We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diwane Hotel

Save Saved
You added Diwane Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Diwane Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Horley - UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good hotel in good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Spent 4 nights in March 2012, B&B. Good hotel for the price and the location. Staff professional, courteous and helpful. Hotel located in Gueliz, the european modern quarters. Handy for the airport bus n° 19, bus n° 1 to the famous big square Djameh lafna, and the start of the city bus tour. Decent breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    273
    97
    31
    20
See reviews for
97
227
46
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

2nd visit to Marrakech - first stay was with wife so went for what was at the time #1 hotel in Marrakech according to trip advisor a riad called RIAD Noire d'voire.

This time was with brother and cousin, as a graduation present for my younger brother.

We chose the hotel, as price was cheap, location was central, and reviews were fine. as i titled it adequate, no complaints, exactly what we expected and paid for, - only thing to note is decor was dull/dated, and lighting was very dull, but otherwise no complaints at all.

indeed the hotel was as others have described "does it exactly what it says on the tin"

location is ideal, walking distance to the medina, around 20 mins, but on the same/main road called mohammed 5/6? 5 mins taxi

free wifi in reception area, breakfast was poor, pool was ok, massages/hammams are available and ok, PERFECT with freinds, older family, AS A BASE, no luxuries, but i doubt you would expect that at the price!

rooms were fine, clean, spacious, cleaned regularly. staff were nice and freindly.

no problems recommending, unless you want luxury!

ps i dont like marrakech - find it boring, only went second time, as its direct cheap flights with ryanair, its hot and only a few hours flight, its muslim, so halal food :-)

momin

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

food cold but then that is always a problem with buffet style. Could do with 'finishing touches' in the rooms like matching tiles in bathrooms, getting the paint on the wall not the skirting - small things but which make it smarter. Warm and friendly but do make sure you dont leave things lying around! Amazing they dont accept travellers cheques and nor do the banks

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in early February- two late 20's females. We got a super cheap last minute deal ( Flights and Hotel £200)and it absolutely fufilled requirements.

We asked for a room with a balcony in an email before we went - which I would recommend. The room was airy and spacious. The bedroom had twin beds pushed together, but as it was January it got quite cold in the evenings so we put on the heater which was available in the room. The bedroom and bathroom were both clean. The bath was a bit chipped, but shower was good and plenty of hot water.

The breakfast was good - pancake and omelette station, boiled eggs, toast, pastries, cereals, cheese, olives and some tinned fruit. There were also some strange juices (Cucumber,Carrot,Beetroot) which i imagine were for the detoxers - I however stuck to tea!

The location was also good for us as we didnt want to stay in the chaotic medina. It was a 25min walk to Jamal el Fna down Rue Yougoslavie. As we are young(ish) spritely things, and the weather was pleasant the walk was no problem. I dont imagine I would want to do it in the middle of summer though.
We walked this a few times, but after a long day we also got a Cab (max 100MAD) or horse and carriage back ( max 150MAD) back to the hotel.

There was a handy supermarket a few roads down ( where we bought some drinks to put in our room fridge) as well as a handy corner shop 15m down from the hotel. There were plenty of restaurants in the vacinity - so eating local wasnt a problem - however some of the more popular/expensive restaurants you have to book ( we missed out going to a recomended restaurant over the road as we didnt book ahead)

The pool was under refurb when we went - but looked nice.On one sunny day we headed up to the massive roof terrace which had amazing views of Marrakech and the Atlas mountains. As it was a Tuesday afternoon - we had the whole thing to ourselves.

Last thing is staff. The reception staff were all friendly and polite - the restaurant staff were less so.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We travelled to Marrakech for 1 week as a couple with the aim balancing the week between seeing the sights of Marrakech and taking some time to relax.

The hotel has an impressive entrance hall and feels quite authentic Moroccan. The rooms are perhaps in need of a little modernising but ours was clean and spacious with two glass doors leading to a balcony with chairs and table. Bathroom and shower were nice and clean.

There was refurbishment going on whilst we stayed which meant that we did not have access to the pool or bar, but the staff we generally very good about helping us to work around this. All of the staff we met were very friendly and spoke good English, helping us out when we tried as much French as we could manage.

The food has its good and bad points. Breakfast is standard each day, but there's plenty of choice. The usual continental selection omelettes and pancakes make in front of you. Dinner buffet could be a bit of a disappointment as it was generally a buffet. Nothing was labelled so this was tricky, especially having a nasty nut allergy. Being half board, we tended to eat out on a evening with good restaurants nearby. Lunch is usually 3 course arrangement from a set selection and was generally very nice, and beautifully presented. The chef was always around to ask questions of and was very helpful.

We opted for a traditional Moroccan Hammam in the downstairs spa and I cannot recommend this enough. For 160DH (about £12) we got a steam, rub and scrub for 1 hour (book in advance). Incredibly relaxing and we came out so clean. They had no problem with is going in as a couple. Great experience.

The open top bus goes from right outside the hotel and this is the stop for both routes. 170DH for 2 days hop-on hop-off service. Do this on day one as a great orientation of the city.

Excursions can be booked through the hotel. Pretty cheap by comparison to others and they go with a local tour company. Don't expect much more than a bus to and from with stops on the way to look at bottles of oil and the like. Depends on your expectations. Book a proper guided tour for a little more elsewhere if you want showing round properly.

The exchange at reception does great rates for Dirhams with little or no commission, plus there's a cash machine. Take cash and get it changed here for real ease.

We were allowed access to a courtesy room after we had checked out as we weren't flying until the evening. This allowed us to have a shower and change before we left. Nice service.

All in all, the poor reviews for this hotel seem to be from a few years ago. This hotel seems to have made great efforts to improve all round and it's a very pleasant place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin, Poland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I spend in this hotel only one night when I was on trip to Marrakech.

I was thinking long time what rating I should put for this hotel. AVERAGE rating it is not fair to put but VERY GOOD it is too much for this hotel so my rating is GOOD.

Hotel is located not so far away from centrum but with this evening traffic in Marrakech everywhere you must spend long time in TAXI so maybe better idea is to walk.
Close to hotel it is some pubs, restaurants and another hotels.

Hotel offer swimming pools and SPA but I was so short period that I didn't used them.
Anyway it was not possible to use becouse in swimming pools wasn't any water. It was February so I can understand this.

Food was good but not so many variables.
For breakfast was only eggs and one kind of ham and cheese.

It was possible to exchange currancy in the hotel and prices was much more better than in Agadir.

Room was good but it was very cold inside and when I tried to turn on the heater - current disappear. However they fixed it very fast.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors - nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The hotel was great and it was my favourite one out of 5 that we stayed in during our Morocco tour. We had breakfast and dinner there and the food was really good. Our room was clean, spacious and warm (we got an electric radiator). The bathroom was also clean.

The hotel has a really lovely Moroccan decor, with richly ornamented ceilings and doors in open areas.

It's located about 30 mins of walking distance from the Jamaa el Fna place. The taxis are not expensive and there is also a really cheap direct bus (but it runs only to ~10 pm).

Free wi-fi in the lobby.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Diwane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diwane Hotel

Address: 24 rue Yougoslavie | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Diwane Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently built, our four star establishment welcomes you with its typically Moroccan decoration. Its warm lines and colours, mixing Zellige Fassi, marble and mosaics, offer to the traveler a haven of peace, combining oriental charm, great comfort and wellness. The kindness of the personnel welcome you as well as the delicate smell of the mint tea which is offered to you upon your arrival already launches you in a feeling of relaxation. Your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Diwane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diwane Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diwane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.