We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise on Earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Zemora to your Saves list
Dar Zemora
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue el Aandalib | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wifi
Ranked #29 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little piece of paradise on Earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a long weekend. It is a beautiful haven from which to explore the busy city and Medina, all of which was ten minutes away by taxi. The hotel's local staff were all very friendly and attentive.
We particularly enjoyed our couple of evening meals on the terrace with great food and the unexpected accompaniment of the hotel's Frog chorus!
The accommadation we were in, the Pavillion suite, was beautiful, tranquil and luxurious.
If you are looking for rest and relaxation away from the hustle and bustle of the city, this was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    10
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
35
134
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
florakaty
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

Dar Zemora was the starting point for what should have been a 2 centre holiday, we were going on to Essaouira. Sadly I was taken rather ill with bronchitis within hours of arriving and could not travel onwards. The management and staff could not have been more kind, caring and helpful to my husband and I. I could not have been cared for better and it was arranged that we just stay on at Dar Zemora rather than attempt a long journey. Nothing was too much trouble; including getting an English speaking doctor and my prescription. In the meantime my husband enjoyed the delicious food, the exquisite surroundings and read rather a lot of books. We shall return.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed one night as a treat at the end of a great holiday. Unfortunately it was spoilt by the fact our electricity was off and had to stumble in the dark to find someone. We eventually found someone who offered no apologies but said they will fix it. After four interruptions to our room we eventually had light!!!. A long bath sounded a good idea, the water was tepid to pu,t it mildly, again no explanationor apologies.. We were the only ones staying that night . We asked for breakfast on the patio which they advertised. Rain had covered the seat cushions so we couldn't sit there without getting our pillows.
No one seemed interested in our problems and to add injury to insult before we had finished our breakfast they then decided to to clean our private patio around us. Several times I asked them to come back when we had either finished or booked out but to no avail. It spoilt what could have been an enjoyable stay. No interest at all when booking out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Yes I know its a cliche but I just adored this place so much that 5 stars doesnt express how wonderful it is to stay here. It is absolutely stunningly beautiful. The rooms are thoughtfully furnished with real character and there are 3 gorgeous sitting rooms which create a real homely feel, plus a library with lots of guide books and novels, and a free internet PC so you can stay in touch with the world if not having TV is an issue ( i didnt like the prospect of no TV but actually I'm now glad it didnt have them, as it may have spoiled the total relaxation vibe). There is an IPod dock with speaker in every room and the lounge so you can have a choice of relaxing music, and they lend you an Ipod if you dont have your own. We had one of the smaller rooms which was perfectly lovely, but also had a look in a vacant bigger room and had a look at the spacious rooftop suite with its own roof terrace ( maybe next time!)

As it has only 7 rooms I expected the gardens to be small but it all feels remarkably spacious and very well kept and planned. I'm sure its even more stunning when the roses come into bloom.The pool is large, heated and well situated in the garden. There is a hammam/spa set in the vegetable garden! Afternoon tea and cake is brought to you wherever you happen to be. Breakfast and lunch are served by a lovely lily pond full of noisy frogs. The food is as beautiful as the surroundings and of a very high standard throughout , and at a better price than more central hotels and restaurants.

The charming owner Lindsey was there during our stay and we greatly enjoyed her company at dinner and talking about the development and vibe of the hotel with her. Any tiny comments we made about how to make things even better were acted on by her immediately. We commented that a bird was banging on the window early in the morning and she immediately arranged for someone to put a net over the portion of window to stop it!

The huge sunken marble bathroom was divine!
There is a lovely mix of Moroccan and some Asian influences in the decor, feeling both classic and modern simultaneously.
It feels more like staying in a friendly relaxing house than a hotel, and can be booked as a whole for a larger group.

The only possible drawback for some may be the distance from central Marrakech.It didnt seem like an area with any potential to walk anywhere easily. Its a 20-30 min cab ride to the centre. I'd recommend staying in a centrally located Riad for a couple of nights so you can experience the lively city, then move here and you wont want to leave!

Never have I wanted to take so many photos of a hotel just to remember how lovely it was. Its surely only the small size thats keeping it from being at the top of the rankings here. I just left and I'm yearning to go back already. Truly outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

This is a truly lovely substantial villa set in the immediate suburbs of Marrakesh; had we stayed longer than our 5 days we would probably have been brave enough to walk the couple of miles into the city; as it is we took taxi's ( which can add up). That said, the in-house dinner on offer easily matches any restaurant in Marrakesh and is well priced,

As a small business owner, when I come on holiday I am usually in need of a holiday, it is therefore such a pleasure to be surrounded by staff that are so positive in every way; especially the manager, Jewad, who had a total 'can do attitude' and made our New Year's Eve celebration such a wonderful evening; our whole stay in fact.

I liken our stay in Dar Zemora to visiting friends, who taste is impeccable and who just happen to have staff; the atmosphere is both tranquil and intimate, gentle in fact. We loved it and would return again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Dar Zemora is beautifully appointed. The house is traditional and the rooms spacious. The grounds are stunning - a real oasis in the midst of madness!!

The staff we encountered were polite and friendly. I am not sure that all staff had a full grasp of English and a few requests were lost in translation. We had heard about the tasting menu at Dar Zemora and looked forward to this very much. The food was tasty and interesting, but personally we felt it was a little over hyped. Portions were adequate, although with all meals being served plated it was unlikely we would put on any weight over the holiday!!!

We were surprised that the day we were due to leave, we were told at breakfast we only had half an hour to vacate our room. We were being collected at lunchtime and were given access to the spa suite for use of the shower and facilities etc.

Not sure I would go back again, although our stay was an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

For a perfect romantic trip in the sun. Beautiful rooms. Great service. Food and wine very good. Makes an excellent short but relaxing trip for two.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#11 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
2.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
2.4 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
Mosaic Palais Aziza & Spa
#78 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
8.3 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Address: Rue el Aandalib | Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#18 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dar Zemora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zemora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.