We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zemora

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dar Zemora to your Saves list
Dar Zemora
Rue el Aandalib | BP 12013, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Wifi
Ranked #29 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here after a fairly hectic trip driving around Morocco. It was the ideal place to unwind and would also be great for a weekend break when Europe is still in the grip of winter. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Marrakesh which seems to me like a city on steroids, but you can enjoy both the hectic life in Marrakesh and the tranquility of this hotel. There are only about 8 rooms so it is never crowded and the staff are amazing.
The owners are English and the guesta were all English when we stayed. The food is good and reliable and I intend to return for a short break

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'La Perla Suite' which has a terrace about the size of most people's ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
118
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our second visit to this "addictive" hotel, where I find yet again I have booked another visit upon returning home. It appears we are not alone, and that many people have returned up to seven times in the ten years it has been open. The British owners aimed to create a "country house" atmosphere, rather than a hotel, and they have certainly achieved it. All of this has been said before, but it is true that stepping over the threshold leads to instant relaxation. The staff are excellent but not intrusive, you never see a laundry bin outside your door...it's as if the fairies have whisked through your room without you ever spotting them. The same with the pool, which is made perfect early in the morning, and is lovely to relax by. The food is sublime, the ambience difficult to explain unless you experience it directly. The quality of the interior furnishings exquisite, the gardens beautiful, fragrant and immaculately cared for. A few days here is the equivalent of a fortnight somewhere else in terms of restoration. We decided it is more like going on (self imposed) retreat, rather than a holiday. When you want to go into town, Youssef arranges everything for you if you want that, and it is made easy. Hilary and Ross

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a stay at Dar Zemora and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to my friends! The setting is absolutely stunning and the staff make such a wonderful effort to make you comfortable. We stayed in the Zahara suite which was beautifully appointed with a private terrace and we were able to eat on the terrace which was a really intimate and romantic setting. The grounds are gorgeous and we made use of the library for wifi ( wifi is not run throughout the hotel but I think this adds to the relaxation ;) we ate in the hotel many times for lunch and twice for dinner and the food was really delicious. The only critiscm I would have is that although delicious the portions were really quite small and I was sometimes hungry even after the two course lunch. I think the meals could do with being a bit more substantial. The pool area is luxurious and even in march very nice weather to lay out! 25-30 degrees! The pool was freezing though- definitely not heated so we couldn't swim :( All in all though this place is so fantastic and we can't wait to hopefully return, thank you so much to Youssef Omar Amina and the gorgeous girls who looked after our daughter when we were able to have dinner out and on our own! Loved Dar Zemora!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a wonderful gem to find and stay in. We booked this via Mr&Mrs Smith and it was a great find. We had a wonderful long weekend in Marrakech but this hotel make it that bit more special and fun. While we were there we met the owner and had a few great chats with him about building the hotel and the area, which was an amazing insight. We ate at the hotel a few nights which was great after a busy day around the town. Taxis are easy to get in and out and it's well worth it to lounge around and enjoy relaxation time. Great food, service and environment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in the Pavilion suite with our 3 teenagers. Suite doesn't do it justice as it is really the size of a small villa, the layout is great with plenty of privacy, a lovely large sitting room, lots of different outside spaces all with lovely furniture and two comfortable bedrooms.
Dar Zemora is a place with a relaxed air that just makes is so easy to relax yourself, even the more active of our family got the vibe and laid back with a book or game of chess.
The staff are lovely with good restaurant recommendations and nothing too much trouble. We particularly like the restaurant and bar at Grand Cafe de la Poste.
They serve nice breakfasts and delicious lunches which again let us just relax and lay back in the lovely surroundings.
I had a fantastic hamam and massage, the treatment room is really pretty, with lovely furnishings and log fire blazing as I had my massage with a really great masseur.

Last time we came to Marrakech we stayed at the Amanjena and frankly the suite here and the atmosphere are actually much nicer.
We stayed here about 10 years ago and really won't be leaving it another 10 to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay over Christmas at this small boutique hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and it was just what we needed to recuperate from the pre-christmas madness! The team here are wonderful, always smiling and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Our only negative was the massages. We opted for a couples hamman and massage and the masseuses were chatting and giggling the entire time which made our relaxing massage just irritating. I recommend splashing out and going for one fo the suites as they are both amazing. If you book through Mr and Mrs Smith you get a rose petal bath included for free which was a lovely experience.

Room Tip: La Perla has its own terrace but the suite on the ground floor is the one to go for.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

What a magical sanctuary Dar Zemora is. After the hussle and bustle of Medina it was always a pleasure to return to tranquility. The staff could not have been more charming and helpful in every way, they could not do enough for you without being intrusive.
The weather was beautiful, clear blue skies and clarity of colour. The venings were chilly so fires were lit in the rooms and small hot water bottles placed in the bed. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I highly rcommend Dar Zemora in every way.

Room Tip: All rooms are just delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Zemora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zemora

Address: Rue el Aandalib | BP 12013, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Palmeraie area of Marrakech and set within 1 hectare of gardens. Large swimming pool. Traditionally built with some contempory features. Great space for a maximum of 14 guests. Many sitting rooms, Dining Room and Hamman on site. 4 Suites, 3 bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Escapio so you can book your Dar Zemora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Zemora Marrakech
Dar Zemora Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Zemora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.