We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Appraisal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Honest Appraisal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Diwane hotel offers a good base to explore Marrakech.

Summary:

Arrival - Marrakech airport is relatively small and if you are arriving at the same time as other flights, it is likely you will be backed up at security. Took us 40 mins to get through, which was a touch long for my liking, but by no means excessive in relative terms. As you cannot get the Moroccan Dirham outside of Morocco, we exchanged some of our pounds at the airport, which offered a reasonable, commission free rate - you can get better rates at the hotel or in the centre of Marrakech, but not significantly different. We decided to take bus number 19 to the hotel. If you go out of terminal 1 and turn left, the bus is a short 50 metres walk and is signposted. Return costs 50 MAD (£3.80) per person, takes about 35 mins (could vary depending on number of drop offs), and stops outside the Diwane. Taxis are also available, but we didn't price them (very cheap to get around the centre of Marrakech in a petit taxi, but I believe they are tariffed at the airport and a bit more expensive).

Food - Overall, I was a touch disappointed with the food provided by the hotel. We went on a HB basis, which did allow you to take the breakfast and then choose between either lunch or dinner, which I though was a good, flexible option, but the standard was low. Breakfast consisted mainly of continental options e.g. bread, cakes, croissants, pancakes etc. There was a chef who cooked fresh omelettes, which were okay, but apart from that, not really to my taste. The fresh orange juice was refreshing. The dinner is a buffet option containing fish, beef, and chicken, along with salad, soup, pasta and rice. The soups were generally really nice, but the meats weren't great, which meant a struggle for me to enjoy it.

Room - We were allocated a great room on the fifth floor that overlooked the nice courtyard. It was spacious, had AC, a plasma TV (for those that spend time watching TV on holiday, there is the BBC world news and an English movie channel), and a fridge, which was very useful for chilling drinks. The balcony was quite large, and the bathroom was also of a good standard. Maid cleans and changes towels daily. Overall, was impressed by the room.

Location - Situated in the Gueliz district, in the north west of the centre of Marrakech, and about 20 minutes walk from the Djemaa el fna square. There is a supermarket (ACIMA) about 10 minutes walk from the hotel (take a left then first left again and walk straight), there are also various restaurants close by, and you are not far from the main train station or shopping malls. Gueliz is still in development and I think is classified as the modern area of the city, but it can look scruffy in areas, but we found it safe and a good base.

Entertainment - There isn't any entertainment at the hotel, and the hotel does wind down pretty quickly after dinner. You can have some drinks in the courtyard, but there is a lack of ambience. Better to go out and explore if liveliness is what you're after.

Excursions - Unless you enjoy soaking up the sun at the pool, which can be good in Marrakech with its late 30 degree temperature when we went in September, it is best to try and explore the city as there is a lot to offer:
1) Ourika Valley - This is a great trip and well worth the money. Based at the bottom of the Atlas mountains, it involves a trip to a herbal garden, a berber's (indigenous North African people) and a beautiful waterfall trip. Takes up a full day and costs around 200 MAD (£15.20). Note the hotel offers this trip at 270 MAD, but better to book outside of hotel to get cheaper, or at the very least negotiate the price with the hotel, which they are willing to do (everything in Marrakech is negotiable).
2) Majorelle Gardens - Very small and won't take up a lot of time, but for 50 MAD (£3.8) I think it was worth a visit and isn't too far from the hotel (a bit further on from the ACIMA supermarket).
3) Essaouira - Supratours take you there in about 2 hrs 45 mins for 70 MAD (£5.3) each way. There is a beach there and a lot of markets. Wasn't overly impressed by this trip, but if you have time then it allows you to see another place in Morocco. Book your return ticket when you arrive in Essaouira.
4) Local Hammam - We went to the Hilton Hammam, which is modern and a bout a 20 minute walk north from the hotel on avenue mohammed. For about an hour session, it cost 250 MAD (£19) for a sauna, wash, scrub, and a massage. You can get this cheaper in other places, and especially local places, but we were recommended this and thought the price was okay. Was definitely an experience, but preferred the Turkish baths to this.

Miscellaneous:
-The driving standards in Marrakech seem a touch questionable and you have to be wary of the motorcyclists. Should be okay if you watch out for it, but be careful.
-Morocco is quite an open country and can be internationalised in some areas. Yes, they have their local customs and religious beliefs, but in general, possibly due to the income brought in by tourists, they seem quite accepting to the western culture.
-Being honest, I didn't find the local people overly friendly or sometimes appreciable of your custom. This is quite a general remark, but they can get worked up if they are unable to sell you something, they try and rip you off (negotiate on everything and agree the price and content in advance of accepting/participating), will stare at you in the street, and even the hotel staff aren't overly friendly, other than the young lady at reception who was really nice. Just be careful with them and appreciate their customs and religion and you should be fine.

