We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best accomodation in 5 weeks of travelling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best accomodation in 5 weeks of travelling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the moment we were picked up outside the arch by Azziz who took all our bags in a hand cart, to walking along the narrow laneway of old Marrakech to the moment we entered the welcoming door to the quiet sanctuary of this Riad, we knew we were in for something special. Our check in consisted of being taken to a comfortable lounge area where we were served mint tea and biscuits and then after a discussion about what we would like to see/do during our stay, we were shown to our rooms which were beautifully decorated with fresh rose petals! Very comfortable beds and the rooms are also air conditioned if you need it, otherwise the windows open to fresh air.

The service was second to none, the breakfasts different each day, but tasty, substantial and served to our table on the rooftop terrace, where we also enjoyed our first dinner of the trip; another delightful and characteristically Morrocan meal.

There is too much to say about his wonderful Riad but one more thing, the silent (+subtitles) screening of Cassablanca each evening was a lovely touch .... And those sunsets from the rooftop terrace .... Well wow is all I can say - I will be back!

PS Oh and they provided us with a mobile phone per room in case we got lost with preloaded numbers for the Riad manager.... Nice touch!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your visit to l’Orangeraie and your wonderful comments about your stay.

We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your time at the riad, the silent projection of Casablanca each evening and that you find the mobile phone that we provide to our guests useful.

All the team at l’Orangeraie hopes to see you again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    25
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
104
281
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed there in fall 2011 - gorgeous, clean, safe, friendly staff and delicious food!
Recommend you have breakfast in the hotel. There is also a cool rooftop area.
The only reason I listed location as average is bc several taxi drivers could not find it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit at l’Orangeraie and your favorable review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast at the riad as we pay special attention to the first meal of the day and try to make our breakfasts consistently good

We genuinely believe that you can’t find better location in the old town and our guests need to ask the taxi to be dropped at Bab Laksour which is 300 meters from the entrance of the riad.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

In April, myself and five colleagues travelled to Marrakesh for a one week stay at Riad L'Orangeraie. It was my first time travelling without my family, but Cyril and his staff (Aziz, Ismail, Nadia) made it easy for me to feel like I was with family because of their kindness. They constantly ensured that Marrakesh felt like a home away from home.
From our initial booking Cyril made everything so easy for us. He arranged a driver(Moosin) to pick us up at the airport and he was also our personal driver for the week. Moosin was extremely knowledgeable of the city and provided great recommendations for places to visit and eat. He made it that much easier to relax and enjoy our week.
Upon our arrival we were briefed by Ismail (the Riad’s Manager) with place’s we should see while in Marrakesh, Ismail was also very helpful in booking all our day trips, confirming dinner reservations and providing us each with our own cell phone that we could use to contact one another. The numbers to the Riad were also programmed to allow for quick emergency calls if we found ourselves lost or needed help with anything.. Thankfully the only time my cellphone was used was to call Ismail when I was bargaining for a carpet - wanted to know if I was getting a good deal :)
The Riad itself is lovely, very charming. The bedrooms are all beautiful and kept impeccably clean.
The location of the Riad was perfect. I was able to walk to just about anywhere I wanted to go, and if it wasn’t walking distance – it was a quick and cheap cab ride.
The Riad also provided breakfast every morning, prepared fresh by the wonderful cooking staff (Nadia & Laila). Their home made yogurt was the best I’ve ever had!
Not only was the breakfast delicious, it was always served with the best smiles from Aziz and Jamal. They were both so great! Always, so friendly and accommodating and they always took pleasure in serving us. I can’t say enough about how great they were, all the staff at Riad L'Orangeraie were awesome and left a lasting impression with me. I truly do miss them all!

Overall the staff at the Riad exceeded my expectations and made my trip that much more amazing. I would recommend it to anyone! And I can’t wait to get back there with my husband!

:-D

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Florence,

Thank you for staying with us at l'Orangeraie and for your complimentary review.

We are really happy that you had a great time at the riad. We aim to make the riad feel like home to those traveling in groups or on their own. Thank you for outlining our location. We genuinely believe that we are located in the nicest and most desirable quarter of the Marrakech medina.

