We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Will be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed in Diwane Hotel for 4 nights with my family. It was a lovely stay I would recommend it. The staff were all so friendly and nice, each of them were always willing to go the extra mile. The hotel itself looks very traditional and beautiful, especially the garden area. Theres also a little tortoise that comes out in the grass area every afternoon, very cute!

We opted for a half board deal. This was nice as we got to to chose lunch or dinner whenever we wanted. The food was nice but lunch was much better than dinner. The lunch menu varied every day and consisted of a three course meal which was always beautifully presented. Dinner was a buffet and ok. During breakfast we were served these really nice morrocan pancakes with honey and lovely mint tea and a wide selection of other things.

I was a bit aprehensive at first as a lot of reviews claimed the beds were too hard and uncomfortable. However me and my family thought they were perfectly fine. I was able to sleep through the night without any problems. The cleanliness of the hotel is very good. Most the sheets and towels seemed to be brand new and always smelling fresh. The cleaners always left the rooms spotless and did some amazing bedsheet art :)

I booked two excursions through the hotel. One was a quad biking experience which was amazing, the other was a trip to Ourika Valley and a trek up the atlas mountain to see the waterfall (extra 50 dirhams, around £4.30) which was worth it and very fun. We all ended up paying £47 each for both excursions which was very reasonable and saved the trouble of looking around and haggling for a better price outside the hotel. The quad biking experience was really fun and lasted for around 3 hours. In between we also went to a lovely garden and had mint tea, olives and bread. The trip to Ourika Valley was lovely. We visited a berber house and had tea and bread, went to a medicinal centre to buy argan oil, herbs etc (dont get too carried away, we nearly did), we then had a camel ride (extra 100 dh) then treked the mountain (make sure you wear appropriate footwear) and then had lunch in a lovely rooftop overlooking the mountains(not included). Try the lemon chicken tagine if you go! Also if you were planning to buy little souveniers/decorated plates etc buy it during your trek. We bought so many things for really cheap. In comparison to the local shops in Marrakech we made HUGE savings.

We also tried the spa treatments in the hotel. It was lovely and leaves your skin feeling amazing. For a full hammam we paid around £12 and a VIP treatment with massages etc was around £29. Also if your flight is late you can leave your things with reception. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and the staff were exceptionally good and will hopefully go back soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up for a good view and overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    263
    96
    31
    20
See reviews for
93
224
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Diwane Hotel lived up to our expectation as a 4star hotel, with a swimming pool and excellent breakfast. Staffs at reception are very helpful and they provided us with all the information we needed. Taxis arrangement for us when we depart was made well. We have enjoyed our stay in Diwane Hotel. It's a distance from Medina (old town quarter) but taxis in Marrakech is really cheap. It cost us 30MAD (3euros) one way, when shared with 3, its ridiculously cheap!
Rooms are excellent and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

African food good but simple.
Kind personel and good service.
verry clean and good location.
Bus stop touristic tour marrakech front hotel.
No entertainment.Nice pool hammans massage and free fitness................................

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

cant fault this hotel for the good price we paid for it, staff are very friendly and helpful, room clean, food good, tourist bus stops outside the hotel, central location, overall we had a great week here,,,

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We loved our two weeks at Hotel Diwane and would return anytime. This is a traditional hotel, everywhere you look there is something interesting to look at. Wooden carved ornate ceilings, mosaic walls and floors... Large clean room with balcony, huge bath, large shower over. Small fridge. Clean white towels, thick cotton white bedding, pillows as new .... slept nearly 10 hours many nights, so comfortable. Most hotels abroad, we find put single beds together to create double! We ate all the breakfast salad every morning, home made curd cheese, fresh rolls, butter honey ... pancakes, it was simple and perfectly done. We exchanged all money at hotel. Manage to get wifi on landing, save going down to reception. The staff were 100% friendly, helpful and fun to engage with. Mounia and her team at reception - brilliant. Pool spotless. A traditional hammam massage at the hotel on day 1 was a great start.

We got water from local supermarket, and wine now and then. We ate out at small local places and would definitely recommend Chez Mohamed at Rue Ben Alcha oppostie clinic, (ask for Chekspire) wonderful tagines - all traditional food, sit out and watch the world go by, directions from hotel front door, turn right and right again, end of road, directly on left corner. Nearby a shop wraps cold beer in newspaper to take away. We ate roasted salted nuts from the street sellers, fresh orange too but no ice or water and only salad at hotel breakfast. We were not ill at all and did not meet anyone who was. If you can't bear food without alcohol being served, since best food we found was away from hotels and large restaurants, you will miss out. Very female friendly area, we met single women and female friends on holiday.

