We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came home early !!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Surrey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Came home early !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I booked a two week half board holiday at this hotel based on a thorough trawl through other visitors reviews and all I can say is, they must have been staying somewhere else!
Whilst I agree with some of the points made,for example :- the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly, there are a lot of things which seem to have been left out.

Our main bone of contention was with the beds, on our first night we were given a room with twin beds which were just pushed together and were so hard we did not sleep at all well.
We asked for a change of room the next morning which, to the hotels credit was given straight away without argument. ( the question is why were we not given this on arrival? the hotel was clearly not full)
The new room was brighter and had a larger balcony, all seemed well until that night, when we were again unable to sleep properly due to the hardness of the matress and the single pillow we each had.
By the next morning we were exhausted through lack of sleep which was not helped by the constant drilling coming from the building site opposite our balcony.
I made enquiries with other guests who stated that they too were finding it hard to sleep on the beds,one lady told me that she had resorted to drinking a bottle of wine to get off to sleep and also to spending a fair amount of time by the pool to catch up on her sleep because she found the foam matresses on the loungers more comfortable than her bed!!
I have since revisited old reviews and can only find the odd reference to the matresses being a bit "firm", am I missing something??
The food was on the whole very good, I have been to Egypt a few times and think that the Diwane food is above average for North Africa.
Expect to pay triple the price for beer, water and wine in the hotel, better by far to buy from the nearby supermarket.
A small beer in the hotel cost around 25 Dirhams,the same bottle is 9 in the shops
they will charge 125 Dirhams for a below average red wine which you can get for around 40 and water is sold for around 20 Dirhams for 2 litres and will cost you 8 maximum a few yards from the hotel.
The gym equipment is old and half of it does not work, to the point were I would say avoid it in case you get injured.
A stay in Marrakesh is interesting to say the least but I think about 5 days would be long enough here.
There is a tourist sightseeing bus which stops almost outside the hotel, use this to get your bearings in and around the city, it is not expensive and out of season they reduce the advertised prices.
When booking a hotel take off at least one star from the rating to reflect European levels!

A visit to the "Place Jemaa El Fna" is a must, don't be afraid to take a walk around all the shops in the covered alleyways, they are perfectly safe and really colourful.
You will be approached by locals wanting to show you the best shops, be polite but refuse their help as they will just take you to shops who pay them to do this, walking around on your own is far more enjoyable.
Never pay more than half of the first price asked when haggling and be prepared to walk away ( it is surprising how low the price will become as you try to leave the shop, if you are the shy and retiring type this might not be the place for you !)
In general the Moroccan people are really pleasant and friendly and do not hassle tourists as much as other similar countries, however they are very aware of European prices and this is represented in what they try to get you to pay for their goods.

Having said this I must return to the hotel itself.
It is in a good location, clean, nice staff and reasonable food, but I simply can't get by how uncomfortable the beds are.
I was recovering from a back injury and found it getting steadily worse as the days went by, my wife also began to suffer with aches and pains and we were both getting more and more desperate to get some sleep.
After 5 days of this we decided to cut our stay short and had to pay £500 extra to change our Sleazyjet flights and return home.
I can honestly say that I have no regrets in coming home to the U.K, I have travelled extensively in undeveloped countries over the years and have slept on the ground and been more comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    360
    135
    42
    24
See reviews for
136
301
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned from a week in Marrakech stating in this hotel. Location excellent, within 25 mins walking distance to the Medina and Souks, and plenty of nearby restaurants.Our double room was clean and bed firm yet comfortable, there was loads of hot water and the bathroom was very clean also with daily towel change.The staff were most helpful, and we arranged two full day trips through the hotel, one to Essouira on the coast, and the other to Ourika Valley. Breakfasts were good, but the evening buffet is not a good idea, not good quality or value for money.Meals in the little bistro place were better, but a restricted menu although they did great chips.We ate out mostly, and liked the Piccolo Italian place very much. (Turn right out of hotel then second or third ?right) Drinks in the hotel were not cheap (not just here, we found £4 for a small bottle of beer the norm) and there is no bar as such, although you can have drinks with nuts and olives on the terrace without having to order a meal, although it closes at 10pm.We resorted to smuggling a few bottles in from the Victoria wine shop down the road which was totally against hotel rules ! However, the staff were all lovely, friendly and welcoming and we really enjoyed our stay. Would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Location could not have been any better, central for all buses including the open top City Tour. Decent size rooms, very clean, towels changed daily. We chose B/B, plenty of food, eggs fried, boiled or omlette, toast, cereal, crispy bread rolls, sweet pastries, catered for all. Good evening meal menu, spag bol delicious. The buffet leaves a lot to be desired, I personally only eat beef which was grisly and cut in chunks and chewy (bit like stew meat) the vegetable selection was poor. Lots of salad, pastas and things included though unlabelled. Sweet consisted of blancmange and vanilla slices cut in half- all this for £14/15 not exactly a gourmet meal. Staff on reception were very helpful, polite and pleasant. Good to be able to change money here. No information leaflets displayed on where to visit during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice stay, big and clean rooms, good staff, wifi in lobby and restaurant, location 30 min on foot from city centre, nice pool, noizy but big rooms, hard beds, hotel restaurant = good (repetitve tastes at dinner).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canterbury
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