It was a real pleasure for all of us to meet you and your whole group and we look forward to having you stay with us again with your husband.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We indulged ourselves with a trip to Marrakech to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary, as my wife had always wanted to go there. Where to stay? In the Medina of course, to really get a feeling of the beating heart of the city and to be able, once arrived, to mainly walk around and avoid traffic and transportation hassle. After some research on the internet, this little jewel seemed to be the right choice … and it was so very much !!!!
The riad itself is beautiful and each room has its personality, and the breakfast on the roof terrace is a wonderful way of starting a discovery day in the numerous nearby palaces, museums, and other attractions, BUT the thing that makes it special is the gentle and efficient service provided by the staff. They were of tremendous help for just about everything, and we decided to forget the guidebooks we brought to just rely on their recommendations.
To be honest, we were really sad to leave … thanks to Ismail, Aziz, and Jamal for this perfect stay !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Laurent,

Thank you for visiting l'Orangeraie to celebrate your 15th wedding anniversary and for your wonderful review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time at the riad. Thank you especially for mentioning the quality of the services which is absolutely key for us.

We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had been in the Atlas Mountains and were looking forward to something special upon returning to Marrakech; we were not disappointed! The rooms are wonderful, each different with that special personal touch, crisp white sheets and a scattering of rose petals. After a good nights sleep what could be better than a leisurely wonder up to the roof top terrace for breakfast basking in the morning sun before adventuring out in the Medina. Returning whenever we wanted during the day, the noise of the Medina would disappear upon entering the beautiful tranquility that is Riad L'Orangeraie. The exceptional service was the polishing touch what the friendly and helpful staff; I loved it so much I'm returning in September...

Room Tip: All rooms a different, I called and they were extremely helpful. The room I had was exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Treve,

Thank you for your visit to l'Orangeraie and your gracious review about your stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in Marrakech and look forward to having you stay with us again in September.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was my second stay, and we are already planning a third. Next time we will be accompanied by some well travelled and very discerning friends. I mention that to illustrate just how confident we are that the Riad L'orangeraie is the very best place to stay in Marrakesh.
The location is ideal. A few yards to the entrance to the Souk, a short walk to the main square and not far to the Medina walls from where it's easy to navigate to the new town and sights such as the Majorelle gardens etc.
The Riad itself is decorated so tastefully and is extremely comfortable. I have stayed in four of the rooms up to now. All are wonderful.
The food is excellent. Home cooked. We ate in most nights and were able to ask for our favourite morrocan dishes. Served on the lovely rooftop. Bliss!
The best things about the riad possibly is the extended services they offer. Don't ever worry about being lost in Marrakesh. A member of staff is at the end of the mobile phone that you are given at the start of your stay.
Airport pick-ups are efficient and very cheap compared to the UK.
Relax, the staff are all so lovely, speak excellent English, and couldn't be kinder.
I can't wait to be back! Thanks Ismail, Aziz, Jamael and ladies X.

Room Tip: Any room you choose will be beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Eleri,

Thank you for visiting l'Orangeraie for the second time and for your very kind comments about your time at the riad.

We are really happy to hear that you had a great time at l'Orangeraie. We are particularly grateful that you mentioned the quality of the services provided by our staff and that you outlined our location that we genuinely believe can't really be any better in the medina.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The staff here are fantastic and can't do enough to help. The small touches are lovely - roses in the room, turn down service in the evening with rosé petals on the bed - even in a twin bed room, and candles lit in the bedroom and bathroom. The courtyard, pool and sitting areas are attractive.
There was a few things that they could do with the room; the ottomans are stained, the wardrobe was smelly and we wouldn't store our clothes in there. The riad is very close to the souks and once inside the riad it is very quiet. We didn't like going out at night as the riad is down a no-car-access lane way and there is a walk of about 7 minutes down the lane to where you can get a taxi - we didn't feel comfortable walking it at night. It was quite probably safe, but it was a draw back for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We can’t hide the fact that we are very surprised and disappointed in your review as our guests usually always outline the quality of our rooms and our location and most of the reviews are excellent. However we are always grateful for any comments so that we may improve and rectify any problems immediately.

Thank you for outlining the quality of the service which is highly important to us.

We have checked your room and we sincerely did not find any smell in the wardrobe. All our carpets are cleaned daily by our staff and dry cleaned every second week. All our previous guests rated the cleanliness of the riad very highly. If during guests stay any problems with rooms are highlighted to us, we always endeavour to rectify them as soon as possible.

Concerning the location of the riad, we can categorically say that you can’t find better location than ours in the whole medina. We are located 400 meters from where you can catch a taxi (but also 200 meters from the entrance of the market and 5 minutes away from the main square). We are in the safest district in Marrakech and during the ten years l’Orangeraie has been open, none of our guests have experienced any problems with safety in our area. Please note that it is not possible to enter the medina by car and most guests prefer the central location rather than the convenience of being able to get a taxi to the door. We have a free service to help our guests with their luggage so they do not have to carry it from the taxi to the door.

Please believe that we always consider ways we can improve the experience for our guests. We would like to have you stay with us again and we hope that you’ll enjoy a better experience next time around.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.