We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relxing haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zemora

Save Saved
You added Dar Zemora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Zemora
Rue el Aandalib | BP 12013, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relxing haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Spent 5 nights here with my family - including 2 teenagers -over half term. A few nerves after reading some stories of Marrakesh generally (not the hotel) before we travelled, but Youseff the hotel manager is superb. We stayed in the Pavilion suite in the gardens, which is a 2 bedroomed, spacious house with private pool and gardens within the confines of the hotel grounds. Extremely comfortable both inside and out - and the wonderful staff are more than happy to serve you meals and drinks on your terrace. Good breakfasts - fresh juices from the orange trees in the gardens - and superb lunches offering traditional Moroccan cuisine. Ask Youseff to book you restaurants and guided trips into town, you can see all the best parts of the city then with real confidence. We had a guide for half a day to see the souks and main square - and felt happier for having him. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
110
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for a couple of nights at Dar Zemora at the end of a week's visit to Morocco, after we had been trekking in the Atlas mountains. We decided to stay in Dar Zemora as a bit of a treat expecting to use it as a base to explore Marrakech. As it happened we found Dar Zemora such an oasis of tranquillity and were treated so well that we could barely bring ourselves to leave. We did go into the Medina once (which is only a short taxi ride away) but decided to see out the remainder of our stay in the hotel - which was we found the perfect way to finish our holiday. The service was excellent and everyone made the greatest effort to make us feel at home. When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to the suite at the top of the hotel's main building. The food was particularly good, especially the dinners which we had out on the veranda. It was all too easy to spend our time lounging by the pool or reading on our balcony, and finding our time governed by the rhythms of the hotel, as meals were served to us throughout the day. Overall, this is a great hotel to relax and de-stress.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everything about this hotel is superb! The architecture, the rooms, the gardens, the lounges, the pool, the staff. Really, really fantastic. The thoughtful details such as the sunhats on the sunbeds by the pool, the beautiful lounges and the friendly staff were really impressive. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, light lunch and tea with cakes were lovely. I wish we could have spent more time there - hope to be back one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's difficult to find any more words for this place, it is quite simply superb from the minute you arrive to the rather unkind moment you have to leave! It's is blissful, very comfortable and just far enough away from the throbbing Medina to be a complete world apart. The other thing we loved was that we were still very much enjoying a the Riad experience, rather than the faceless international resort - there are only six rooms but also a huge garden and beautiful pool.

The food was delicious, there's no menu you just get what the lovely chef has prepared on the day (although I noticed that guests who had expressed dietary preference were very well catered for.

I have absolutely no idea what happened to the couple below who gave this such a poor review, but they must have stayed a different hotel.

We rebooked even before we left and judging by the guest book - and the TA comments below - so does everyone else. Wonderful place.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and the suites are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have just returned from another lovely stay at Dar Zemora; this was our 7th visit and it was as relaxing and spoiling as ever. The staff were charming and nothing was too much trouble. Thank you all for the beautiful dinner you arranged for us in the garden and also on our terrace on our last night. Thank you Yossef for all the lovely Moroccan music and suggestions about places to visit which made for such an enjoyable time.
We’ve been visiting twice a year (normally) since we discovered this haven of tranquillity and return because we are so well looked after! I had a most wonderful 50th Birthday party in the Fan Room a couple of years ago and will never forget just how magical it was. It speaks volumes that nearly all of the other guests who came and went during our 5 day stay, were repeat visitors like us. All of us were enjoying the wonderful peace of Dar Zemora but with easy access into Marrakech if you can tear yourself away. Like us quite a lot of people use Dar Zemora as somewhere to re-charge batteries and anticipating just that is a lovely thought.

Room Tip: La Perla for a treat or the Pavilion for a party of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I love this small luxury hotel. I came with my daughter in May and decided that my husband had to experience Dar Zemora for himself and it did not disappoint! It is a wonderful place to chill and relax and nothing is too much bother for the staff. Everything is done with a smile and willingness to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The weather was gorgeous, food delicious and we can't thank everyone enough. We will be back next year.
Sally and Tim

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Difficult to find the words to describe just what a stunning place Dar Zemora really is, but here's some; beautiful, serene, magical, perfect to name but a few!
Myself and my partner stayed for 5 nights and I already want to return.
There are no faults to be found at Dar Zemora, it really is the most wonderful place I've ever had the pleasure to visit.
The staff are unrelentingly attentive and we were treated like a King and Queen!
The food is magnificent, every meal was fresh and utterly delicious.
The room was sublime, authentic and we were left wanting for nothing.
I could go on and on (as I already have to everyone that will listen) but I do not want to ruin the surprise, if you're here because you're considering booking a stay at Dar Zemora, then just do it, we did and it was the best choice we've ever made!
See you next year ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Address: Rue el Aandalib | BP 12013, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Escapio so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zemora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.