We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are in this hotel at the moment on our city break, so it's hot/fresh review.
Hotel is not too far from the city center (famous Jemna el Fna market), on foot about 25 min, by bus 5min (bus number 1 and 16, every 15mins, single fare is 4 dirhams, which is about 50p, the bus stop is nearby hotel). We don't use taxi because it's more expensive, about 30 dirhams in the city.
Very important: at the airport when you gonna look for a taxi first price is always 150 dirhams, but remember that you have to haggling. Normal price should be about 60. You can also take bus nr 19, costs 30 per person, one way.
Room is definitely not modern, rather in old Moroccan style, but very clean, towels changed every day, air condition works properly.
Food (option HB), is brilliant for people who want to try special Moroccan tastes, plenty of vegetables, meats, herbs (especially dinners). You gonna get free coffees, teas, juices, milk etc. with your breakfast, but with lunch/dinner you have to pay. Anyway food is great.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
We're really disappointed because we couldn't find the tortoise at the garden, but we're still looking for him... ;)
No bad points about this hotel.
M+T

Room Tip: Our room is number 101 and there is WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    368
    137
    42
    24
See reviews for
140
306
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I was not sure about the hotel when we first arrived he bathroom could do with a refurb, but everything else is great.

The staff are really helpful and friendly great information on buses and excursions. The cleaners do a great job on the room every day. But best of all the food is fabulous the chefs must work really hard. We paid for half board not a great deal more expensive, but really worth doing.

Marrakech is so hectic it's nice to come back and relax. If we came back I would defiantly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in Jan 2013 with my eldest son.
Good accommodation and centrally placed.
Friendly and helpful staff - would stay here if I went back to Marrakech.
Managed to upgrade the room without any fuss

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony - only small bit does allow you to sit outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed in Diwane Hotel for 4 nights with my family. It was a lovely stay I would recommend it. The staff were all so friendly and nice, each of them were always willing to go the extra mile. The hotel itself looks very traditional and beautiful, especially the garden area. Theres also a little tortoise that comes out in the grass area every afternoon, very cute!

We opted for a half board deal. This was nice as we got to to chose lunch or dinner whenever we wanted. The food was nice but lunch was much better than dinner. The lunch menu varied every day and consisted of a three course meal which was always beautifully presented. Dinner was a buffet and ok. During breakfast we were served these really nice morrocan pancakes with honey and lovely mint tea and a wide selection of other things.

I was a bit aprehensive at first as a lot of reviews claimed the beds were too hard and uncomfortable. However me and my family thought they were perfectly fine. I was able to sleep through the night without any problems. The cleanliness of the hotel is very good. Most the sheets and towels seemed to be brand new and always smelling fresh. The cleaners always left the rooms spotless and did some amazing bedsheet art :)

I booked two excursions through the hotel. One was a quad biking experience which was amazing, the other was a trip to Ourika Valley and a trek up the atlas mountain to see the waterfall (extra 50 dirhams, around £4.30) which was worth it and very fun. We all ended up paying £47 each for both excursions which was very reasonable and saved the trouble of looking around and haggling for a better price outside the hotel. The quad biking experience was really fun and lasted for around 3 hours. In between we also went to a lovely garden and had mint tea, olives and bread. The trip to Ourika Valley was lovely. We visited a berber house and had tea and bread, went to a medicinal centre to buy argan oil, herbs etc (dont get too carried away, we nearly did), we then had a camel ride (extra 100 dh) then treked the mountain (make sure you wear appropriate footwear) and then had lunch in a lovely rooftop overlooking the mountains(not included). Try the lemon chicken tagine if you go! Also if you were planning to buy little souveniers/decorated plates etc buy it during your trek. We bought so many things for really cheap. In comparison to the local shops in Marrakech we made HUGE savings.

We also tried the spa treatments in the hotel. It was lovely and leaves your skin feeling amazing. For a full hammam we paid around £12 and a VIP treatment with massages etc was around £29. Also if your flight is late you can leave your things with reception. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and the staff were exceptionally good and will hopefully go back soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up for a good view and overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Diwane Hotel lived up to our expectation as a 4star hotel, with a swimming pool and excellent breakfast. Staffs at reception are very helpful and they provided us with all the information we needed. Taxis arrangement for us when we depart was made well. We have enjoyed our stay in Diwane Hotel. It's a distance from Medina (old town quarter) but taxis in Marrakech is really cheap. It cost us 30MAD (3euros) one way, when shared with 3, its ridiculously cheap!
Rooms are excellent and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

African food good but simple.
Kind personel and good service.
verry clean and good location.
Bus stop touristic tour marrakech front hotel.
No entertainment.Nice pool hammans massage and free fitness................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

cant fault this hotel for the good price we paid for it, staff are very friendly and helpful, room clean, food good, tourist bus stops outside the hotel, central location, overall we had a great week here,,,

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Suite Novotel Marrakech
Suite Novotel Marrakech
#316 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#350 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#357 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#282 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#365 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#368 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#114 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#137 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#184 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.