We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here for a family birthday where we rented the whole hotel out. I didn't know what to expect but they blew me away. I know that the birthday girl had asked for lots of special requirements and they met them all beautifully.

This riad is amazing, the staff are beyond fantastic and are friendly, full of great suggestions and willing to go above and beyond so make it truly feel like a home away from home. They're happy to organise events for you before you arrive and were beyond amazing. The raid is also beautiful and the rooms are faultless.

Room Tip: Anywhere! They're fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your visit to l’Orangeraie and your wonderful comments about your stay. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. All our staff members try to create a friendly atmosphere without being intrusive and formal is not the style of the riad.

We are happy that you felt like home at the l’Orangeraie and hope to see you again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
105
283
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This Riad is fabulous. It is quiet, yet centrally located to the market and the main Marrakech square.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and speak fluent English and French. The Riad is in perfect condition with clean and comfortable bedrooms with en-suit bathrooms. The décor is a traditional Moroccan style and very chic.
The roof terrace is huge with lovely plants with plenty of cozy seating and a panoramic view of Marrakesh and silhouetted by the Atlas Mountains. We had a breakfast on the terrace every day.
The food is excellent and can be Morrocan but we mainly had European dishes which were cooked to perfection. Thank you Riad L’Orangeraie - you were amazing.

Room Tip: As for a ground floor room if you don't like stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Stephen

Thank you for your informative review and your visit to the riad.

We are really happy that you had a good time in Marrakech. Thank you for mentioning that most of our staff speaks fluent English which we consider a necessity in order to meet the needs of all our guests.

We really hope to have you stay with us again.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful stay in an extremely friendly and welcoming Riad. Great location, staff were caring and accommodating to all our needs and always went the extra mile. Noah our baby was well looked after and loved by all the staff. A great place to relax and hang out away from the madness of the Medina! The breakfasts and evening meal tagine's are so gooood!! Thank you to Ismail and the team for making our honeymoon a special one. Xx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your gracious review and your visit to l’Orangeraie to celebrate your honeymoon.

Our staff love children and they all miss Noah. We are delighted that you outlined the quality of the food served at the riad and. Nadia, our cook, takes great pride to accommodate everyone’s different requests.

We all look forward to having you stay with us again.

Cyril, Ismail and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just spent one night here with the kids. It is absolutely amazing although pretty expensive. We chose it as it is so close to the main square and it has a plunge pool. We were only there for a night so wanted to make it work out for the kids as they had never been. Location was perfect - not too much walking for them and the pool for us was crucial so they could cool down and chill! Roof terrace fab! We did alot of searching and this riad was also able to fit four of us in one room - many of the others didnt have rooms big enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting Riad l'Orangeraie and for your favourable review.

We are grateful for letting us know that you had an amazing time at the riad
with your children. The rate that you paid was for four people staying in
one room which might explain why you found it more than the usual rate.
Previous guests have enjoyed the pool. It is a real advantage during the hot
months and rare in the medina.

The whole team looks forward to having you and your family stay with us
again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenandMichelle, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I travelled alone to Marrakech and had an excellent time partly due to Morocco and partly due to the wonderful Riad Orangeraie. It was clean, comfortable and convenientally located. the staff were extremely friendly,helpful and catered to your every need without being overbearing, They arranged trips which were excellent even giving me a free excursion with a driver and guide when the previous driver was late turning up. They offered suggestions and whilst out in Marrakesh I broke my arm. The staff could not have been more helpful with this and took me to a pharmacy to help. I have travelled fairly extensively and this is the best place I have ever stayed hands down.
Darren

Room Tip: I stayed in the Saffron room which was comfortable, private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Darren,

Thank you for staying with us at l’Orangeraie and for your complimentary review. We are really happy that you had a great time at the riad. We aim to make the Riad feel like home to those travelling in groups or on their own.

We are particularly grateful that you mentioned the quality of the services provided by our staff and that you outlined our location that we genuinely believe can’t really be any better in the medina.

We all hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This Riad is faultless. It offers everything you would want from the amazing location in the heart of Marrakech with the unparalleled service of a five star hotel. I am beyond particular with my requests and spent 2 years planning, with the help of the owner my 40th birthday party. I had friends and family fly in from all over the world, including ourselves from the USA. Nothing was too much trouble from the camel rides, the specialist menus, transport requests, snake charmers, belly dancers and so much more. It was wonderful to escape the cold of the UK and US and dine under the stars on the roof terrace. To wake up in the morning and have a sumptious breakfast waiting as the sun beamed down with a cool breeze. I hired the whole Riad and would strongly recommend doing this. The price is extremely competitive and you genuingly feel it is your home for the days you are there. I have travelled extensively world wide and can honestly say it checked all the boxes for me and far exceeded my expectations (which is rare to say the least). Thank you to all at the Riad for making my birthday so memorable not just for myself but all my guests. This is a place for everyone - my party ranged in ages from 6 months to 76 years old and we ALL loved it.

Room Tip: Hire the whole Riad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Beverly,

Thank you so much for choosing our riad to celebrate your birthday and for your wonderful review.
We are really happy to hear that you had a fantastic time at l’Orangeraie surrounded by your family and friends.
You were very specific and detailed with your requests when planning and we were delighted to hear that we met and exceeded your expectations. It was a real pleasure for all of us to meet you and your whole group and contribute to the success of your birthday party.

We would love you to stay with us again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having decided to take a long weekend in Marrakesh , we embarked on the tricky task of picking a Riad from the many listed. This place had been recommended by a friend who had stayed and gave good reports on the experience. we had a terrific time. The Riad was stunning and the people couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. A very cool place and great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Propriétaire at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing l’Orangeraie to stay during your visit in Marrakech and for your complimentary comments about your experience.

We appreciate that there are numerous places to stay in Marrakech. We believe that we provide the best available and will encourage people to experience everything that Riad l’Orangeraie has to offer. We are so grateful that you chose our riad.

We are delighted that you commented that we are ‘great value’. We strive to provide to competitive prices without compromising on service.

We would be really happy to have you stay with us again.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.