Hotel is at a brilliant location, 15 minute walk to Majorelle Gardens (Yves St Laurent), we took the tourist bus to get our bearings and stopped off at many of the destinations, then picked it up again - excellent. We found the No 1 local bus opposite hotel by paper stand took us to Jemaa El Fna square for about 3 Dirhams and brought us back to newspaper stand almost outside our hotel, easier than haggling for taxi sometimes, but it is within walking distance - 25 mins? We ate at the square - great fun, but could do with sign "we have eaten" since they try every way to get you to eat at their site - had to harden up a bit here. The Ben Youssef Madrassa was a joy to visit, as the Art exhibitions.

Hotel Diwane is a small oasis amidst all the hot, dusty hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We got a great deal with Thomas Cook and the flight was with British Airways. Our transfers were perfect - just us, so straight from airport to hotel - 20 mins.

Room Tip: We had balcony room overlooking courtyard and pool on higher floor, but all rooms looked lovely, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Can't fault the hotel for the price. Beautiful lobby very stylish. Staff very helpful, nice sized clean rooms. Fantastic location. We had an overall great stay. And as for the last review marking it down on hard mattresses pay no attention, beds are fine unless your insanley picky

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I booked a two week half board holiday at this hotel based on a thorough trawl through other visitors reviews and all I can say is, they must have been staying somewhere else!
Whilst I agree with some of the points made,for example :- the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly, there are a lot of things which seem to have been left out.

Our main bone of contention was with the beds, on our first night we were given a room with twin beds which were just pushed together and were so hard we did not sleep at all well.
We asked for a change of room the next morning which, to the hotels credit was given straight away without argument. ( the question is why were we not given this on arrival? the hotel was clearly not full)
The new room was brighter and had a larger balcony, all seemed well until that night, when we were again unable to sleep properly due to the hardness of the matress and the single pillow we each had.
By the next morning we were exhausted through lack of sleep which was not helped by the constant drilling coming from the building site opposite our balcony.
I made enquiries with other guests who stated that they too were finding it hard to sleep on the beds,one lady told me that she had resorted to drinking a bottle of wine to get off to sleep and also to spending a fair amount of time by the pool to catch up on her sleep because she found the foam matresses on the loungers more comfortable than her bed!!
I have since revisited old reviews and can only find the odd reference to the matresses being a bit "firm", am I missing something??
The food was on the whole very good, I have been to Egypt a few times and think that the Diwane food is above average for North Africa.
Expect to pay triple the price for beer, water and wine in the hotel, better by far to buy from the nearby supermarket.
A small beer in the hotel cost around 25 Dirhams,the same bottle is 9 in the shops
they will charge 125 Dirhams for a below average red wine which you can get for around 40 and water is sold for around 20 Dirhams for 2 litres and will cost you 8 maximum a few yards from the hotel.
The gym equipment is old and half of it does not work, to the point were I would say avoid it in case you get injured.
A stay in Marrakesh is interesting to say the least but I think about 5 days would be long enough here.
There is a tourist sightseeing bus which stops almost outside the hotel, use this to get your bearings in and around the city, it is not expensive and out of season they reduce the advertised prices.
When booking a hotel take off at least one star from the rating to reflect European levels!

A visit to the "Place Jemaa El Fna" is a must, don't be afraid to take a walk around all the shops in the covered alleyways, they are perfectly safe and really colourful.
You will be approached by locals wanting to show you the best shops, be polite but refuse their help as they will just take you to shops who pay them to do this, walking around on your own is far more enjoyable.
Never pay more than half of the first price asked when haggling and be prepared to walk away ( it is surprising how low the price will become as you try to leave the shop, if you are the shy and retiring type this might not be the place for you !)
In general the Moroccan people are really pleasant and friendly and do not hassle tourists as much as other similar countries, however they are very aware of European prices and this is represented in what they try to get you to pay for their goods.

Having said this I must return to the hotel itself.
It is in a good location, clean, nice staff and reasonable food, but I simply can't get by how uncomfortable the beds are.
I was recovering from a back injury and found it getting steadily worse as the days went by, my wife also began to suffer with aches and pains and we were both getting more and more desperate to get some sleep.
After 5 days of this we decided to cut our stay short and had to pay £500 extra to change our Sleazyjet flights and return home.
I can honestly say that I have no regrets in coming home to the U.K, I have travelled extensively in undeveloped countries over the years and have slept on the ground and been more comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#92 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#96 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#203 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.