We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable & exquisite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hikaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Hikaya to your Saves list
Riad Hikaya
252 Rue Sidi Mansour | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable & exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My partner and I spent three nights at this fantastic Riad. It is every bit as beautiful as it appears on the photos here and on their own website. Yes, the exterior gives nothing away, and may even appear disappointing on arrival, but as soon as you step inside, you are in another world. The interior decor is absolutely fabulous; everywhere you look there is something beautiful. We had a wonderful welcome from John, and were greeted with mint tea and little pastries. John and Jane were on hand throughout our visit - able to answer all our questions and give us expert and invaluable background information that really made our stay special. Indeed all the staff were wonderful - and there was a huge amount of flexibility over things like the timing of meals and where you might want to eat (inside or out). Our room was stunning and had a massive bath, wonderful shower and beautiful towels, robes and products all gorgeously presented. Every night the sumptuous cushions were removed from the bed and it was then decorated with flowers and rose petals. We advance-booked our dinner on the night of our arrival which was a really good move. This meal and all our breakfasts were delicious and had we not been so keen to try out as many restaurants as possible during our short stay, we would definitely have eaten here again. The location of the Riad is ideal - just a shortish walk from all the action and John gives really clear directions to wherever you want to go. The transfer from the airport can only have been about ten minutes too. On our second day John and Jane organised a driver to take us on a trip to the Atlas Mountains, stopping at various places en route. This proved very good value and our driver was polite and well-informed and flexible. John also found us a great Caleche (horse and carriage) and negotiated with him to take us somewhere not on their usual route - we would not have been able to sort this out as tourists, so it was much appreciated. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and there was a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere day and night. Indeed the tea-lights and lanterns lit at night made it a magical experience. The pool in the centre of the Riad is lovely and refreshing to plunge into and we also enjoyed the rooftop jacuzzi and sun loungers. We hope to go back to Marrakech again soon and would not dream of staying anywhere else - this is the perfect balance of luxury and relaxation and just staying there was an experience in itself, in the way that a hotel chain could never be. We urge you to try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This was the first time in Morocco for 3 out of 4 of our family and we couldn't have had a better welcome or introduction to Moroccan hospitality. The riad is a tiny walk away from the chaos of the central area, and a perfect haven inside, as well as on the roof. As everyone has said, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were all so lovely, and John was so helpful with all his advice and knowledge. The rooms were amazing, the breakfasts were the best we had on the whole of our trip (and they were all excellent countrywide!) and our children just loved every part of it. We spent three nights here and wee just felt so relaxed, and able to use it as we might use our own home, just to come and go or to hang out, whatever suited us. It was a really great stay and we really hope to be back again one day... There should be more stars available for the staff!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Behind an unassuming door lies a haven of tranquility that feels more like home than a hotel. We had 4 days here as a family in April which was a real treat. A warm welcome on arrival with a glass of mint tea, and staff that were exceptionally polite and helpful throughout our stay; infact nothing was too much trouble, even replacing one double bed with two singles for the kids.
The owners have spent 5 years refurbishing the hotel and it has been practically re-built to an incredible stand with walls and bedrooms featuring hand-painted designs, and furnished to a standard that would put most 5* hotels to shame. (See photos).
The breakfasts on the sun terrace at the top of the hotel were great - yogurts, fresh pastries and coffee, omelettes etc. We ate there one evening which was a fantastic meal; intact much better than most of the restaurants we sampled.
The roof of the hotel is a nice sun-trap with sun loungers, a jacuzzi and several tented areas to sit and read in the shade. Infact, so nice that it was hard work getting the kids organised to explore the town as they were more than happy chilling on the roof.
The location of the Riad is also great. Its about a 10/15 minute walk to the main square, which means that it is far enough away from the hustle and bustle for a bit of peace and quiet.
John, the owner organised a day trip to the Atlas mountain for us with a driver and a guide when we got there; a great day out and some spectacular scenery.
In summary: can't recommend the hotel and the staff highly enough and wouldn't hesitate to re-book.

