We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
A TripAdvisor Member
“Weekend Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nice hotel in great location not quite 4 star by UK standards more like 3 stars, but we found to be a great base for exploring the city would recommend. Had my birthday and they provided nice bowl of fruit and special touches to the room on the day that was nice surprise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    306
    113
    35
    22
See reviews for
107
250
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I just returned from Marrakech for a birthday break and stayed at the Diwane Hotel in room 408. It was part of a wowcher deal and I was extremely impressed. It looked gorgeous from the outside and the lobby, and the rooms were just as nice ,especially for the price paid.

The staff are extremely friendly especially Zoubida who is the check in girl (looks a bit like Kim Kardashian) was an absolute sweetheart. As it was my birthday I asked and got a room upgrade at no extra cost and even the maid put her creative juices to work to make our room and bathroom look extra lovely by scattering rose petals and towel swans which was nice to see my birthday being acknowledged. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The only downside I would say is there is no wifi in the room you need to go down to the hotel lobby to use it.

There was an excellent breakfast buffet of hot and cold food in the morning which had a very wide rage - complete with pancake chef!

The pool looked very clean, a bit smaller than it appears in the images but still a good size with nice surrounding areas.

The location is very good its in the newer part of Marrakech, only 20 min walk to the el Fna Sq and old town. Lots of shops and restaurants close by.

All in all I would stay here again no question!

Well done Diwane!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

First time to Marrakech and didn't know what to expect….. Lovely place, very pleasant, friendly hotel staff. The roads a laugh a minute with literally no lanes or rules it appears. The hotel was super. Clean, tidy, very spacious. The room again was spacious, over looking the pool and courtyard. The breakfasts were a buffet style with cereal, bread, cheeses, bit of cooked food and tea/coffee and juices. Lunch and dinner are also available everyday. There are snacks etc available all day.
Very centrally located as the red open top bus tours start/stop1 is right outside. Walking distance to pretty much everything though.
There is however a lot of construction going on all over the city. This wasn't too much of a burden but expect to be woken up at sun rise :-). Overall a clean, tidy and friendly hotel. Bon Appetite

Room Tip: A room over looking the pool as the sun will be on the room all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in 512 (top floor overlooking courtyard/pool/building site/Atlas mountains. 3/2/14 - 6/2/14.
Wife & I needed a quick cheap break to the sun. She researched it & booked it so if it wasn't good then I could blame her. Having read some of the reviews on here I was a tad nervous but as we were only there for 2 days 3 nights I thought it wouldn't matter if it was rubbish as we'd be home before we knew it.
This is what we found: staff friendly & helpful. The hotel itself was ultra clean and has that Moroccan feel to it. If you're expecting 5* then look elsewhere but if you want somewhere that's clean with friendly staff & plentiful food, located right next to the major bus routes then this one will do you just fine.
The food is traditional so there's no attempts at emulating English food (McDonald's & Pizza Hut not too far away if you can't do without) it's buffet style and a bit repetitive so if you are there for more than a few days then plan to eat out every now and than.
The room was large tiled and had an en-suite which included a bath/shower sink toilet & bidet. Large balcony with table & chairs overlooking pool area.
There is a flat screen plasma (2 English speaking channels - BBC News & Films on Channel 2)
There is a small fridge for keeping you bottle of water/booze in. If you want hot drinks in your room than bring a travel kettle & some tea/coffee as this is not provided.
If you are discreet then you won't have any problems bringing alcohol/drinks/snacks into the hotel - just don't sit in reception munching and drinking and expect to be ignored.
There's is a heat exchanging air conditioner which is simple to use - set the temp you want & voila that's the temp you get.
The room can suffer from road & local building noise but it's not a major problem if you do enough walking to tire you out!!!
The maids clean the room every day and change bed linen & towels too.
On the whole a nice clean hotel which is well located & is a 3* at a push but definitely not a five. Remember you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I went as a part of a groupon deal and the negative reviews surprised me and I wound up expecting the worst. Instead, I was pleasantly surprised and had a good stay. Yes, it is not quite 4 star and is more a 3.5 star but the at front desk and the door are helpful, the rooms are clean and there is a decent choice for breakfast. The decor is not as beautiful as some of the 5 star hotels in the area but it is value for money and the location is great as even though it is in Gulez, which is the posh part of the city, the old town and the souks are a mere twenty minute walk and the majorelle gardens are fifteen minutes away by foot. One thing though which Groupon does not specify - there is a tax of 33 dirhams to pay to the hotel for the stay but it is not much in pounds and was fine by us. There is a bit of noise with the footsteps on the floor but that is not the end of the world and I slept just fine.

Room Tip: choose a room by the pool facing the courtyard inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Diwane hotel is located in a great area, not all the staff are very nice some are very miserable some are very friendly and always smiling the service is great the food is not great, unprofessional chefs but the presentation is very professional, we got all inclusive but spent most of our money on food outside, there is a lot I can say but if I do ever visit Marrakech again I will not be going back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My wife and I booked our trip to Marrakech for our birthdays through Groupon late last year. There have been some negative reviews of late, but we found the hotel and staff to be very good.

The decor is a little tired admittedly, and one or two of the staff could be brusque, but the rooms were clean and tidy, and the hotel itself is well located in the new town, only 15 minutes or so walk from the old town.

We had flower petals were scattered on our bed on arrival, and a lovely chocolate cake was left in our room for our birthdays, and the staff in the spa were excellent. My wife and I enjoyed a Hammam and couples massage.

We booked half-board, but with the expectation that given how cheap a place Marrakech is that we would eat out. Judging by the breakfast buffet I think this was the way to go. The breakfast included a limited selection of pastries and rolls, with continental meats, Moroccan pancakes made to order and eggs. It's not the most plentiful selection I've ever seen, but enough for a light breakfast before you head out for the day.

Overall, we were pleased with what we got for our money and we would stay there again. In response to those who complain at lack of tea and coffee making facilities in rooms, and having to haggle in the souks, I can only despair, if you go to a country that is culturally different to your own, you can't expect everything to be like it is 'back home'.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#107 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#196 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.