We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #247 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I booked a last minute honeymoon, so weren't entirely sure what to expect.

The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and the hotel was always extremely clean. I stupidly booked a twin room in error and they immediately switched us to a double.

The food at both the buffet and the restaurant were fantastic. Best to get to the buffet as soon as possible though as all the best food goes fast.

Only thing that could have been better is for the pool to have longer opening times and maybe be a bit warmer.

We had a fantastic time in Marrakech and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    241
    90
    27
    19
See reviews for
85
206
42
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel far exceeded our expectations. From the website we were prepared to be stuck in the middle of a large resort rather than in the middle of everything which is what we wanted. Everything is immaculately clean and the staff are really pleasant and helpful. Didn't eat as there were a lot of really nice restaurants within walking distance, but have no complaints at all about the breakfast. If we were to return to Marrakech we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was not too far from Marrakech airport but airport cab (big ones) asked for MAD 200. Was greeted by a porter, who helped with our luggages without asking for tips. Had to show passports and fill in a form upon check in. Receptionist speak just about okay English with very heavy Moroccan accent but was very polite and willing to help. Currency exchange service was available and the rate was good. The hotel used keys, the old-fashioned way. There was only one very slow lift at the corner of the lobby. Corridors were extremely dark (and thus felt unsafe). Locks on doors were not entirely functional as often you have to fiddle you way round before the door could be unlocked...but the good thing was that there was free wifi in the hotel lobby!

The room was very spacious with huge wardrobe with lots of storage space. Hangers were provided. There was a minibar in the hotel. Bed was huge and comfortable. Each room had a small balcony with a table and chairs. Also there was a air cond and a heater. The toilet was large as well, but not very clean especially the bath tub. Stains were quite visible. Shower gels, shampoo, soaps (that had a very strong smell) and a hair dryer was provided. Funny thing was the bins did not come with bin liners.

The hotel was just off the main road and was 30 mins walk away from the medina, but to save time, calling a cab would be around 30-40MAD. If you want something local, a supermarket is just 5 mins down the road.

And now the disastrous part, the breakfast buffet. The restaurant was spacious, and there was a bench serving cold food and another serving hot food. Cold food available: croissants, pain au chocolat, butter cake, cookies, luncheon meat, bitter cheese, salad (lettuce, cucumber, tomato slices etc), yogurt, corn flakes, milk, homemade butter sitting within ice cubes, jam spread, marmalade, bread and bread rolls. Honestly, the pastries were the worst that I have ever eaten and the cheese was extremely bitter. The homemade butter was worth a try though. Hot food available: cook-on-the-spot omelette (with choice of onion, capsicum, cheese), hard boiled eggs, indian sort of fried bread taken with honey. The omelette was tasteless and was way too oily. Pepper did not taste fresh as well. Cheese was utterly bitter. Drinks available: orange juice, apple juice, hot chocolate, coffee, tea, mint tea.

All in all, you get what you pay for. I wouldn't recommend this hotel much, especially to female travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this hotel was really quite presentable. The room was spacious and clean but as a 4 star hotel it lacked in basics such as a pen and notepaper, no water in the room, and not very helpful reception staff. The food was varied and very good, the staff in the restaurant helpful and attentive. The pool area was like an oasis in the city but at this time of year too cold to swim!! A drink by the pool side warly evening helped us relax after a busy day. Getting about from here was very easy and in fact the 'city sight seeing' tour bus had a stop just outside which was very convenient. DO NOT take travellers cheques, i know this is a bit 'old fashioned' but we were advised in the UK to use them however NO BANKS OR THE HOTEL WOULD ENTERTAIN THEM!!!!!!!!!!! we were lucky to have some cash and a debit card which we used in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Spent 4 days at Hotel Diwane in mid-January. Lovely buffet breakfast, then a few hours by the pool getting lots of winter sun (pool is only for the brave this time of year of course). Then a quick trip into the centre of the city to be in the midst of the ancient market. View of High Atlas mountains all around. It is a great place for winter break which is both exotic and relaxing. The hotel is very clean, the staff are extremely helpful and we thought it was rightfully 4 star. We liked it alot. Ask staff anything, especially about what price to expect to pay for things....if we had asked more, we probably would have saved some dosh! Even though 50 dirhams (£4.80) didn't feel like an expensive taxi ride to us when we 'bargained' it , it should have been more like 25 dirhams...so live and learn. And take advantage of the staff's local knowledge to help you out. Beds are hard, clean, starched cotton sheets and lots of clean towels. Hairdryers in the bathroom. No bad points about hotel and did see tortoise in garden!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel was full of helpful, friendly staff and was generally clean and presentable. The food left a little to be desired - overcooked dishes for dinner, stale rolls for breakfast. To balance this though - the hammam was great value, and the bar excellent. Money changing available at the reception and tourist bus right outside the door! Try the local shops for water, soft drinks etc. Took 15-20 mins to walk to the medina - definietly recommended to get the full flavour of Marrakech! Fabulous break away :-)

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are in this hotel at the moment on our city break, so it's hot/fresh review.
Hotel is not too far from the city center (famous Jemna el Fna market), on foot about 25 min, by bus 5min (bus number 1 and 16, every 15mins, single fare is 4 dirhams, which is about 50p, the bus stop is nearby hotel). We don't use taxi because it's more expensive, about 30 dirhams in the city.
Very important: at the airport when you gonna look for a taxi first price is always 150 dirhams, but remember that you have to haggling. Normal price should be about 60. You can also take bus nr 19, costs 30 per person, one way.
Room is definitely not modern, rather in old Moroccan style, but very clean, towels changed every day, air condition works properly.
Food (option HB), is brilliant for people who want to try special Moroccan tastes, plenty of vegetables, meats, herbs (especially dinners). You gonna get free coffees, teas, juices, milk etc. with your breakfast, but with lunch/dinner you have to pay. Anyway food is great.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
We're really disappointed because we couldn't find the tortoise at the garden, but we're still looking for him... ;)
No bad points about this hotel.
M+T

Room Tip: Our room is number 101 and there is WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech
Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#250 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.