We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Can't fault the hotel for the price. Beautiful lobby very stylish. Staff very helpful, nice sized clean rooms. Fantastic location. We had an overall great stay. And as for the last review marking it down on hard mattresses pay no attention, beds are fine unless your insanley picky

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    299
    105
    33
    22
See reviews for
103
243
49
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I booked a two week half board holiday at this hotel based on a thorough trawl through other visitors reviews and all I can say is, they must have been staying somewhere else!
Whilst I agree with some of the points made,for example :- the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly, there are a lot of things which seem to have been left out.

Our main bone of contention was with the beds, on our first night we were given a room with twin beds which were just pushed together and were so hard we did not sleep at all well.
We asked for a change of room the next morning which, to the hotels credit was given straight away without argument. ( the question is why were we not given this on arrival? the hotel was clearly not full)
The new room was brighter and had a larger balcony, all seemed well until that night, when we were again unable to sleep properly due to the hardness of the matress and the single pillow we each had.
By the next morning we were exhausted through lack of sleep which was not helped by the constant drilling coming from the building site opposite our balcony.
I made enquiries with other guests who stated that they too were finding it hard to sleep on the beds,one lady told me that she had resorted to drinking a bottle of wine to get off to sleep and also to spending a fair amount of time by the pool to catch up on her sleep because she found the foam matresses on the loungers more comfortable than her bed!!
I have since revisited old reviews and can only find the odd reference to the matresses being a bit "firm", am I missing something??
The food was on the whole very good, I have been to Egypt a few times and think that the Diwane food is above average for North Africa.
Expect to pay triple the price for beer, water and wine in the hotel, better by far to buy from the nearby supermarket.
A small beer in the hotel cost around 25 Dirhams,the same bottle is 9 in the shops
they will charge 125 Dirhams for a below average red wine which you can get for around 40 and water is sold for around 20 Dirhams for 2 litres and will cost you 8 maximum a few yards from the hotel.
The gym equipment is old and half of it does not work, to the point were I would say avoid it in case you get injured.
A stay in Marrakesh is interesting to say the least but I think about 5 days would be long enough here.
There is a tourist sightseeing bus which stops almost outside the hotel, use this to get your bearings in and around the city, it is not expensive and out of season they reduce the advertised prices.
When booking a hotel take off at least one star from the rating to reflect European levels!

A visit to the "Place Jemaa El Fna" is a must, don't be afraid to take a walk around all the shops in the covered alleyways, they are perfectly safe and really colourful.
You will be approached by locals wanting to show you the best shops, be polite but refuse their help as they will just take you to shops who pay them to do this, walking around on your own is far more enjoyable.
Never pay more than half of the first price asked when haggling and be prepared to walk away ( it is surprising how low the price will become as you try to leave the shop, if you are the shy and retiring type this might not be the place for you !)
In general the Moroccan people are really pleasant and friendly and do not hassle tourists as much as other similar countries, however they are very aware of European prices and this is represented in what they try to get you to pay for their goods.

Having said this I must return to the hotel itself.
It is in a good location, clean, nice staff and reasonable food, but I simply can't get by how uncomfortable the beds are.
I was recovering from a back injury and found it getting steadily worse as the days went by, my wife also began to suffer with aches and pains and we were both getting more and more desperate to get some sleep.
After 5 days of this we decided to cut our stay short and had to pay £500 extra to change our Sleazyjet flights and return home.
I can honestly say that I have no regrets in coming home to the U.K, I have travelled extensively in undeveloped countries over the years and have slept on the ground and been more comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from a week in Marrakech stating in this hotel. Location excellent, within 25 mins walking distance to the Medina and Souks, and plenty of nearby restaurants.Our double room was clean and bed firm yet comfortable, there was loads of hot water and the bathroom was very clean also with daily towel change.The staff were most helpful, and we arranged two full day trips through the hotel, one to Essouira on the coast, and the other to Ourika Valley. Breakfasts were good, but the evening buffet is not a good idea, not good quality or value for money.Meals in the little bistro place were better, but a restricted menu although they did great chips.We ate out mostly, and liked the Piccolo Italian place very much. (Turn right out of hotel then second or third ?right) Drinks in the hotel were not cheap (not just here, we found £4 for a small bottle of beer the norm) and there is no bar as such, although you can have drinks with nuts and olives on the terrace without having to order a meal, although it closes at 10pm.We resorted to smuggling a few bottles in from the Victoria wine shop down the road which was totally against hotel rules ! However, the staff were all lovely, friendly and welcoming and we really enjoyed our stay. Would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location could not have been any better, central for all buses including the open top City Tour. Decent size rooms, very clean, towels changed daily. We chose B/B, plenty of food, eggs fried, boiled or omlette, toast, cereal, crispy bread rolls, sweet pastries, catered for all. Good evening meal menu, spag bol delicious. The buffet leaves a lot to be desired, I personally only eat beef which was grisly and cut in chunks and chewy (bit like stew meat) the vegetable selection was poor. Lots of salad, pastas and things included though unlabelled. Sweet consisted of blancmange and vanilla slices cut in half- all this for £14/15 not exactly a gourmet meal. Staff on reception were very helpful, polite and pleasant. Good to be able to change money here. No information leaflets displayed on where to visit during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice stay, big and clean rooms, good staff, wifi in lobby and restaurant, location 30 min on foot from city centre, nice pool, noizy but big rooms, hard beds, hotel restaurant = good (repetitve tastes at dinner).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

