We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #245 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I looked on trip advisor to check out this hotel, I found it very helpful. I would like to add that the hotel is brilliant. The staff were lovely and on our last night our waiter decorated our table with rose petals and had our drinks ready in an ice bucket, nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff. The breakfast is the best and the omelettes are lovely and freshly made with whatever you like. The reception staff were very helpful, in fact I can only praise all the staff there! I would recommend using the tourist bus which stops outside the Hotel, we went on two tours on the bus, we bought a two day pass and used the bus as a taxi. It was roughly about £15 each for two days. The tourist Information is just across the road, they were brilliant, we went in and they got us a tourist car for the day with driver for about £50, he took us to the Atlas Mountains, a local market, an Argon oil small factory which showed us how they make the argon oil.I would go back to this hotel again, the pool is lovely which was a bonus as we went in May and it was hot.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    279
    99
    31
    20
See reviews for
100
231
47
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've just returned from a Groupn Deal (by KPX Travel - yes, I know!), which was, surprisingly good right from the beginning! The Hotel Diwane is clean, pretty and traditional with lovely service and wonderful facilities.

My only criticism would be that as the hotel is so wonderfully decorated in mosaics and tiled floors, it can be echo-y and therefore noisy at night (high heels and tiles do not make for a good night's sleep!)

The food is good, though we'd have liked more fruit at breakfast and more tagines at dinner, but we liked it enough to eat at the buffet every day :)

We had a traditional hamman and massage (a couples one) in the hotel spa, which I'd thoroughly recommend. It was amazing!

All in all, a wonderful time, in a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony (there are some that don't have them!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We too went on a Groupon offer. Hotel rather tired but clean, helpful and friendly staff. Good location close to the start of the tourist bus routes which were well worth doing. Meals perfectly adequate but not memorable. Huge bed! A good choice for a cheap and cheerful few days to explore Marrakech.

Room Tip: We were on the side which was fine; rooms overlooking pool apparently had a lot of noise in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is in a nice location, not too far from a lot of the shops and a nice walk down to the souks in the evening. The entire hotel is very clean. We had booked it on an offer which included half board and the food at the hotel is pretty much second to none. Tagine is all you find when you go out for lunch or dinner, and the hotels version was easily the best we had all week. Breakfast and dinner are buffet. Breakfast includes an endless amount of food and drink, including crepes and omelettes made fresh in front of you however you like. Dinner always included different versions of the same type of food; cous cous, chicken, fish, mixed vegetables, potatoes etc.

The rooms are spacious with a clean bathroom and include a TV, fridge and a safe (which costs about 10 dirams a day if I remember correctly). Nice outdoor area to relax by the pool or eat your lunch as well as a spacious reception area in case the weather isn't so great.

The main issues with the hotel included the WiFi, which wasn't working for the first day or two when we got there, something we needed. They did however get an engineer in the next day to fix it. It did still cut off quite a lot throughout and didn't reach our room on the 4th floor so we had to go to reception every time we wanted to use it, which wasn't ideal. There are a lot of open WiFi networks nearby in cafe's you can go to in case you're desperate.

Also, whilst the manager is very nice and helpful, some of the other staff are not so great, some of whom are unable to understand English very well. On arrival we were informed we had a tax to pay that wasn't covered in our online booking which we didn't mind paying, but we asked them to confirm if we had paid online as we thought we had. We were informed we would be reimbursed if they were wrong. Later into the trip we were informed that we had in fact already paid but they refused to return the money in cash and only gave us credit, which we didn't really need as we already had half board.

Overall, a clean hotel with good food and a helpful manager however I would probably try staying elsewhere if I was to return.

Room Tip: Maybe somewhere below the 4th floor if you want the WiFi to reach your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through a groupon deal so I was a tiny bit apprehensive, I'm glad to say I was wrong! A great hotel in a brilliant location for all things new town. Our room was lovely, well equipped and very clean, the staff were all wonderful, genuinely friendly and always willing to help. Breakfast was delicious and the pool area was lovely to relax by.

This hotel is the perfect base to explore what Marrakech has to offer, avoid getting the tourist bus that stops right outside, it's a rip off 140dh for 48 hours, instead the staff told us to get the public bus (route number 1) from just across the road...it was just 4dh and drops you right off at Jamaa el fna.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone :)

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor facing towards the pool which had great views and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here with some friends on a Groupon deal. It was our friends 60th Birthday while we were there. The hotel is of a reasonable standard. The lunch was better than the dinner and you can choose which you take on the half board option. it was our first time in Marrakech and it wasnt a place we warmed to although some people do like it. The hotel electrical sockets are very poorly fitted so beware you can get an electric shock very easy. Hotel staff were quite friendly and overall it was an ok place to stay for the price we paid. Marrakech is not very clean and people wee in the street. The Market is an experience but be very careful with you purses and wallets our friend got pick pocketed to the tune of £200!! at the market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Hotel is great value for money and very nice Moroccan style. Pool area and outside restaurant bit are lovely with palm trees and really does feel cut off and peaceful from the manic city. Rooms were also nice and decorated in Moroccan style - very clean, lots of hot water. Reception staff were extremelly helpful and could speak English very well. There aren't that many sunbeds but most of the time you could get one - one side was in the sun in the morning and the other in the sun in the afternoon. However I did see the pool boy reserving sunbeds for people in prime position from first thing in the morning even when the people weren't turning up until 3/4pm if at all which I thought was a little unfair.

Rooms
We were put in room 102 which is just above the reception area and restuarant. After the first night and getting pretty much no sleep due to the sound from the reception area travelling up - it sounded like there was a party going on down there with hundreds of people when in reality is just a few people - just the way the sound travels. We asked to move higher up - they quickly moved us to 403 which was definitely quieter but we could still hear plenty of hotel noise.

Food
Breakfast was simple but very nice. Fresh orange juice, omellettes, eggs, croissants etc. Definitely enough variety for staying a few days. We also had a pizza for lunch there one day which was delicious. We didn't eat dinner here at all.

Spa
I would not reccommend the spa. It is still quite expensive - I had a relaxation massage. The ladies phone went off 5 times during the treatment and it was very cold in the room - I was then ordered to pay her a tip by another man standing there.

Location
It is in a good location. It is at least a 30 minute walk to the Jamaa el Fna square (and we walk quickly). Other reviews on here said it was 15-20 minutes but there is no way you could walk it in that time. The Majorelle (YSL) gardens are a 10 minute walk which are definitely worth a visit. The tourist bus tour stop for all routes is literally right outside the door of the hotel which is brilliant.

For Marrakech in general I would definitely reccommend taking a French dictionnary - if only for the restaurants as a lot of places only had menus in French and as I don't know much French it was hard to work out what things were.

Room Tip: I would ask for a higher number, 501, 502 etc or even better over 511 but then I think those rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#96 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#196 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.