Room Tip: All rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I recently visited Marrakech with my two children and stayed at Riad Hikaya for 6 nights. Behind the large wooden door directly on the street, is a real hidden gem. As soon as the door was opened, we received a warm welcome from the staff. The Riad is exquisitely decorated throughout and what is particularly noticeable is the serene atmosphere inside the building. There is no noise from the street at all. Our room, Sharaf, was a feast for the senses. The décor is beautiful and colourful and the extra touches – fluffy bathrobes, babouche slippers, high quality toiletries, crisp fresh bed linen, the daily fresh flowers – make the Riad a really special place to stay. At night, the Riad has a magical atmosphere. The huge, colourful lamps are lit up and there is a heady smell of incense throughout the building. Being on my own in Marrakech with two children could have been a daunting prospect, but owners Jane and John are on hand to advise on the best places to visit and are happy to organise taxis, horse-drawn calèches and guides for the day. Our day trip to the Atlas Mountains that John organised was a real highlight. The food was plentiful and delicious and was served on the rooftop terrace. We also enjoyed a hammam spa treatment while we were there. All in all, we came away feeling pampered and refreshed. In a city that has a frenetic and exciting pace, Riad Hikaya is the perfect haven away from the bustle of the crowds. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting this fascinating city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at Hikaya with my family and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A very different experience to staying in one of the many chain hotels that we had stayed in before and much more authentic. It is an easy walk to the square and souks and although initially a bit daunting walking through the narrow streets for the first time - especially at night - it was absolutely fine. The riad looks nothing from the outside but once inside the door it is amazing and has been decorated beautifully. The beds are really comfortable and everything is very clean. John the owner is extremely helpful and tells you all the good places to visit - make sure you visit the KozyBar. The food is very good at Riad Hikaya.

The square at night takes on a completely different feel and with 4 teenage girls with you - you do get a lot of unwanted attention but mostly it is just a bit of fun as long as you are appropriately dressed. All the ladies in our group did experience one instance of inappropriate touching however so take care.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have just spent 4 nights with my family at Riad Hiyaka and I don't think that we have ever all carried such warm feelings about a city break. The owners organised for us to be collected from the airport, and welcomed us with mint tea and a plate of Moroccan pastries. John gave us some great suggestions for places to visit, and to eat and drink and they were all spot on. We had 3 rooms and they were all beautifully decorated, comfortable and provided a peaceful haven in this bustling city. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty and we spent many happy hours on the roof terrace eating delicious meals, playing cards and taking in the sounds and smells of the city in the warm evenings.The pool provided a refreshing punctuation to a steamy day in the souks. All I can say is - don't look any further - you won't find a better palce to stay in Marrakech!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the ground floor room has an enormous bath which is great for soaking i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

On checking Trip Advisor before booking we found 17 top reviews and after our stay we can add another. We arrived from the coast having been at a friends birthday and where immediately captivated by the attention to detail and love that John has put into creating the Riad. Throughout our stay John and his team where perfect, we felt we where guests in their home. We stayed in the ground floor room opposite the pool which initially felt a little strange but we had our privacy and the bed in particular was extremely comfortable. The food is excellent and we decided not to eat out during our three nights there. We had breakfast on the roof terrace one mornng and enjoyed the views of the snow covered Atlas mountains, a trip to visit them was arranged by John, quite an experience to stand in 2 foot deep snow and have a snowball fight ! The Riad is close to the Artisans Commercial Centre where you can find all the local crafts you want at fixed prices and without the hassle of Souk shopping.

Highly recommended

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hikaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hikaya

Address: 252 Rue Sidi Mansour | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hikaya is a luxury boutique hotel located in the royal quarter of the medina, called the 'Kasbah', and only an easy walk from the main square, Jemaa al Fnaa, and the city's other famous landmarks. It took three years of meticulous restoration by local craftsmen and artisans, employing both age old techniques and materials, to transform the riad into what it is today. The two roof terraces, planted with orange, lemon, grapefruit and pomegranate trees, offer superb, open views onto the snow capped Atlas mountains. Guests are welcome to eat in our 'Café Des Epices'or on one of our roof terraces to make the most of the view.Included in the room rate:• Moroccan/Continental breakfast• Remote controlled air conditioning and heating for the cooler months• Fresh fruit & mineral water• Fresh flowers• "Sens de Marrakesh" toiletries• Babouche - his and hers• Flat screen tv / satellite channels• Nightly turn down service with rose petals• Ipod docking station• Free wifi internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Hikaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hikaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.