We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The Diwane is a very nice hotel not 4 star but very friendly. We paid for full board which was good but the food served at lunch would be served again in the evening looking a little different.We had trouble with are AirCon unit in are room at 10.00 pm and the maintenance man was there in 10 minutes good to fix the problem.
We went on a day trip to Ourika valley to see the waterfall which was nice a bout 2 hours into the Atlas Mountains but the last part to see the fall is a half an hour walk over rocks and big boulders which is very dangerous , three people from are group did not go any further but this is not told in the information.
If you like of roading go for it.
Back to the hotel, rooms are basic but good
Rooms looking towards the pool have balconies and the pool is nice and always can get a sun lounger.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    339
    131
    39
    24
See reviews for
125
286
52
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Diwane Hotel provides a good level of accommodation for the money, and it has the benefit of a 'riad' style pool area which gets you away from the hustle & bustle of the Marrakech streets.

Hotel was clean but basic, with a really nice pool area, and the restaurant food was decent quality but limited. Lots of salads (and stir fried peppers with spices for breakfast!), breakfast - eggs, beans, fruits, 'turkey ham' & cheese, or Morrocan pancakes, evening dinner - tagines, fish, chicken, lots of veg, salads, soup.

Be sure to get a room over-looking the pool (room no.'s 101-105, 201-205, 301-305, 401-405 or 501-505) as these are on the opposite side of the hotel from the busy (noisy) road & have a nice view of the pool / outdoor courtyard area.

Don't be fooled this is not a luxurious hotel, and is not really in line with English 4** hotels, but it is 'nice', clean & is an affordable place to stay within walking distance of the medina (1/2 hour), & there are plenty of Morrocan cafes / restaurants (no alcohol served) around the local vicinity. But the hotel does sell alcoholic drinks, & directly opposite the hotel is Hotel Renaissance which has a 'sky bar' on the 6th & 7th Floors, which you can drink & eat at whilst overlooking the whole of Marrakech! This is a nice place to end the day & watch the sunset.

Don't be put off by some of the other reviews on this site. Our experience was good, & if we did want to go back to Marrakech again, we would definitely stay here again.

PS. If you don't like the heat don't go in July... 40+ most days! Hot hot hot! Thank goodness for the cool pool.....

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room over-looking the pool (room no.'s 101-105, 201-205, 301-305, 401-405 or 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have just got back from a 5 night/6 day stay at Hotel Diwane, and what a amazing time we had! Every single member of staff was delightful; they were polite, courteous and bent over backwards to ensure we were happy. The hotel was very clean; housekeepers were out from the crack of dawn washing down the pool area, terraces, as well as inside the hotel. Our rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels left daily. The food was amazing especially the breakfast and the head chef is 10/10. very friendly and delighful. The front desk are also very helpful. Thank you.
I wouldn't hesitate to a) recommend this hotel to others and b) return for another visit! I think the value for money is outstanding. I will be coming back next year with my girls again and this time 10 of us.
This place deserves a yearly visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

On arrival staff booked us in very quickly explaining that restaurant was still open for dinner. Staff in general were friendly and helpful.

Dinner was a bit dried up as we were later than most guests. Breakfast buffet was amazing and lunch good too.

The pool area was cleaned every day but loungers and cushions hadn't seen soap and water this side of.Christmas. However towels were available every day by the pool.

On the first morning we met with Said to learn about trips available. I have to say he was a wealth of knowledge on local history and where to go and what to see. No pressure to buy trips.

We phoned the next day to book half day tour of souks, palace, tombs and gardens. I would recommend this tour. Well worth it. Our guide was brilliant.

I would return to Marrakesh but perhaps a month earlier as July is very hot for walking about.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and great value for money. The breakfasts good but evening buffet very repetitive. Hotel spotlessly clean. Nice pool area. Shame the clientele like to have their I phones blaring, dive bombing competitions and towels on sunbeds from a ridiculous hour of the morning. This should not distract from this review. A good honest hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Positives: Clean, rooms good with balcony, quiet, easy to walk to bus and train station, Jardin Majorelle and main old city square, nice decor in main entrance and hall.
Negatives: Pool small, same entertainment every night (terrible), food was so bland and nothing Moroccan at all, wine/alcohol was four times the price of supermarket, constantly wanting a tip, little and bland atmosphere, spa was European prices.
Just use as a place to sleep with good showers air con etc. Dont think about having an entertaining time here as you won't. Bring food and drink into the hotel in your own bags and you wont have a problem. The taxi drivers outside the hotel are pushy and we never took one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

positive- hotel is in a great location with easy access to the city jema al fanaa and other tourist attractions. 5 min walk to the new shopping mall which has recently opened.

negative- house keepers are thief's watch out! The house keepers will pinch argan oil. I was lucky I had a cupboard with a key so would lock everything away. watch out for the security guards they can get violent I witnessed a fight between a security guard and 2 girls. the security officer hit 1 of them. the breakfast is disgusting ( scrambled egg looks like vomit) security will not allow you to take bottled water to your room.
my overall rating is 2 out of 5...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#112 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#194 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.