We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Riad L'Orangeraie is a real oasis of calm, situated as it is within the bustling Medina: it offers good food, comfy, well appointed rooms, a very convenient location, a terrific roof terrace, and finally, very attentive service from lovely people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting l’Orangeraie during your time in Marrakech and for your kind review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time at the riad. Thank you especially for mentioning the quality of the services which is absolutely key for us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
105
283
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a great way to spend a long weekend! Entering through the heavy wooden door moments from the souks, you are transported to an oasis of tranquility where nothing is too much trouble for Ismail and his colleagues. The bedrooms, sitting rooms and library are arranged on two floors around a traditionally tiled atrium with a central fountain and palm trees. The ground floor pool is an excellent way to cool off after an afternoon's shopping. The roof terrace is a very private way to relax and catch the North African sun, or start the day up there with a delicious al fresco breakfast. My double room on the ground floor was traditionally decorated with a comfortable bed, plenty of storage, a safe, its own sitting area and a bathroom with a bath big enough for two, if the mood takes you. By the end of my stay, it felt like a second home and I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to the riad and your informative review.

We are delighted that you had a great time at l’Orangeraie. Thank you for outlining the quality of the rooms and the large bathroom facilities. Your details of the Riad provide great insight for potential guests.

We would love to have you stay with us again and look forward to your next visit.

Cyril, Ismail, and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Our taxi narrowly misses a horse-drawn carriage and pulls up sharply on a small side street inside the Medina... ‘Here!... you are here’ announces our friendly (Riad sent) driver. We climb out into the dazzling Moroccan sunshine somewhat bewildered (wondering where on earth we are) but thankfully a guide (again sent by our Riad) is there to meet us and, with the hugest of smiles, explains (in perfect English) that the street is too narrow to drive down. His young assistant piles our luggage on to a hand-driven cart and together they lead us through a series of narrow terracotta-, dun- and honey-coloured walled passageways to the ancient studded-wooden door of Riad Orangeraie. The door opens to an exquisitely cool oasis... a tiled Moorish courtyard, surrounded by pastel-hued walls, filled with potted palms and luscious flowers and the sounds of singing birds mixed with the smooth vibes of Buddha Bar music (emanating, we found out later, from the Riad's very chilled library) and a glimpse of the deepest and bluest of swimming pools. Riad Orangeraie is a stunning example of a traditional Moroccan house (and vernacular Boho chic) arranged around a central courtyard - and as we stood there... gazing in wonder at what 'we' (or rather my dear friend Beverley, whose 40th birthday we were there to celebrate) had discovered... we were warmly greeted by Cyril our incredibly charming (and impossibly handsome!) French host and one of his incredibly kind and ever-smiling team proffering a tray of hot mint tea and traditional Moroccan cakes. As I walked into my room, I caught my breath – it was huge, cool and wonderfully exotic: terracotta walls, orange silk cushions and deep-red-velvet-adorned chairs, brilliant white cotton sheets sprinkled with rose petals and the finest of linen curtains billowing gently in the breeze... just enough for me to glimpse a beautiful black & white 'old hollywood' vision: a scene from Casablanca - expertly projected onto the wall outside my bedroom's floor-to-ceiling window. Through an arch doorway I could see the bathroom – a treasure trove of shining mirrors, flickering candles, fluffy white towels and a delicious array of lotions and potions in exotic Moroccan pots and bottles. Every room at the Riad Orangeraie was gorgeous – every member of staff was delightful (nothing was too much trouble: every detail had been thought of and every guest's whim was catered for) and every drink and bite-to-eat was delicious: it is little wonder that some of our party were, at times, almost reluctant to venture out. That said - it would be crazy not to explore the delights of this City – there can be few more pleasurable ways to waste time than wandering around the seemingly endless maze of markets and shops which sell everything from carpets and slippers to woollen hats and kaftans or spices and soaps to suitcases and raffia baskets... so many sights to behold, people to meet (and cheekily bargain with!), colours to appreciate and smells to be intoxicated by. As I stood on the roof top terrace, sipping a glass of perfectly-chilled Sancerre, watching the light fade over the sunset-pinked rooftops with the snow-capped Atlas mountains just-visible in the distance... and noticed another friendly-fez-topped-fellow discreetly lighting the mediaeval lanterns hanging all around the garden – it was easy to think that I'd died and gone to heaven.

Room Tip: We were very spoilt and had the whole Riad to ourselves... I loved my room on the first floor overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Nicky,

Thank you for visiting Riad l’Orangeraie and for your amazing review.

We are delighted that you like the decor at the riad and that you enjoyed your time in Marrakech.

You have clearly spent a great deal of time and thought in writing this review, for which we are grateful and believe it may help others thinking of staying with us in the future. It was a privilege to read such a narrative. Your whole party was a delight and we would warmly welcome you all back.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My wife, 6 month old daughter and myself recently stayed here as part of a larger group. As soon as you walk through the doors you are greeted with huge smiles. The staff could not be more pleasant and continually went out of their way to help.

The riad itself was awe inspiring and the courtyard, which was overlooked by the bedrooms is something I will remember for a long time.

For anyone who is concerned about taking a young child to Marrakech, stay here. They could not make you feel more at ease.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Adam,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and your visit to the Riad.

We had such pleasure in taking care of your group during your stay. Thank you for outlining the quality of the service provided and in particular that we can cater for small children and infants. This is most important to us.

We are pleased that you enjoy your time in Marrakech and look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here for a family birthday where we rented the whole hotel out. I didn't know what to expect but they blew me away. I know that the birthday girl had asked for lots of special requirements and they met them all beautifully.

This riad is amazing, the staff are beyond fantastic and are friendly, full of great suggestions and willing to go above and beyond so make it truly feel like a home away from home. They're happy to organise events for you before you arrive and were beyond amazing. The raid is also beautiful and the rooms are faultless.

Room Tip: Anywhere! They're fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your visit to l’Orangeraie and your wonderful comments about your stay. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. All our staff members try to create a friendly atmosphere without being intrusive and formal is not the style of the riad.

We are happy that you felt like home at the l’Orangeraie and hope to see you again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This Riad is fabulous. It is quiet, yet centrally located to the market and the main Marrakech square.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and speak fluent English and French. The Riad is in perfect condition with clean and comfortable bedrooms with en-suit bathrooms. The décor is a traditional Moroccan style and very chic.
The roof terrace is huge with lovely plants with plenty of cozy seating and a panoramic view of Marrakesh and silhouetted by the Atlas Mountains. We had a breakfast on the terrace every day.
The food is excellent and can be Morrocan but we mainly had European dishes which were cooked to perfection. Thank you Riad L’Orangeraie - you were amazing.

Room Tip: As for a ground floor room if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Stephen

Thank you for your informative review and your visit to the riad.

We are really happy that you had a good time in Marrakech. Thank you for mentioning that most of our staff speaks fluent English which we consider a necessity in order to meet the needs of all our guests.

We really hope to have you stay with us again.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay in an extremely friendly and welcoming Riad. Great location, staff were caring and accommodating to all our needs and always went the extra mile. Noah our baby was well looked after and loved by all the staff. A great place to relax and hang out away from the madness of the Medina! The breakfasts and evening meal tagine's are so gooood!! Thank you to Ismail and the team for making our honeymoon a special one. Xx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your gracious review and your visit to l’Orangeraie to celebrate your honeymoon.

Our staff love children and they all miss Noah. We are delighted that you outlined the quality of the food served at the riad and. Nadia, our cook, takes great pride to accommodate everyone’s different requests.

We all look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cyril, Ismail and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.