We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zemora

Save Saved
You added Dar Zemora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Zemora
Rue el Aandalib | BP 12013, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Uk
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Simply amazing!

Fabulous pool great for relaxing in.

Well designed and decorated throughout.

Food was delicious, well prepared and good quality. We ate breakfast lunch and dinner at Dar Zemora over 4 days and were never bored with the variety on offer which covered Morrocan/fusion and western styles.

Perfect place to spend my 30th! We stayed in a lovely riad (Le Clos des Arts) in the medina for a few days before coming to relax in La Palmerie - great contrast, sheer bliss.

The staff were absolutely fantastic.

I really want to return but sooo many places to visit in the world and not enough time!

Stay here if you ever visit Marrakech, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    7
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
goring on thames
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

My newly-acquired much loved wife and I chose Dar Zemora for our belated honeymoon and to prematurely celebrate my 50th birthday during January of 2009. We spent a week there and left wishing we had booked a second. It is impossible to fault Dar Zemora or any aspect of the ambiance, food and service. We can't comment on the lunch because we were lazy and had late breakfasts - which even in january were taken in sunshine on the terrace and were wonderful - and then saved ourselves for dinner. We are both chefs and consequently are used to being dissapointed by much of the fare we are served on holiday. Not here though. And in fairness not on the two occasions we ventured into Marrakech for dinner. We have been fortunate to eat in some of the best (and worst) restaurants in the world, but can count on the fingers of two hands the truly memorable meals. Those at Dar Zemora fit in that category. Not because the food was michelin-starred but because we thoroughly enjoyed everything we were served - including the excellent Moroccan wines - and despite on some occasions being the only diners were made to feel like royalty in the gorgeous dining room.
We stayed in the Zahara suite which the benefit of it's terrace was wonderful. The swimming pool was opened up every day - even when there was only us there - and all the towels and shades and hats were laid out in case we wanted to be by the pool.
I could go on for ever. We can't wait to go back. 1 weekend a year at Troisgros in roanne; 2 weekends in chablis and a week in the winter and autumn at Dar Zemora and that would be our holidays taken care of.
Good luck Lindsay, Valerie, Yussef, Cheriff, Hassan and all you Dar Zemora peeps - you deserve all the success in the world.
John & Julia

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

Dar Zemora really was an oasis of calm and beauty and only 20 minutes from Marrakech and the airport. We felt totally spoilt and thoroughly indulgent throughout our stay. The food was exceptional, eating a two course for lunch and then a four course (or sometimes six!) for dinner. We enjoyed Moroccan sea bass, chicken kebabs, steak, soups and much more. Our double bedroom and bathroom were spacious and beautifully done, the bath nearly big enough to swim in. The pool and grounds were also stunning and we were often just the only people around, which was a real luxury. The staff, Youseff, Hassan and Sharif were courteous, polite and helpful and pre-empted our every need. It really felt like going on honeymoon again. A true delight and we definitely hope to return at some point soon.

  • Liked — everything! but i guess the food and setting was wonderful
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

My wife booked us 3 nights at the Da Zemora. I have stayed at many top hotels in the world, however this is different. It is so peaceful and relaxing it really does feel like heavan. All the rooms are stunning and the staff and service is exceptional. I intend to go back every year to visit. It is one of those places that you have to go to understand!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

I've stayed at many great hotels but Dar Zemora was in a league of its own. I admit that as we were practically the only guests that it made me feel like I owned the place was a key factor in how great the hotel was, but the lovely room and the *excellent* staff were truly excellent. I'd advise anyone staying there to indulge in the 6 course gourmet evening - we ate in several expensive Marrakech restaurants but none were as good as here! The private taxi the hotel organised seemed a little expensive (but was excellent service) and that's the only negative thing I can think of and I've racked my mind to find something!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2008

We stayed at Dar Zemora for 6 nights as part of our honeymoon.

The place is absolutely beautiful, restful and very relaxing.

The staff were wonderful and the food as good as you will find in any of the local restaurants.

We will return

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastcourt
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

It's a wonderful setting in what, throughout the day, is a really peaceful place. But at night, with the windows open, barking dogs, and on one night non-stop music, kept us awake.

We were in the Perla suite with its own roof terrace. It was a good room but the furnishings and curtains were dated and the lighting - just appalling! It was impossible to read in the room at night and impossible for my wife to see in the bathroom mirror, again because of inadequate lighting.

We had the exclusive use of a very well equipped roof terrace with views over the grounds - but again, the owners had clearly not considered that guests might like to sit there after dark - but there were just two very ineffective wall lights. We had excellent lunches but like others we met,were very disappointed with the unimaginative offerings at night - so we ate elsewhere.

The staff were wonderful and could not do enough to help. But, for the money charged, the owners could - and should - do better.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Hotel
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech
Address: Rue el Aandalib | BP 12013, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Escapio so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zemora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.