In summary, I was surprised by Marrakech in that I enjoyed even more than I thought I would, and for the price we paid at the Diwane, it is hard to complain really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    331
    125
    39
    24
See reviews for
116
275
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool england
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Returned from Marrakech Thurs eve. Was apprehensive before going as we where 2 women not knowing what to expect. We found everyone to be really friendly and polite. The hotel staff could not have been nicer. The hotel courtyard was very pretty and a welcome retreat after the heat and hustle and bustle outside the hotel. We only stayed B&B and found the breakfast very nice. We did the bus tour around Marrakech which is right outside the hotel and helps you get your bearings. You can jump on and off throughout the tour and always a welcome breeze on the top deck. We where a bit nervous when first going to the Medina but where so surprised as we didnt really get hassled at all, We smiled a lot and got a lot of smiles back we treated everyone with respect and felt we got treated the same. We ate out every evening at different restaurants (you can only get alcohol in the hotels) however did find a restaurant that sold Sangria and after that we are both ill. (forgot Ice and fresh fruit in). We booked a day trip to the Atlas mountains through the hotel which cost 270 dirhams each. We where picked up by a minibus with 5 other people. We really enjoyed this trip and stopped off at the same places as everyone else the Berber house and the Herbal garden and then had lunch on the banks of the river. We also went to Yves St Laurent's house which is worth seeing (however you can't go inside). As an Animal lover I did get upset seeing the monkeys in the medina with chains around their necks and the horses pulling the carriages (one got hit by a car) so we didn't stay too long in the medina. I am glad I've been to Marrakech it is an experience but I wouldn't go back. 37 degrees at 7.30 in the evening it was too hot for me. Beware of the dutyfree shop at Marrakech Airport. They put your Alcohol in plastic carrier bags unsealed so I had mine taken off me. You can pay for food in the airport in Dirhams but the Dutyfree shop will only accept English Pounds or Euros and will only give change in Euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here at the end of May, only for one night. Everything was ok, but nothing was good nor bad. The bedroom was comfortable, but the furnishings are very tired. The bathroom was huge and relatively modern compared to the rest of the hotel. Everything was clean. We were on the 4th floor so the traffic noise didn't bother us, but you are completely overlooked on the balcony by practically every other room, whatever floor. Breakfast was in a vast souless room, with the option of eating outside, which is very pleasant in a courtyard setting, but not enough tables for the size of the hotel. All the usual buffet stuff, with hot cooked to order options, nothing special, but nothing bad. The main advantage this hotel has is its location which is great. The tourist bus stop is just outside, Majorelle gardens are "apparently" close by;- we followed the directions the hotel gave us to drive there, and almost an hour of driving later- we got hopelessly lost- we arrived, after the hotel had assured us it was a ten minute walk! The hotel is ok, but for a little more money, we had a much better experience in a riad. This location though is much nicer than the riads. We were glad we tried both.

Room Tip: Get a room high up, to avoid the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband & I have just spent 10 days at the Diwane Hotel & had a lovely stay! The rooms are airy & a reasonable size, the bathroom has everything you need including a hairdryer, body wash & shampoo.

The maid service is daily which includes fresh towels...2 bath towels, 2 hand towels & a floor towel as the shower head in our room seemed to have a mind of it's own & sprayed the floor a little too!

The staff are lovely, very helpful & seem to speak a large variety of different languages,although French is the predominent language spoken by most staff, but a little arm waving & pointing seemed to get us by as we both learnt German at school!!

We booked on a Bed & Breakfast basis, the breakfast is a buffet style with the usual suspects, European pastries, bread rolls, jam, cheese, meats, salads, cereals, the only fresh fruit I ever saw was sliced orange, but they do have a lovely lady making fresh pancakes & a man who will cook you an omlette there & then, there are also hard boiled eggs available & a very old toasting machine which does take a while to toast! We also had chilled water, chilled freshly squeezed orange juice, tea, coffee & Moroccan mint tea to drink...I really couldn't find fault with any of it!
The hotel has 2 restaurants, the larger where buffet meals are served & a smaller one where a more western variety of food are available, as well as drinks & desserts...this is much cheaper to eat at than the buffet, but the buffet you can eat as much as you like so both have plus points!

There is a well equipped gym for the strong amongst the travellers using the hotel...we had a look, but that was as far we went. The spa looks very nice too & offers a wide range of treatments for both men & women...you can get it cheaper elsewhere, but it is very convenient being in the hotel so it's swings & roundabouts really. The pool is well maintained & cleaned daily - beware it is freezing though...which is blessing in the heat of the day, but can take your breath away to start with! There are sunloungers & chairs & the pool man provides you with a towel on request. The gardens again are well maintained & the hotel has two tortoises too!

The city we found a liitle overwhelming & busy, but the hotel is near enough to walk in to the centre in approx 15 mins, but far enough away to not feel quiet so 'full on' hectic!