before i start and go into more detail, may i just say that the diwane is an excellent choice for a first time stay in morocco. it is incredibly well placed 30 min walk to the souk,with a supermarket about 5 min down the road, lots and lots of restaurants and cafes within spitting distance. also it is, opposite the renaissance hotel, (which has an amazing roof terrace which serves cocktails and drinks) you can get a free map from the tourist information opposite, ( easily recognised by its red facade).
if you want a cab (petit taxis) walk away from the hotel and flag one down. this means you will get a working driver rather then one who’s hanging around outside an attraction hoping for a large payday. they are by law required to use their meter (le counter). don’t pay any more than 20-25dh. a lot of them will try to charge you 40 or even more. just say ’non merci’ (it helps if you have a bit of french as most don’t speak english) and get out, there will be another one along in a minute, quite often the driver is then also then prepared to drop the price. remember everything is haggleable in morocco.
the diwane is on the surface a very impressive place, large entrance hall, comfy sofas arranged in groups, shiny stone floors, magnificent chandelier hanging from the ceiling.
our main reason for choosing it was for it’s excellent gym facilities. we like working out first thing and then having breakfast afterwards.
however on the first day we discovered that the gym does not open until 10am and breakfast finishes about the same time. when we asked reception for a key so that we could get in earlier they said the rules would not allow it. they suggested that we write a letter of complaint to management. the chap who is in charge of the hammamm and gym was even less helpful his main interest was trying to sell us his spa services. we did try out the equipment once, the space is warm to the point of uncomfortable it being very close to the sauna. half the equipment isn’t plugged in or working, in fact some machines had large weights from the weight training equipment placed on them, you figure.
the room we were given was reasonably spacious, a bit outdated but generally well equipped, beds have firm mattresses and we even had a small balcony, not enough hangers in the cupboard and only one synthetic pillow per person. i asked housekeeping for 2 more so we could sit up in bed and read and some extra hangers. to our surprise the pillows which arrived were feather ones. the bathroom had seen better days and could have done with a deep clean, mosaic tiles, white and forest green. you can rent a safe for about £12 a week. there are no kettles in rooms, in fact it states at the entrance that no food or drink was to be brought in from the outside and beverages consumed to be bought at the hotel. we ignored that and no one said anything. on the first couple of nights the staff put petals on the bed which was a nice touch.
the air conditioning unit was very noisy.
on the day we arrived we tried the restaurant for lunch.i had the spaghetti bolognese and my partner the kefta skewers. the pasta was soggy, nearly disintegrating on the plate with a tiny amount of tomato sauce in the centre, the cheese was of indeterminate origin slightly resembling mild cheddar. the keftas had a sweaty perspiring look and were swimming in grease, the chips which came with it were the cheapest of their kind. i think we lost the will to live at that point as we hadn’t eaten since 6 in the morning and were absolutely starving, apart from breakfast we never ate in the hotel again.
music is played at a fairly high level thoughout restaurant and pool areas through very poor speakers
for breakfast you won’t get you full english, but they did do a nice omelette, coffee is very weak, teabags are available, fresh yogurt served in a large bowl, orange segments on a platter freshly squeezed orange juice, delicious.
also available are toast, french bread, reconstituted meat masquerading as ham, danish pastries and little cakes, didn’t see any cheese.

we asked reception to phone a hammann in town and make an appointment. when we went to have our massage and rubdown the staff then told us that the hotel had asked for a cut. now i can understand that the hotel would have arrangements with various businesses in town but i don’t think they had a previous relationship with this spa. this incident left as feeling slightly uneasy and we never asked reception to make any more arrangements.

if the food would have been just bit nicer i would have hesitation of given an extra star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

No real howlers, room clean and tidy. Bath is abit stained though. Room is large and with fairly high ceilings. Good views of the pool. Some building work going on near by so is slightly noisy. Food is fairly varied and hot. Lifts are troublesome, sometimes working. Othertimes not. got stuck in one once but was released after around 5 mins. Would i go back. YES

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#99 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#102 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#189 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.