We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Greater London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This was our first trip to Marrakech and, as when visiting a new country and arriving in the dark, we had our concerns but these were all swept aside from the moment Jamal met us at the taxi rank just outside the walls of the Medina. He piled all our luggage into his trolley and two hundred metres of narrow, cobbled alleyways later we passed through a studded and fairly nondescript door into a beautiful oasis of calm to be met by the wonderful Cyril. He showed us to our rooms and gave us a quick guided tour before we were brought a tray of mint tea and sweetmeats. Dinner followed and we were treated to an array of Moroccan dishes followed by a superb chicken tagine, prepared by the staff and served by Jamal. The following morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast on the roof terrace and Cyril gave us a mobile phone to use should we get lost, completely free of charge. He spent time with us to ensure our day was planned and helped us choose and book a restaurant for the evening. All the staff were extremely helpful, without being over-attentive, and we were made to feel very special. Cyril also supports Arsenal, which was an added bonus! Thank you, Riad l'Orangeraie for a wonderful, but all too short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit and your very kind review.

We are delighted that you had a great time at l’Orangeraie. Thank you for outlining the quality of the service at the Riad. We are also very pleased to that you found the mobile phone that we provide to our guests useful to stay in touch with the riad at all time.

We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your next visit.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
105
284
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Firstly the Riad has the perfect location, if you book somewhere else and walk past its door, you'll realise you've made a mistake, it's simply the most stress free way to enjoy the city. The truly beautiful accommodation manages to twin the feel and colours of Marrakech with luxury and style. The staff (Ishmael, Jameel, Aziz and Cyril) provide everything you could wish from a dedicated, warm, and professional staff, and never once make you claustrophobic with service. Our hosts seemed to be innately in tune with everything we needed. If you wanted something, it just seemed to arrive, which just added to the serene and relaxing effect of the Riad. Any problem you may face, questions about bartering in the Souks, organising day trips with trustworthy guides, restaurant reservations, the staff and Riad L'Orangeraie will do everything they can to assist you.

One of the the most fantastic things about the Riad, is it's food. You may find more extensive menus at the restaurants, but after trying many of the most highly rated in Marrakech, you'll come to the same conclusion, the food at Riad L'Orangeriae is the best (and nowhere as expensive as the others!).

As a last note, the Riad provides you with a local network mobile phone (free of charge), and if your out and about, get lost, or need anything, they will look after you.

Many thanks for a wonderful holiday, can't wait to return. Stefan&Julia

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Stefan and Julia,

Thank you for your visit at l'Orangeraie and your very nice review about your stay with us.

Thank you for mentioning the quality of the food served at the riad, Nadia and Leila, our two cooks, always use fresh products to prepare their meals and they will be so happy to know that you enjoyed their food.

We would love to have you stay with us again.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We arrived on 30th December and spent 8 days at this wonderful Riad. Entering through the main door late at night from a dark narrow street it was like being transformed into wonderland.
The Riad l'Organerie is truly beautiful inside. We were fortunate to enjoy sleeping in the Paprika Suite which was very comfortable. Breakfast on the terrace was a treat and a very special way to start the day. Ismail, Jamal, Azziz and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We took a couple of excursions to the Atlas Mountains and the Glazier. Our 7-course meal at the close by Cafe Arabe on 'Hogmanay' was very nice as arranged by Ismail. Marrakech is cold in the evenings at this time of year. The Riad d'Orangerie is located right in the heart of the souks (medina) which was a great location. The local Morrocans we met were very friendly and interesting. Hopefully we will return in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thank you so much for your visit at the riad and for taken the time to share the good impression you had about your stay.

We are really happy to hear that you had a great time in Marrakech and hope to see you again very soon at the Riad.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We arrived 28th December for 5 days. The riad is 1 minute away from the souks, so a great location - but is very quiet. Ishmal and his team could not have been more helpful - and their service and friendliness was superb. We ate in one evening - and the meal prepared for us was equal (if not better) than the 'good' restaurants we went to.... Breakfast on the terrace was lovely - the riad was spotless and I highly recommend it. We did not go to the mountains - but will return again and make the trip then. Lovely people - and I absolutely recommend them. Remember to reserve a room for us.. we will email you. !

Room Tip: Stayed in the Ginger room - room is not massive but bathroom was lovely. There are bigger rooms - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Beverley,

Thank you for visiting l’Orangeraie for the New Year and for your very kind review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time at the riad. Thank you especially for mentioning the quality of the services which is absolutely key for us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there with our family in the month of Nov. I do not have words to describe their level of service, attention to detail and the caring attitude of the staff members. I cannot thank them enough!
I was very sick on the way to Marrakech and had to rest upon arrival for two days. The hotel staff was very helpful and took care of all our requests like hot water, tea etc to make the stay most comfortable. Its very rare to find such level of service.
The rooms were very clean, elegantly and tastefully decorated. The beds were very comfortable. We had booked the Saffron and Curcuma rooms. Both were located on the first floor and were very quiet.
For one night they upgraded us to the Cinnamon suite, that was a very thoughtful gesture on their part.
The terrace had a beautiful view of the surroundings The center of the riad was a courtyard which brought the nature indoors. There were plants, seating areas and a small pool which made it a very pleasant space.
A hearty breakfast which comprised of boiled eggs, morroccan bread, jams, baghrir (morocccan pancake), fresh fruits and an amazing yogurt was served everyday. They did serve a delicious, home made freshly prepared r'ghaif or msemen as well which is alike a layered flatbread.
We did have dinner at the riad on the first two days. I would say it was good, the appetizers were the highlight.
I am so glad to have chosen this riad that made our stay in Marrakech so memorable. The location is perfect, very central and very accessible from outside the medina. The cars are not allowed inside the walled city hence the riad helps bring in the luggage in on carts from the main road.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit at l’Orangeraie and your favorable review.

We are really happy that you had a great time at the raid. Thank you for outlining our location. We genuinely believe that we are located in the nicest and most desirable quarter of the Marrakech medina.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Dear staff
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay at your quiet riad! It is amazing: You enter a heavy woodendoor and a beautiful house opens up with lovely decorated rooms. From the first moment you manage us to feel at home and all the way you surprised us with lightended candles, fresh flowers, small presents and good service. The breakfast was great on the rooftop and you managed to give us a memorable New Years eve with dinner by the fireplace.
The riad has a perfect location in the Medina and you are walkingdistance to almost everything. We had some challenges finding our way around, but you were so helpful and even walked us to a specific restaurant one Night.
You recommended a trip to the mountains, so we went. Again so helpful with arranging it and it is really worth going.
We will definately come again. We have already promised our husbands and children and we will be looking forward to it!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your visit to the Riad and for your lovely review.

We are really happy that you found calm and beauty at the riad and enjoyed your vacation so much. The quality of our service is of the utmost importance to us and we are delighted that you rated this aspect of your stay so highly.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again on your next visit to Marrakech.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This well located riad is a haven of tranquility in a busy city where the sights and smells are enticing but can be overwhelming. The staff made every effort to make us feel at home. The personal service and care was outstanding. It was like staying with friends of the family. The food was excellent both at breakfast on the roof top deck and in the evening in front of a fire. We highly recommend eating in at least one evening. The rooms are spacious, clean and uniquely Morrocan. A beautiful courtyard, with Valentine the turtle, provides an oasis of outdoors. This riad is worth every penny. Definitely a top place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing l'Orangeraie for your stay in Marrakech and for your great review.

We had such pleasure taking care of you during your stay! Thank you for outlining the quality of the service provided. This is mostly important to us.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again if you return to Marrakech one day.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.