We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real a Find amongst the Souks!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Real a Find amongst the Souks!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

For years this is a trip I had wanted to do. I read a review of this Riad in a Saturday paper several months ago and liked what I saw. Well, the great review really does not do it justice!
What a lovely place.Very welcoming staff, all of whom are local and very knowledgable and attentive to your every need. They are not intrusive or overbearing, but always there with warm and friendly help or advice on almost any subject. We would not hesitate to return or to thoroughly recommend the L'Orangeraie. They urge you to treat the Riad like home and the consequent relaxing ambiance is just right.
Really great position for the Souks, Medina etc, with some great off- site eateries nearby too. However, once inside with the Riad door closed the bustle of the streets is.behind you and this lovely Riad is an oasis of calm, with great breakfasts and meals available on site. We spent 4 very happy days there. A real and genuine pleasure which I urge you to experience for yourselves.

Room Tip: All rooms good, but go for a suite if you can. Upper floors not really for those with tricky mobilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Christopher,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was a real pleasure for us to have you stay at l’Orangeraie.

We aim to create a friendly and relaxing atmosphere at the Riad and we are delighted that you felt well looked after by all our staff.

We all hope to see you again soon in Marrakech.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
104
280
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed just one night here and were impressed. Lovely decor, tranquil environment and great roof terrace. I enjoyed cooling off in the plunge pool while watching silent movierojection of casablanca late in the evening. The staff were very helpful and welcoming,and the owner was attentive and engaging- it was a really good experience at the end of a long road trip, and left us feeling recharged and refreshed before out flight home. For someone seeking a little luxury near the busier part of town, I would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Alice and Jonathan,

Thank you for visiting l'Orangeraie at the end of your trip in Morocco and for your very nice comments about your stay with us.

We have been delighted to have you at the Riad during your short stay in Marrakech and hope to see you again very soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The best service, the staff will make the impossible for you to enjoy every second of your stay. beautiful room, excellent breakfast, dinner ,, just name it. So perfect. C est un havre de paix au milieu de la vielle ville.

Room Tip: Les suites sont très belles de même que les chambres sont super bien
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Carole,

Thank you so much for visiting l'Orangeraie and for your kind words about your stay.

It has been a genuine pleasure for us all at the Riad to have you stay with us and we are really happy to know that you had a good time.

We will be very happy to welcome you again at the Riad on your next visit to Marrakech.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our family of four adults stayed at Riad l'Orangaraie in May and this was the most wonderful first experience of Morocco anyone could wish for. From the time a smiling Aziz met our car outside the Medina, we were treated to exceptional customer service. Jamal was an equally friendly and exceptional staff member who served us superbly during our stay. The riad is beautiful, a welcome escape from the business and chaos of the Medina. Hot, sweet mint tea and home baking were served to us in one of the beautifully appointed public spaces at the Riad. The manager, Ismail was warm and welcoming and generous with his familiarisation explanation of the Riad and Medina, encouraging us to go out and explore. Our rooms were gorgeous, beautifully appointed, and the little touches had the real WOW factor, fresh drinking water and tasty treats in our rooms, turn down service at night, with candles lit, fresh towels and wet swimming costumes hung to dry. Free WIFI was fast and reliable. The breakfasts on the rooftop terrace were fabulous (and set us up for the entire day). The location was perfect and easy to find from within the Medina, yet we had the added security of a cellphone provided direct connection back to the Riad should anything go amiss during our stay. We simply couldn't fault this place and would recommend wholeheartedly to any travellers who seek an authentic and luxurious Moroccan experience (Please note: as with all Riads we stayed in in Morocco, a degree of agility and fitness is required to negotiate the narrow winding staircase)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting l'Orangeraie and for your wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

We really appreciated the fact that you outlined the quality of the service. We take great pride of meeting the needs of all our guests.

We all be really pleased to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Marrakech is a bustling city and we loved the calm and friendly atmosphere we came back to each day after sightseeing. The staff helped with recommendations and letting us know what to pay for things like taxis so we didn't get overcharged when we were out and about. This Riad really stands out in all the places I've stayed when on holiday as being one of the best for helpful and friendly staff. I'd definitely recommend to any friends going to Marrakech in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your visit at l’Orangeraie and your positive review.

We are really pleased that you had a good time and enjoyed the calm of the the Riad and the friendly atmosphere that we aim to create.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Definitely the best value and friendliest Riyad we stayed in while in Morroko. Cyril and his staff were really helpful with booking and recommending restaurants even tough Nadia cooks a Devine tagine. Breakfast was out of this world but way too much. The bedrooms were clean, large and comfortable. For me, what made the difference, is that Cyril actually thought about the little things that make his guests comfortable, like the use of a cell phone, incase you get lost. Being in the Medina and near a gate is also really helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit at l’Orangeraie and your favorable review. We are really happy that you had a good time at the Riad.

We provide a mobile phone to each room and it seems that most of our guests find this to be very useful. Thank you for outlining our location as well. We genuinely believe that we are located in the nicest and most desirable quarter of the Marrakech medina.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

For Cyril and his team:

I wrote a review in progress while I was at the Riad but the "Trip Advisor Team" didn't think it was detailed enough so it didn’t post. So now that we are back in the US, I can take more time to exalt the Riad L'Orangeraie.

Food: The best food we had during our stay in Marrakech was in the Riad. Breakfasts included home-made yogurt, crepes, paratha type bread, fresh fruit, eggs, cake and this was considered a LIGHT breakfast! The tagine we had the first night was the best dinner we had during our stay. Thank you to Nadia and Laila!

Cyril and his team: Even before our visit to Marrakech, we reached out to Cyril to clarify some things and his initial responses and follow up gave us a sense of the personal touch he and his staff provide to all of their guests. Once we arrived, there was some confusion at the airport regarding our transport and when we called Ismail, he was able to address our concern in a swift manner. Once we got to the Riad, Aziz received us even before we reached the Riad. During our 3 night stay, knowing the Riad was so close to the souks and the main street provided a level of comfort knowing we could get back to a quiet, comfortable space at the end of the day to relax.

Riad: The Riad itself was so beautiful, it is exactly as pictured in all of the photographs other guests have posted. A lot of times you view pictures or read reviews of specific hotels and expect something and are disappointed, but this was definitely not the case with the Riad. Everything was exactly as we expected, quiet, serene, away from the hustle and bustle of the souks.

Yesin: We took a trip to Ait ben Haddou and Yesin our tour guide was so great dealing with the crazy traffic and the long drive out there as well as providing great information on the Berbers. He was wonderful and made our trip out of the medina a great experience.

Turtle: Keep an eye out for the Riad’s resident turtle who hangs out by the plunge pool.

Thank you Cyril! We enjoyed our time there and our conversation with you also. We felt like you were like family to us while we were there.

Jonathan and Sophia

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Jonathan and Sophia,

Thank you for your very nice comments on your stay at l’Orangeraie.

We are delighted to know that you had a great time and enjoyed the food, services and decor at the Riad. It has been a genuine pleasure for all of us to meet you both and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Cyril and all the staff at l’Orangeraie + Valentino the turtle :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.