We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean and friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice, clean and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just got back from a five night stay here. We arrived late evening but there was no trouble with checking in etc. Friendly reception staff. Once we put our bags in the rooms, we decided to have a quick walk round the vicinity to suss it out. When we left the hotel that night (around 10.30pm) the guy on reception told us it wasn't safe for four young girls to walk outside at night. We decided to go against his warning and can say we didn't experience any trouble. The only issue was that we received a few comments from the local men (even though we were well covered etc).

The hotel was well situated for restaurants and taxis. Some places were within walking distance but beware of fake guides. If they see tourists looking remotely lost, they will try and guide you (which at first seems really helpful until they then ask you for 200 dirham!).

Hotel staff were friendly and made the experience enjoyable. If you want to take food and drink into the hotel, be discrete as they don't like this.

The rooms are spacious and fresh towels given each morning. It can be quite noisy due to the construction works going on next door but nothing a pair of earplugs can't sort out (or if you leave the aircon on, you probably won't hear much of the noise). The rooms are a nice size and the bathroom is quite private. We had a pool facing room on the third floor, very nice.

Breakfast was nice with a mixture of eggs, cake, pastries, fruit, bread,meats etc. Tended to be the same sort of thing each day but always very nice.

All in all, lovely hotel with some beautiful features. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    289
    103
    32
    22
See reviews for
103
235
48
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I love this hotel for many reasons, the Hotel staff are amazingly friendly and helpful especially Mounia (Reception), Rachid (concierge) Kalahid (Reception) and all other staffs. They are an asset to this hotel. I felt at home and it felt like they were my extended family. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you are aware that hotels in Morocco have to charge a Tourist Tax which most of the time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the hotel and had a room on the first floor facing the pool.
Plus: nice pool, good sized rooms, pleasant staff, well served by the bus to get to Jaama El Fna, very clean, problems identified were resolved quickly, good breakfast, very good cold buffet at night, pleasant lobby, wi-fi actually worked in our room so no need to go to lobby, near a supermarket (Acima), small fridge in room, meals could be taken outside on terrace
Areas of improvements: air conditioning was noisy, beds were not very comfortable, warm buffet at night was average

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel was a little basic and there are better hotels to stay in Marrakech. However, the style of the hotel was nice and authentic, but food was not good and hygiene left a little to be desired. Staff were lovely and friendly and the hotel was very clean. Rooms were a decent size and would recommend asking for a room with a pool view on the lower ground floors where you may also pick up the wifi signal and not overlook the rubbish strewn building site beside the hotel.
We stayed in October and the weather was warm albeit cool in the morning and evenings.
It was a noisy location which carried on into the evenings with shouting and dogs barking which is probably unavoidable due to it's central location.
The airport is very close a bus service operates a direct service very cheaply or negotiate a cheap taxi ride (apx. 70 dirhams - 5-6 stg. one way). We booked the tour operator's transfer bus which was expensive and after all the drop offs/collections took about 45 minutes. Also when using taxis - negotiate, tell them what you would like to pay for a ride, and don't be taken for one!

Room Tip: Lower ground rooms have better views and can pick up wifi. Choose balcony or bigger room without ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice place to stay, located on very good position. Definitely there is in need of refurbishment, however, it is still offers very pleasant stay. Rooms are decorated in the traditional still and lobby is great place as well as the terrace. Personnel is definitely more professional and responsive than than it has been experienced in other Moroccan hotels, with workable and prompt room service. Food is variation of the same standard one that can be found in the middle category of the Moroccan hotels but it is fairly good. It is short stay hotel, mainly for the tourist groups, but I will recommend it as good value for the money paid. Plenty of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity is definitely additional positive side of the hotel and its location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days and were very happy throughout our stay.
Everyone at the hotel, i e.
- porters
- cleaning staff
- Staff in the restaurant
- Staff at the pool
- reception staff
basically everyone made sure that our stay was a pleasant one. Any problems were sorted out in a very efficient manner.
On a personal note, I would like to relate an incident, which proves that the staff are very considerate when faced with a situation. The incident is:-
"During our stay, I managed to upset my wife on a small matter. In order to make amends, I asked the reception staff (about 8.00 pm), if they could get some flowers for my wife and place them in the room. At that point as were going out for dinner. So, the reception staff had about 2 hours to sort out my issue.
When we returned to our room, the bed was decorated with flowers in the shapes of animals and hearts. My wife was very pleased with this intricate decoration. We took some pictures.
This shows that the staff made sure that they were able to look after their guests in a personal manner."
The cleaning staff were excellent and also very helpful.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. Personal care is excellent. It is like a family atmosphere.

Best wishes to all staff,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lindenberg i.A.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall stay mid September was ok, (unfortunately the weather was not nice).
Big minus although its not the hotels fault there is a building site right across the street so all day long starting early there is drilling and hammering- also it's central so you always hear traffic and beeping . Shame as it makes the pool that's nice less relaxing.
The doors and windows and wals let all the noise in (cleaners chatting in the hall etc.) so having a lie in is near impossible.
Big plus is very central 30mad should get you anywhere with a cab, so ideal for exploring not so much for relaxing.

Check in was friendly English was spoken but no welcome drink. as we checked in reasonably late we probably got the last room in the hotel 4th floor street view no balcony not nice, having complained we were promised a nicer room the next day as hotel was full.

Room 212 on second flor was lots nicer with balcony and courtyard view.
Hotel and rooms were clean and cleaning personal made lovely decorations on the bed one day and always provided fresh towels. No empty dishes stood for long all was cleaned away promptly.

Breakfast buffet was ok very strange they left the cling film on all the plates and bowls, as recommendation to management take it off it looks cheap and unappealing and you have enough staff. There was musli salad cheese meat vegetable egg and a lady making some sort of chapati bread fresh also nice coffe and tea.

Lunch menu is ok choice of 3 (starters, mains, and deserts).

Dinner buffet I couldn't fault lots of choice some things maybe a bit plain but there is marinated veg, chilli paste and olives that give the meal a great flavour!

The hotel has its own spa (didn't go seems nice price average 200-300 for treatments).

The pool is large with plenty of sunbeds - take music as music by the pool isn't great and again you have the noise of the building site.

Staff is relatively friendly and doesn't hassle you which is kind of nice if you want something staff is always happy to bring it the pool boy is also very attentive.

Should you stay at the hotel? If you want just a bed to stay and than explore and get a good deal for it yes, if you want to relax a bit in the hotel and want it a bit quiet or luxurious I recommend looking elsewhere. I would probably spend a bit more for a quieter place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#192 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.