the Medina, but you can get a taxi for 20DRH or bus Nº1 (bus stop 150mts) for 3,5DRH
City taxes not included in room price must be paid on the checkout (16DHR per pax/night)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    93
    73
    50
    44
See reviews for
53
101
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before our flight home having spent most of our holiday in Riads in Marrakech and Essaouira.

Felt dull and clinical by comparison and was not very well located for the main sights.

Breakfast was very poor with rotten eggs- wouldn't recommend

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Having spent just over a week at this hotel, I do not recognise its description from some of the recent reviews.
Located approximately 40 mins walk from the Medina and 5 mins walk from the station and shopping area made it an ideal base.
Yes, it is a busy city hotel and this is reflected in the decor but the rooms and the hotel itself were spotlessly clean. We had everything in our room that we needed.
There were a couple of minor problems with the room on arrival, but they were fixed within five minutes of reporting them.
We chose the half board option and were not disappointed. Breakfast was standard hotel fare, but omelettes and crepes were cooked to order if required. Dinner menus were changed daily and the food was delicious.
The staff, from Manager to cleaning staff were friendly and welcoming and we had a great holiday.
We look forward to returning. thank you for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area are quiet and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for just the one nite and to be fair it was good enough for one nite and for using as a base to explore the city. Room was basic but had everything needed there.The keyholder for the electricity was broken and as this was the first thing a person would use even before entering the room it would not give a good first impression. It is a city hotel so the view was nothing to write home about, but once you went to the rooftop and saw the city with the snowcapped mountains in the distant it was stunning. Rooftop was well layed out with sunloungers and tables and chairs and would have been nice to spend some time there but time was something we didnt have. Staff were friendly and answered any requests that were asked of them.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I got back a couple of days ago from marrakech, fab city, shame about the hotel. This hotel is definatly not a 4 star, i'd give it a 2 star and i'm being generous, the rooms are very basic, tired looking, the lifts don't work, myself and my friend got stuck in it, and i'm pregnant too so you can imagine how terrified i was, the sun doesn't even come around to the pool area, it's quite shaded, you don't get any sun anytime around there. Book bed only as b&b is not worth the money, breakfast was very basic, eat out if you can. Also there's a tax charge when you leave its about 16 dirhams per person, per night, which i thought was strange, when i asked the receptionist, could i see the charge in writing, she just glared at me. I payed it anyway and left, never go back to that hotel again. It is a good location, but comfort wise, it's not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italiegerardo, General Manager at Swiss International Imperial Holiday, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We are surprised for our client who complain about the hotel and said that is 2 stars and not 4, this clien has not seen in the reception desk that this hotel has been selected 4 stars hotel not only by our minister of tourism but by the president of federation of tourism international iy you like to send a copy we can! he said was terrified by no sun in the pool , we have the sun until l 4 pm because it depends of rotation of the but we have thought about that and re command our clients to search the full sun in the roof on the 7th floor if he has asked the reception they will tell him where he can find the sun for all the day ! He said that taxes of 16,50 dhs per day and per night it is not written, if he has seen the room price in the room he will find it.
About the comfort, you must know that the hotel has been renoved just in 2009 and2010.we have change all material in the rooms
we have opened a new spa also. The Management take care seriously with the comfort of the hotel for their customers.
We ask ourself if this client has this small problems why he has not ask after the responsible of the hotel to arrange him all. it not kind of himself he can see the good comments below.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This hotel was ok until the point money was stolen from our room. For this reason...AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italiegerardo, General Manager at Swiss International Imperial Holiday, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
We are surprised that you declare stolen and we have approve you with our control method key supervision and we have make a historic of the all entrances and we found that no body has entered in your room expt the housekeeper and you. IN you Room is written a notice advice for all the customers that we are not responsible for the gold and money left in the room, we have for that a safe box against 2 euros . We ask our self if you have money why you didn't hire a safety - for us it is strange and not believable. or you want only a receipt for your assurance to win money ????
Sorry that your mistake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

After booking our holiday I looked at the reviews on tripadvisor (should have done it the other way round, I know) and was quite worried about our choice of hotel.

We found the hotel itself - the bedroom, and stairways in particular to be quite run down, I tend to agree with earlier reviews that it should not be classed as a 4 star.

However we enjoyed the food. Breakfast was continental style with cheese, bread, ham etc. Also cooked food such as boiled eggs or they offered omlettes which they cooked specially for us, which were very good. In addition there were lots of very good cakes and pastries. I don't think we would describe this as 'boring'. Dinner consisted of a choice of several salads for a starter, followed by tagines (lamb, chicken, fish etc) with couscous, or potatoes or pasta, and cakes and pastries for desert. The food changed every day.

The hotel is located about 1.5 miles from the city centre. We walked in (an experience in itself), but a taxi ride costing about 30 dirham would get you into the centre, no problem.

Arriving at about 2.00am service was slow when we arrived, but after that we had only good experience of the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swiss International Imperial Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss International Imperial Holiday

Address: 30 avenue Moulay R'chid | Gueliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#141 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#149 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss International Imperial Holiday 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss International Imperial Holiday is in an ideal location for your holidays and businesses, elegantly equipped with modern facilities. Nestled in a quiet oasis from the busy city center of Marrakech, the hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, a heated indoor swimming pool, a sauna, a fitness room, a hammam and also designated smoking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Swiss International Imperial Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Holiday Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss International Imperial Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.