The only disappointment for me was that we were given twin beds rather than a double, but to be honest it seems a trifle really!

All in all we have a fab honeymoon & can't thank the hotel staff enough for looking after us so well & making us feel so welcome. Thank you very much!!!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool, which we have been told are quieter...but remember in Morocco everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Used this as a base for our 2 week stay in Morocco and would recommend> Very clean, friendly staff who really appreciate it if you try to speak French, they even managed to get my partners son his phone back after he left it in a cab.
The area around has several really good restaurants within 10 min walks so just go B&B like us.
All in all a really nice Hotel. we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We had Garden Rooms which are quiet and have free WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Fabulous hotel and staff were fantastic. It was our honeymoon and every night before went for dinner we had a bottle of wine bought out to us with a friendly welcome. So helpful and very kind. We stayed here at the hotel and was B&B so was there breakfast. We were made omletts every morning which was lovely but not much else to eat unless you like pastries and cake for breakfast! cant complain though!

Reception were amazing and so helpful when asking where good to go and always asked us how we were and had a laugh. And again had a warm welcome when we arrived as they new it was our honeymoon.

We went on a few trips, one being the camel ride which was an 'experience' to say the least. Very funny and what an amzing morning it was. We then went to the Water Fall which i warn you is a long coach ride away but so worth it. They take you down to the bottom and you can swim (if your brave enough) and then hike back up to the top for lunch. Its definalty a must see.

The local restaurents are all french so if english like we are its very difficult to know exactly what your getting, not many english speaking waiters out there! Try and find the resturant/bar opposite McDonalds which is about 10 minute walk from the hotel and they have tubes coming from the ceiling with water/mist which is a god send as its very warm still in the evening!

All in all a brilliant experience to Marrakech but be warned...... HOT HOT HOT!!!! Hope you enjoy The Diwane Hotel as much as we did xxx

Room Tip: Ask for Pool view as noise from the street is very load
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Overall stay in this hotel has been very good - aside from a few minor cons, mostly to do with treatment from some of the staff here.

We arrived at night - even at this late time the reception staff were very helpful (and continued to be throughout our stay - speaking fluent English and French). Although we had booked the balcony rooms we chose the inter-connected rooms for the family and this was done without any major hassle - the rooms themselves were large and spacious along with the bathrooms. Rooms service was also pleasantly surprising as the maids evidently cleaned them very well and all of our possessions were safe (despite not using the safe). Air conditioning was paramount in the extreme heat of Marrakech! The TV programmes were interesting despite the fact that we couldn't understand most of it as there were none in English - however, seeing BBC2 was a welcome comfort as well as a few films (albeit repeated every night) including The Devil Wears Prada etc.Although wi-fi is available in the reception lobby we found we could get a fairly decent signal just outside our room if we positioned ourselves near the balcony outside the rooms.

Regarding food - as previous reviews have mentioned, it can get a bit repetitive. Breakfast was our favourite - lunch was an unfortunate downer as nothing of the menu was in English and we had to enlist several staff to gain any understanding. Compared to the breakfast and evening options, we did not favour the lunch option - it's much more convenient and nicer to make use of the buffet, especially with our half-board booking. Personally, for our tastes we found the evening food a bit bland - and often had to laden it with many different spices and fruits/salads to form a 'tasty' meal. We often ate out as a result. Water was expensive at 20dh a bottle - however, it's a hotel - what else can be expected?

As for the staff - a mixed view. Whilst the reception staff and even some of the waiters were very helpful we experienced a very hostile and fluctuating treatment from other waiters/porters. It was more frustrating to notice that such treatment was not extended to other 'non-white' members - the waiters would repeatedly smile and check upon them whilst not even giving a glance in our direction, or when doing so, with a face that looks as if it has never smiled. Quite sad really - apart from the skin colour there wasn't really anything to differentiate us from the other guests - or perhaps we had not experienced such discrimination back home which is why we felt hurt at this. However, apart from this the rest of the staff really went out of their way to help us and make us feel comfortable during our stay.

The location of the hotel is also superb - just outside is the stop for the Red City Tour Bus which departs frequently to take you around Marrakech's main sights. It's also next to the main road and it only takes 15-20 minutes at a leisurely pace to reach McDonalds and the main shopping district.

So overall, a wonderful stay at a very nice hotel - tainted slightly by one or two of the staff members - but other than that, it can't be faulted. Would return again if we ever visited Marrakech in the future.

NOTE: Djaame El Fanaa is a must visit - an 'experience' to say the least and we returned there a few times during our stay, if only to stand back and watch the city come alive at night. Haggling is a must - especially for the caleches nearby and the orange juice stalls are a welcome treat. In particular, we were particularly impressed with Abdul at Stall No. 50 - not only was he particularly helpful and very generous he was very friendly and definitely outshined some of the other more stingy stalls. So do spend time going to the different stalls before you decide on one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#110 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#115 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#199 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.