We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more can I say?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hikaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Hikaya to your Saves list
Riad Hikaya
252 Rue Sidi Mansour | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What more can I say?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Riad is a beautiful building, exquisitely and authentically restored by John (the owner). Each day you see and learn more about the local craftsmanship that has been used. John with his local knowledge, language skills and his lovely staff provide a tranquil haven in the centre of the Kasbah area (very convenient and with direct access for taxis etc). Please read all the other comments from previous guests –I agree 100%. This was our first visit to Morocco and we hope to be back soon. Dinning on the roof terrace at sunset and hearing the call to prayer is a wonderful way to round off the day before retiring to the most comfortable bed you are likely to find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived here after six nights much further south in another Fleewinter location so this was very different. Just off the bustling, vibrant, exciting Rue de Kasbah, you step through the door to the most beautiful Riad. John gave us a great welcome before we settled in with a swim and rooftop lunch. It was hard to pluck up the courage to open that door and step back into the hustle and bustle of the city. When we did we visited the souks :- ( and ate at the Kosybar, which was good. A lovely quiet night in a gorgeous bed, delicious breakfast before a day exploring the Atlas mountains - highly recommend. With all of Marrakech to dine in, we chose to eat on the Riad's rooftop, so lovely and peaceful up there. We had the Moroccan salad starter and to be honest it is probably the nicest thing I have ever eaten. My caramelised orange tart pudding was probably the second nicest thing. Truly delicious. Stayed with three children 17, 15 and 10 - we swam lots and nothing was ever a problem. Highly, highly recommend this brilliant Riad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A lovely holiday. The riad was a retreat from the hustle and bustle of the medina outside. Everything from the warm welcome, to the beautiful decor and the facilities at the riad were excellent. We ate in the riad on our first night, and the food was great. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just returned from 3 magical nights at this riad. Our third time in Marrakech but the first time at Riad Hikaya - it will not be our last. John (the owner) was continually accommodating during our visit, providing everything from a spare travel adapter, hiring transport for dinner, to arranging for a massage in the riad therapy room (there is also a hammam if required). The rest of the staff team were also very attentive and when my husband left the banana in his fruit salad at our first breakfast, his subsequent fruit salads were banana free!

The decor is exquisite with a new feast for the eyes at every turn, with plenty of space to explore. We stayed in the Hubb room, the bath is as good as it looks in the photos. There is also good quality wi-fi throughout the riad & Sky tv (though we didn't bother with the tv).

The riad location is also great - 15 minutes max from the airport by car, a 15 minute stroll to the main square by foot and less than that to some local stores and decent eateries.

I would highly recommend this riad for decor, tranquility, service, location and I have every intention to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My partner and I spent three nights at this fantastic Riad. It is every bit as beautiful as it appears on the photos here and on their own website. Yes, the exterior gives nothing away, and may even appear disappointing on arrival, but as soon as you step inside, you are in another world. The interior decor is absolutely fabulous; everywhere you look there is something beautiful. We had a wonderful welcome from John, and were greeted with mint tea and little pastries. John and Jane were on hand throughout our visit - able to answer all our questions and give us expert and invaluable background information that really made our stay special. Indeed all the staff were wonderful - and there was a huge amount of flexibility over things like the timing of meals and where you might want to eat (inside or out). Our room was stunning and had a massive bath, wonderful shower and beautiful towels, robes and products all gorgeously presented. Every night the sumptuous cushions were removed from the bed and it was then decorated with flowers and rose petals. We advance-booked our dinner on the night of our arrival which was a really good move. This meal and all our breakfasts were delicious and had we not been so keen to try out as many restaurants as possible during our short stay, we would definitely have eaten here again. The location of the Riad is ideal - just a shortish walk from all the action and John gives really clear directions to wherever you want to go. The transfer from the airport can only have been about ten minutes too. On our second day John and Jane organised a driver to take us on a trip to the Atlas Mountains, stopping at various places en route. This proved very good value and our driver was polite and well-informed and flexible. John also found us a great Caleche (horse and carriage) and negotiated with him to take us somewhere not on their usual route - we would not have been able to sort this out as tourists, so it was much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and there was a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere day and night. Indeed the tea-lights and lanterns lit at night made it a magical experience. The pool in the centre of the Riad is lovely and refreshing to plunge into and we also enjoyed the rooftop jacuzzi and sun loungers. We hope to go back to Marrakech again soon and would not dream of staying anywhere else - this is the perfect balance of luxury and relaxation and just staying there was an experience in itself, in the way that a hotel chain could never be. We urge you to try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was the first time in Morocco for 3 out of 4 of our family and we couldn't have had a better welcome or introduction to Moroccan hospitality. The riad is a tiny walk away from the chaos of the central area, and a perfect haven inside, as well as on the roof. As everyone has said, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were all so lovely, and John was so helpful with all his advice and knowledge. The rooms were amazing, the breakfasts were the best we had on the whole of our trip (and they were all excellent countrywide!) and our children just loved every part of it. We spent three nights here and wee just felt so relaxed, and able to use it as we might use our own home, just to come and go or to hang out, whatever suited us. It was a really great stay and we really hope to be back again one day... There should be more stars available for the staff!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Behind an unassuming door lies a haven of tranquility that feels more like home than a hotel. We had 4 days here as a family in April which was a real treat. A warm welcome on arrival with a glass of mint tea, and staff that were exceptionally polite and helpful throughout our stay; infact nothing was too much trouble, even replacing one double bed with two singles for the kids.
The owners have spent 5 years refurbishing the hotel and it has been practically re-built to an incredible stand with walls and bedrooms featuring hand-painted designs, and furnished to a standard that would put most 5* hotels to shame. (See photos).
The breakfasts on the sun terrace at the top of the hotel were great - yogurts, fresh pastries and coffee, omelettes etc. We ate there one evening which was a fantastic meal; intact much better than most of the restaurants we sampled.
The roof of the hotel is a nice sun-trap with sun loungers, a jacuzzi and several tented areas to sit and read in the shade. Infact, so nice that it was hard work getting the kids organised to explore the town as they were more than happy chilling on the roof.
The location of the Riad is also great. Its about a 10/15 minute walk to the main square, which means that it is far enough away from the hustle and bustle for a bit of peace and quiet.
John, the owner organised a day trip to the Atlas mountain for us with a driver and a guide when we got there; a great day out and some spectacular scenery.
In summary: can't recommend the hotel and the staff highly enough and wouldn't hesitate to re-book.

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hikaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hikaya

Address: 252 Rue Sidi Mansour | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hikaya is a luxury boutique hotel located in the royal quarter of the medina, called the 'Kasbah', and only an easy walk from the main square, Jemaa al Fnaa, and the city's other famous landmarks. It took three years of meticulous restoration by local craftsmen and artisans, employing both age old techniques and materials, to transform the riad into what it is today. The two roof terraces, planted with orange, lemon, grapefruit and pomegranate trees, offer superb, open views onto the snow capped Atlas mountains. Guests are welcome to eat in our 'Café Des Epices'or on one of our roof terraces to make the most of the view.Included in the room rate:• Moroccan/Continental breakfast• Remote controlled air conditioning and heating for the cooler months• Fresh fruit & mineral water• Fresh flowers• "Sens de Marrakesh" toiletries• Babouche - his and hers• Flat screen tv / satellite channels• Nightly turn down service with rose petals• Ipod docking station• Free wifi internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Hikaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hikaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.