We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ksar Char-Bagh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ksar Char-Bagh to your Saves list
Ksar Char-Bagh
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palmeraie de Marrakech | BP 12478, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #120 of 466 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
paris
1 review
“paradise on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

We have just returned from a week at the Ksar. The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible service before.
Architecture, suites, gardens, restaurant, Hammam, staff : it is just perfect. A paradise on earth !!

  • Liked — every detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    8
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
11
58
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

After reading the mixed reviews on tripadvisor, we were a bit apprehensive about coming to Ksar Char-Bagh and split our time in Marrakech between a riad in the Medina and two nights at Ksar. In hindsight, I wish we had stayed longer. We had the most wonderful time there. The staff was extremely professional, and at the same time warm and friendly, and they went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The property itself resembles a palace from the Tales of the 1001 Nights, it might be the most beautiful hotel we have ever stayed at. We were upgraded to a larger suite with its own roof terrace (including a Bedouin tent). The suite was 100 square metres large, and delightfully furnished. Just for the record, our fireplace worked perfectly. The garden of the property is also beautiful, full of herbs and palm and olive trees and flowers, and there even is a garden of "forgotten vegetables" - black carrots, for example - through which Fabien, the lovely restaurant manager - gave us an impromptu tour. We dined twice at the restaurant and ordered room service, and the food was very good (and not expensive compared to other places in Marrakech). If you are planning to go to Marrakech, do stay at Ksar Char-Bagh, you really miss something if you don't. We have had a wonderful experience and hope to be back one day.

  • Liked — the beautiful palace
  • Disliked — chairs for dinner are not that comfortable
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk uk
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

WELL, if we had paid any attention to the depressing reviews of this unique property, and not gone, we would have missed the experience of a lifetime.
We have just spent 17 days staying at Ksar Char Bagh, and adored every minute of it !
Nothing was too much trouble, and the new General Manager, Frederick, was like a whirlwind of excellence, in an already superbly run establishment.
Great Resident Manager-Antoine, a real PRO, and was on the ball all the time.
Extremely friendly staff, nothing was ever too much trouble, and we had the most glorious of meals, by a very talented French chef, and his clever brigade of staff.
The French owner is elegance personified, and this Palace, which is very Morroccan, in both style, furnishings, and ambience, is truly perfection!
To show how good they were, we jokingly said one day--we would love a SUNDAY ROAST ! That evening, roast beef, and all the trimmings duly appeared.
Our suite was bigger than our house in the UK !!!
Great to be able to utilise a London registered burgundy cab, and to have a chauffeur, on request!
Beautiful pool, masseurs, English daily papers, etc , etc---too much to praise !!
Can only think those that complain, might possibly have been better off in Benidorm, and all inclusive !!!!
Going back to this piece of paradise in November, to get my Christmas shopping !!
Marrakech is literally only 20 minutes away, and it looks like Ksar Char Bagh, has won our hearts for the future!!
Finally , thank you Bernado, superb Restaurant Manager, and all the glorious staff.Not forgetting beautiful Miriam, in charge of reception.
Ksar Char Bagh, was like having ones own private villa, oodles of staff, but discreetly in the background.
Do not be put off by the moaners, this establishment is perfection!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

an extremely depressing experience. An arrogant manager leading a depressed team of waiters,nobody smiling. A bedroom lacking soft furnishings and pictures. Very depressing patios with no plants and grass turning to dust. The gardens are also unsuccessful lacking colour and a general feel that the desert is taking over. Food mediocre served in a flamboyant over the top fashion. Oh dear this place really misses the mark.

  • Liked — bathroom
  • Disliked — ehoey souless room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maximin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

Our stay at the Ksar Charbagh was just delightful. Being outside the city of Marrakech was a dream as this place offers beautiful gardens and an amazing pool. The staff was very welcoming and helpfull. Our eye was always cought by amazing details, luxury is everywhere but never over the limits.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

I was very dubious about our trip having read some of the reviews on here - but discovered they have either upped their game or your reviewers want something that doesn't exist

I took my wife as a surprise for our wedding anniversary - we have stayed at some fabulously rated places over the years and this really did match them all

It is very expensive when you are there but I wasn't shocked - a hotel that has starting rates at 550 euros a night isn't going to be cheap once you got there!

The property itself is beautifull - the suites are really unnecesarilly massive - the service was great - discreetly efficient - the food was exceptionally good - we always went for the chefs dishes rather than the club sandwiches etc.

The staff were happy to serve us wherever we wanted - however inconvenient for them - one previous reviewer complained that they don't speak good English - I found them fine - better English than at home - and to be frank - I'm abroad - I don't expect them to understand every word in English if I can't speak a word of French

The hotel arranged our transpot & trip into the Medina for us - they organised a driver who hang around - then took us to our Restaurant in the evening - then took us home - all for about £20 - pretty good value in my opinion

My wife had a massage & Hamman - she said it was amazing

In the evenings they would come & light the fire in our room within about 10 minutes of asking & there is a free mimibar of soft drinks in the room

My only complaint - we weren't there long enough!

People can find fault in anything - but if you are a seasoned traveller - who enjoys good food and discreet service I really can't recommend this place enough - if I won the lottery this is where I'd take my favourite 12 couples for a long weekend

  • Liked — Ambiance
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask & you shall recieve
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneve
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

We were at ksar char at the end of september for a hooneymoon.
The accommodations are nice, without any charme.

we where the only one... now we undunstand why....

the room are cold, the fire place did not work at all, we wait 1h to get a taxi (the hotel is very far from the old town) when we reserved, the hotel told us that they have a car at our disposal for going around, but as it s seem to be the rule there the car was at the garage... and did not work for 6 days.

During our stay, we wanted to have club sandwitch and drinks by the pool, but were shot down very rudely by the owner ( a french woman).

my wife wake up at 3 oclock in the morning by... a mouse...YES a mouse...

i am sorry for my approximatif english, but really we would never go back again..

it was our badest hollydays for this last 10 years...

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ksar Char-Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ksar Char-Bagh

Address: Palmeraie de Marrakech | BP 12478, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ksar Char-Bagh 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ksar Char-Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ksar Char Bagh Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ksar Char-Bagh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.