before i start and go into more detail, may i just say that the diwane is an excellent choice for a first time stay in morocco. it is incredibly well placed 30 min walk to the souk,with a supermarket about 5 min down the road, lots and lots of restaurants and cafes within spitting distance. also it is, opposite the renaissance hotel, (which has an amazing roof terrace which serves cocktails and drinks) you can get a free map from the tourist information opposite, ( easily recognised by its red facade).
if you want a cab (petit taxis) walk away from the hotel and flag one down. this means you will get a working driver rather then one who’s hanging around outside an attraction hoping for a large payday. they are by law required to use their meter (le counter). don’t pay any more than 20-25dh. a lot of them will try to charge you 40 or even more. just say ’non merci’ (it helps if you have a bit of french as most don’t speak english) and get out, there will be another one along in a minute, quite often the driver is then also then prepared to drop the price. remember everything is haggleable in morocco.
the diwane is on the surface a very impressive place, large entrance hall, comfy sofas arranged in groups, shiny stone floors, magnificent chandelier hanging from the ceiling.
our main reason for choosing it was for it’s excellent gym facilities. we like working out first thing and then having breakfast afterwards.
however on the first day we discovered that the gym does not open until 10am and breakfast finishes about the same time. when we asked reception for a key so that we could get in earlier they said the rules would not allow it. they suggested that we write a letter of complaint to management. the chap who is in charge of the hammamm and gym was even less helpful his main interest was trying to sell us his spa services. we did try out the equipment once, the space is warm to the point of uncomfortable it being very close to the sauna. half the equipment isn’t plugged in or working, in fact some machines had large weights from the weight training equipment placed on them, you figure.
the room we were given was reasonably spacious, a bit outdated but generally well equipped, beds have firm mattresses and we even had a small balcony, not enough hangers in the cupboard and only one synthetic pillow per person. i asked housekeeping for 2 more so we could sit up in bed and read and some extra hangers. to our surprise the pillows which arrived were feather ones. the bathroom had seen better days and could have done with a deep clean, mosaic tiles, white and forest green. you can rent a safe for about £12 a week. there are no kettles in rooms, in fact it states at the entrance that no food or drink was to be brought in from the outside and beverages consumed to be bought at the hotel. we ignored that and no one said anything. on the first couple of nights the staff put petals on the bed which was a nice touch.
the air conditioning unit was very noisy.
on the day we arrived we tried the restaurant for lunch.i had the spaghetti bolognese and my partner the kefta skewers. the pasta was soggy, nearly disintegrating on the plate with a tiny amount of tomato sauce in the centre, the cheese was of indeterminate origin slightly resembling mild cheddar. the keftas had a sweaty perspiring look and were swimming in grease, the chips which came with it were the cheapest of their kind. i think we lost the will to live at that point as we hadn’t eaten since 6 in the morning and were absolutely starving, apart from breakfast we never ate in the hotel again.
music is played at a fairly high level thoughout restaurant and pool areas through very poor speakers
for breakfast you won’t get you full english, but they did do a nice omelette, coffee is very weak, teabags are available, fresh yogurt served in a large bowl, orange segments on a platter freshly squeezed orange juice, delicious.
also available are toast, french bread, reconstituted meat masquerading as ham, danish pastries and little cakes, didn’t see any cheese.

we asked reception to phone a hammann in town and make an appointment. when we went to have our massage and rubdown the staff then told us that the hotel had asked for a cut. now i can understand that the hotel would have arrangements with various businesses in town but i don’t think they had a previous relationship with this spa. this incident left as feeling slightly uneasy and we never asked reception to make any more arrangements.

if the food would have been just bit nicer i would have hesitation of given an extra star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

No real howlers, room clean and tidy. Bath is abit stained though. Room is large and with fairly high ceilings. Good views of the pool. Some building work going on near by so is slightly noisy. Food is fairly varied and hot. Lifts are troublesome, sometimes working. Othertimes not. got stuck in one once but was released after around 5 mins. Would i go back. YES

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Diwane hotel offers a good base to explore Marrakech.

