We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tranquil place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hikaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Hikaya to your Saves list
Riad Hikaya
252 Rue Sidi Mansour | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and tranquil place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just back from a 5 day stay in Riad Hikaya and both my daughter and I were absolutely delighted with the stunning accommodation and the attention to detail in the riad and with the lovely breakfast we were served each day. Thanks to John and Jane the owners for being such perfect hosts and for being so helpful and to all of the lovely staff for the impeccable manners and attention we were shown. Would definately recommend this Riad to anyone staying in Marrakech, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Dear Jane and John, thank you both so much for a wonderful, relaxing break in Marrakech, it was a pleasure to have met you both. Having arrived tired from a very early start, the car stopped at an old wooden door in a nondescript wall and we wondered what we had let ourselves in for! The door opened and we stepped into a little bit of heaven. It was peaceful and a complete contrast to the city outside. Riad Hikaya is a sanctuary of calm, relaxation and tranquility. The luxurious guest rooms are beautifully decorated, and the discreetly attentive staff deliver wonderful service. The facilities, including the restaurant and hamman made our stay just perfect. The owners genuine warmth, friendliness and expert local knowledge and in John’s case his fluency in Arabic and French get things done 'the Moroccan way'. John arranged various trips for us and it ensured a stress-free fabulous experience. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

And as it happens a goddess too,also staff that resemble angels. Having arrived late at night in the middle of a very busy street to find a wooden door in a nondescript wall we wondered what we had let ourselves in for ,need not have worried , the door opens and you step into heaven.John,Jane,Loubna,Mesda and the rest of the staff know how to get it right.first class service in a fantastic city I cannot say any more for there will be no rooms at the inn when we call again.a pleasure to have met you all,hope to do it again soon. Hope Ali is still smitten and John, the 'Bimbo box'incredible thank you. Nick Geeson and Diane Eggelston

Room Tip: There is not a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

On business trip for a few days, excellent service., very nice surroundings, room was lovely, nice quality bed which was very comfortable. John the owner was extremely helpful and very knowledgeable about Marrakech speaking fluent Arabic and French which was very useful from a business perspective. Will defiantly visit again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Riad Hikaya comes highly recommended. This hidden gem is exquisitely decorated and the attention to detail exceptional. In contrast to the frenzy of activity in the Medina, Riad Hikaya is a sanctuary of calm, relaxation and tranquility. The luxurious guest rooms, discreetly attentive staff and top notch facilities (including roof top terrace, pool, jacuzzi and private spa) and services make this an inviting and comforting place to rest. The owners’ genuine warmth, friendliness and expert local knowledge (and in John’s case, fluency in Arabic), including of how to arrange and get things done „the Moroccan way“, ensures a stress-free experience. We’ve already recommended Riad Hikaya to friends and family and hope also to return in the not too distant future. A real „Tour de Force“!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anghiari, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We loved this Riad. Not only was the place beautifully decorated and tastefully done but there was amazing attention to detail which as an interior designer you get to appreciate. The service of the staff was excellent and the food exceptional. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and arranged everything we asked of them. They spoke several languages including Arabic so made sure our taxis and excursions were carried out professionally and without the stress of having to haggle for everything.
I will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending this Wonderful Riad.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

When you go to Marrakesh you know you will be taken out of your western comfort zone: Hustle, bustle, haggle and how on earth will you get through that traffic to the other side of that road?
This is one of the reasons we go there, otherwise I am sure you could find a nice Centre Parc somewhere..
Still, we were traveling with our family, including two little girls(11 and 9), a place of respite was essential. And did we find it!
The rabbit warren of the medina may be mayhem(in a good way!) but the moment you step through the heavy wooden door of the Riad Hikaya tranquility, peace and supreme comfort rule.
Beautifully appointed, swimming pool, jacuzzi and the sunny patio on the roof, all is yours to enjoy. Attention to detail is amazing, our hosts attended to all our wishes without ever being intrusive.
The breakfast was a wonderful, long drawn out affair but you do not have to have all seven or eight courses...
Food: we did eat at the Riad three times, excellent moroccan food and wine and they even rustled some burgers for the girls.
Even splitting hairs, I can not find a single thing to moan about, which is(according to my family) as rare as hens teeth...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hikaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hikaya

Address: 252 Rue Sidi Mansour | Kasbah, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hikaya is a luxury boutique hotel located in the royal quarter of the medina, called the 'Kasbah', and only an easy walk from the main square, Jemaa al Fnaa, and the city's other famous landmarks. It took three years of meticulous restoration by local craftsmen and artisans, employing both age old techniques and materials, to transform the riad into what it is today. The two roof terraces, planted with orange, lemon, grapefruit and pomegranate trees, offer superb, open views onto the snow capped Atlas mountains. Guests are welcome to eat in our 'Café Des Epices'or on one of our roof terraces to make the most of the view.Included in the room rate:• Moroccan/Continental breakfast• Remote controlled air conditioning and heating for the cooler months• Fresh fruit & mineral water• Fresh flowers• "Sens de Marrakesh" toiletries• Babouche - his and hers• Flat screen tv / satellite channels• Nightly turn down service with rose petals• Ipod docking station• Free wifi internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Hikaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hikaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.