We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property and Team” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 1,123 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Great Property and Team”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Morocco and we were there as part of a wedding group. The owner and manager personally attended to many of the details, including arranging terrific day trips and excursions in the region. Their staff is extremely attentive, friendly and sincere. Overall they give the impression of a team that treats each other well and really respect one another. This makes for a very personal experience for the guests. You can expect to see Morocco "up close" because of the very central location inside the Medina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jan,

Thank you for visiting l'Orangeraie and for your great review.

Most of our staff members have been working at the Riad for many years and we have become like a little family. This is the reason why our guests feel this friendly atmosphere.

We will all be very happy to welcome you again at the Riad on your next visit to Marrakech.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
110
298
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

First time in Morocco, stayed with family for my grandmothers 80th birthday and this place was incredible. I've stayed in hotels (i work at one of the best in NYC) and bed&breakfasts before but this was the perfect experience for a Marrakesh getaway. Couldn't have predicted the way we would be treated, like cherished visitors being welcomed into someone's private (albeit exquisite and large) home. Cyril the owner was funny and friendly (not to mention extremely generous and gave great suggestions) and the rest of the staff was beyond warm and helpful. The food we ate there (prepared solely by the brilliant and adorable Nadia) was honestly the best we had in Morocco and we had eaten at some of the (allegedly) best restaurants in the city. I wish I had that fresh homemade rooftop breakfast every day, I'm still missing it a week later. The room was awesome, the perfect blend of clean and hotel-like + exotic and unique. Can't actually think of a negative--except that I didn't have an opportunity to swim in the beautiful pool!! Couldn't recommend it highly enough, and after a long day in bustling Marrakesh it's truly the perfect alcove to come home to.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Sean,

Thank you so much for staying at l'Orangeraie to celebrate your grandmother 80th birthday and for your very nice review.

It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family and contribute to the success of the birthday party.

We would love you to stay with us again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a better travel experience!
The moment we were met at the airport by the gentle driver sent by the L'Orangeraie and then arrived at the beautiful Riad conveniently located just inside the Medina, we knew we made the right choice-the staff was warm and welcoming and could not have done enough for us. Our room was lovely, clean, exotic and inviting. The beds were very comfortable and the room was overlooking the gorgeous courtyard. Breakfast on the terrace was beyond delicious and always something different- various homemade breads, fresh fruits, yogurt and freshly baked cake. After having eaten at some of the top restaurants in Marrakech, we saved our last night for dinner in the Riad. Nadia, the chef made us the best meal we had in Morocco! It was served to us in the beautiful lounge next to the fireplace. Thank you so much to all of the amazing staff who looked after us like we were family (the good kind!)-especially Jamal, Azziz, Nadia, and of course to charming owner Cyril who couldn't have been more accommodating! Lisa

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Thank you so much for visiting l'Orangeraie and for your very kind comments about your time at the Riad.

Nadia and Leila, our two cooks, are delighted to know that you had your best meal at the riad!

It was genuinely a great pleasure to meet you and your family and we sincerely hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My partner and i have just returned completely relaxed and refreshed from a 3 day stay at this wonderful riad with beautiful people.Do yourself a favour and look no further for the best experience of marrakesh in sumptuous surrondings being looked after by friendly attentive respectful staff that treat you like family.We will be returning only to this riad in may this year knowing we will be spoiled rotten.Thankyou Cyril Assiz Jamal and nadia for a memorable experience.Love and best wishes Jonathan and Martin

Room Tip: we stayed in Paprika room which is on the second floor and was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jonathan and Martin,

Thank you so much for your visit to the Riad and your kind words about your stay.

We have been really happy to meet you and we are pleased to know that you had a great time at l'Orangeraie.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Marrakech.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I booked 7 nights at Riad de l,Orangeraie to celebrate my 50th birthday, having spent some time selecting a Riad on the basis of the excellent reviews. We had high hopes but from the moment of our arrival, this Riad exceeded our expectations. The beauty of the building, the cleanliness of the room, the relaxing informality of the communal areas (dining / lounge area and roof terrace), the free Wi-Fi, the quality of the cooking (thank you, Nadia) ... yes, no doubt all this could be said of many Riads in Marrakech, but I would be most surprised if any of them could rival the level of personal service that was provided by the owner, Cyril, and his staff. In particular, Aziz and Jemal were always on hand to support us and to ensure that we had everything that we needed. This extended to practical advice and support on how to cope with the warfare that constitutes a shopping trip though Marrakech's souks, and a mobile phone that was provided by the Riad which we could use to phone for help if we got lost or otherwise into difficulty. They were our adjutants and protectors and, yes, friends too. For my birthday, my wife had arranged a surprise which required the cooperation of the staff in decorating our room and some other special touches for a celebration meal which were carried out with enthusiasm. Cyril did not even charge us for the meal !
We are not certain when we may return to Marrakech, but what is for sure is that if and when we do so, it will be to stay at l'Orangeraie.

Room Tip: No lifts, steep stairs - those who might find this a problem would do best to request one of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear David,

Thank you for choosing l'Orangeraie to celebrate your birthday and for your amazing review.

We had such pleasure taking care of you during your stay! Thank you for outlining the quality of the service provided. This is mostly important to us.

We would be delighted to have you stay with us again if you return to Marrakech one day.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is a wonderful and beautifully appointed riad, with excellent facilities, great food and it feels like you are at home from the first minute. The roof terrace is such a wonderful place to sit, relax, eat, drink and enjoy the view across the rooftops. What really makes the place and the atmosphere special is the staff. They are fabulous and cannot do enough for you. I would advise anyone to go and spend some time here. It was so sad to leave! Thanks to all the team

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your complimentary review.

We are delighted to know that your enjoyed your time at the Riad and that you felt like home. It is exactly what we aim to create.

We really hope to see you again very soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I recently stayed at Riad l'Orangeraie for the second time. I guess this fact alone speaks volumes.
The Riad is a little oasis and the staff are genuinely kind and helpful - there is the right balance of beauty and warmth without any pretension. It is comforting to be able to travel to a place like Marrakech with all its delightful chaos, knowing that you can escape to somewhere that is filled with elegance and charm. I felt like I was returning somewhere familiar but somewhere I had been missing, at the same time. The service is wonderful, the food fresh and delicious and the proximity to everything you need is comforting... I like the feeling of knowing the world is just outside but in fact it would be easy to stay on the rooftop, gazing out at the mountains, reflecting on possibility.
Odile

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Odile,

Thank you for your second visit to l'Orangeraie and for your wonderful comments.

We aim to make the Riad feels like home and we are really happy to hear that you had a great time in your home in Marrakech...

We are already looking forward to your next visit.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.