Summary:

Arrival - Marrakech airport is relatively small and if you are arriving at the same time as other flights, it is likely you will be backed up at security. Took us 40 mins to get through, which was a touch long for my liking, but by no means excessive in relative terms. As you cannot get the Moroccan Dirham outside of Morocco, we exchanged some of our pounds at the airport, which offered a reasonable, commission free rate - you can get better rates at the hotel or in the centre of Marrakech, but not significantly different. We decided to take bus number 19 to the hotel. If you go out of terminal 1 and turn left, the bus is a short 50 metres walk and is signposted. Return costs 50 MAD (£3.80) per person, takes about 35 mins (could vary depending on number of drop offs), and stops outside the Diwane. Taxis are also available, but we didn't price them (very cheap to get around the centre of Marrakech in a petit taxi, but I believe they are tariffed at the airport and a bit more expensive).

Food - Overall, I was a touch disappointed with the food provided by the hotel. We went on a HB basis, which did allow you to take the breakfast and then choose between either lunch or dinner, which I though was a good, flexible option, but the standard was low. Breakfast consisted mainly of continental options e.g. bread, cakes, croissants, pancakes etc. There was a chef who cooked fresh omelettes, which were okay, but apart from that, not really to my taste. The fresh orange juice was refreshing. The dinner is a buffet option containing fish, beef, and chicken, along with salad, soup, pasta and rice. The soups were generally really nice, but the meats weren't great, which meant a struggle for me to enjoy it.

Room - We were allocated a great room on the fifth floor that overlooked the nice courtyard. It was spacious, had AC, a plasma TV (for those that spend time watching TV on holiday, there is the BBC world news and an English movie channel), and a fridge, which was very useful for chilling drinks. The balcony was quite large, and the bathroom was also of a good standard. Maid cleans and changes towels daily. Overall, was impressed by the room.

Location - Situated in the Gueliz district, in the north west of the centre of Marrakech, and about 20 minutes walk from the Djemaa el fna square. There is a supermarket (ACIMA) about 10 minutes walk from the hotel (take a left then first left again and walk straight), there are also various restaurants close by, and you are not far from the main train station or shopping malls. Gueliz is still in development and I think is classified as the modern area of the city, but it can look scruffy in areas, but we found it safe and a good base.

Entertainment - There isn't any entertainment at the hotel, and the hotel does wind down pretty quickly after dinner. You can have some drinks in the courtyard, but there is a lack of ambience. Better to go out and explore if liveliness is what you're after.

Excursions - Unless you enjoy soaking up the sun at the pool, which can be good in Marrakech with its late 30 degree temperature when we went in September, it is best to try and explore the city as there is a lot to offer:
1) Ourika Valley - This is a great trip and well worth the money. Based at the bottom of the Atlas mountains, it involves a trip to a herbal garden, a berber's (indigenous North African people) and a beautiful waterfall trip. Takes up a full day and costs around 200 MAD (£15.20). Note the hotel offers this trip at 270 MAD, but better to book outside of hotel to get cheaper, or at the very least negotiate the price with the hotel, which they are willing to do (everything in Marrakech is negotiable).
2) Majorelle Gardens - Very small and won't take up a lot of time, but for 50 MAD (£3.8) I think it was worth a visit and isn't too far from the hotel (a bit further on from the ACIMA supermarket).
3) Essaouira - Supratours take you there in about 2 hrs 45 mins for 70 MAD (£5.3) each way. There is a beach there and a lot of markets. Wasn't overly impressed by this trip, but if you have time then it allows you to see another place in Morocco. Book your return ticket when you arrive in Essaouira.
4) Local Hammam - We went to the Hilton Hammam, which is modern and a bout a 20 minute walk north from the hotel on avenue mohammed. For about an hour session, it cost 250 MAD (£19) for a sauna, wash, scrub, and a massage. You can get this cheaper in other places, and especially local places, but we were recommended this and thought the price was okay. Was definitely an experience, but preferred the Turkish baths to this.

Miscellaneous:
-The driving standards in Marrakech seem a touch questionable and you have to be wary of the motorcyclists. Should be okay if you watch out for it, but be careful.
-Morocco is quite an open country and can be internationalised in some areas. Yes, they have their local customs and religious beliefs, but in general, possibly due to the income brought in by tourists, they seem quite accepting to the western culture.
-Being honest, I didn't find the local people overly friendly or sometimes appreciable of your custom. This is quite a general remark, but they can get worked up if they are unable to sell you something, they try and rip you off (negotiate on everything and agree the price and content in advance of accepting/participating), will stare at you in the street, and even the hotel staff aren't overly friendly, other than the young lady at reception who was really nice. Just be careful with them and appreciate their customs and religion and you should be fine.

In summary, I was surprised by Marrakech in that I enjoyed even more than I thought I would, and for the price we paid at the Diwane, it is hard to complain really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#335 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suite Novotel Marrakech
Suite Novotel Marrakech
#312 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 944 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
Hotel Marrakech le Semiramis
#355 of 480 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#281 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#232 of 480 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#363 of 480 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#116 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#136 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#187 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.