We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
knutsford
1 review
“great place and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Having decided to take a long weekend in Marrakesh , we embarked on the tricky task of picking a Riad from the many listed. This place had been recommended by a friend who had stayed and gave good reports on the experience. we had a terrific time. The Riad was stunning and the people couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. A very cool place and great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Propriétaire at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing l’Orangeraie to stay during your visit in Marrakech and for your complimentary comments about your experience.

We appreciate that there are numerous places to stay in Marrakech. We believe that we provide the best available and will encourage people to experience everything that Riad l’Orangeraie has to offer. We are so grateful that you chose our riad.

We are delighted that you commented that we are ‘great value’. We strive to provide to competitive prices without compromising on service.

We would be really happy to have you stay with us again.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    26
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
105
283
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tønsberg
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have celebrated a round birthday at the riad with 27 guests. Cyril, the owner and Ismail, the manager, took care of every detail of this arrangement from the first written contact until the last guest had departed. I have never before been so relaxed about a party, so pleased about the esthetic surroundings, the delicious food and amazing program with local musicians and bellydancer managed to engage all the guests in joining the dance to celebrate life !
The party was an unforgettable event for all my guest and I can warmly recommend celebrations at the riad for others !

The staff of the riad is very helpful in advicing and and organizing excursions from the riad.
We were a group of 27 people -from age 5 months to 87 years from different countries and with differing interest.The riad staff managed to accomodate all our interests and arranged trips to Essaouira, the Ourika Valley, and the High Atlas. The excursions went smoothly and even water for our trips was provided !

The riad in itself is an oasis. There has been a lot of thought to the physical frames - the
simplicity and harmony of colours and objects leave room for integrating impulses from the complex life of Marrakech - or the troubles and stresses of life at home. The gentleness and attentiveness of the staff is balsam for the soul. This aspect of retreat could make the riad a perfect place for work elated seminars.
The riad is immaculately clean , the beds are refreshed every day and it is a dream to fall asleep between rose petals and lit candles of the bedrooms ! A special thanks for the wonderful women of the riad !!!

The best food in Marrakech is at the riad itself !

The whole staff deserves a big bouquet of roses !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Propriétaire at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Hanna,

Thank you so much for choosing our riad to celebrate your birthday! It was a real pleasure for the whole team to coordinate with you in order to prepare every detail for your party and to have you stay at l’Orangeraie for almost a week.

We are now very use to organising events at the riad but we are always happy to read that everything went perfectly and that all our guests are satisfied.

Thank you once again for choosing us and we all really hope to have you at the riad again in the very near future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Thank you so much for giving us a special stay in Morocco! This riad has the friendliest, most helpful and kind staff you can imagine. The rooms are so delicate and beautiful, rose petals on the bed and candles are lit at night in the room and elsewhere in the riad. We travelled with two small children/baby, and the staff were so attentive and friendly to them. No stress at all! A special thanks to Aziz who served us a great meal by the pool aswell as good conversations, we really appreciated it! Breakfast - a highlight of the day,super! fresh juice, pastries, bread, fruit and delicious yoghurt. The party for our mother was perfect, we know there is a whole lot of thought and planning to make it such a success. thank you! It was hard coming back home to 'real life' after such a pleasant stay. We are dreaming of our next trip already!

Maria,Christoffer , Alma and Ella

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic. We had a room with an immense bathtub, perfect for us with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Propriétaire at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Maria, Christoffer, Alma and Ella

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us whilst celebrating your mother’s birthday.

As you indicated in your review, our staff love children and they really like taking care of them. We believe that Riad l’Orangeraie caters for all ages which is why celebrating with family and friends can be so enjoyable here. We thank you for outlining the quality of the service provided by our team as we really focus on customer service and it is always reassuring to read that we succeed in our mission to satisfy our guests.

We really hope to have you staying with us for your next trip in Marrakech.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

From the very first moment we stepped our feet on Morrocan soil we were treated like royalites by the staff; picked up at the airport and welcomed into the beautiful Riad in the very heart of Marrakech. Every single staff member at the Riad did their uttermost to meet our needs and arranged a beautiful party for us. Going to bed at night in a beautiful room where candles had been lit and bed arranged was very special..and waking up eager for the delicious breakfast that was served on the roof top. Thank you! - Sara

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Propriétaire at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you for visiting Riad l’Orangeraie and for your gracious words about your stay at the riad.

Our rooms are discretely prepared every morning and at night. We enjoy providing an ambiance when you retire to your room by lighting candles and scattering petals on the bed.

The whole team looks forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We arrived by taxi in a noisy, crowded slightly intimidating area of town and was a little anxious of what was going on. But as soon as we got out the taxi, we was greeted by Jamal, who took our luggage and escorted us through the winding, chaotic streets of the old town. After a short walk we arrived at the door and welcomed into what seemed a different world. The courtyard was very tranquil with water running and birds singing, all amongst orange trees and colourful bushes.
We had to wait a short while for our room to be ready as we had arrived an hour early, but was offered coffee, juices and mint tea whilst we did.
The rooms are very clean and modestly decorated, with a large bed and stairs leading up to the bathroom. We stayed in the Saffron room which is situated underneath the rooftop kitchen, so is a little noisy from around 6am, but this was fine for us as it meant we was up and ready to check out Marrakech.
Breakfast was nice, very different from your standard breakfast but fresh and filling. We ate on the rooftop, looking out over the mountains, which was a nice way to start the day.
Service was excellent here, everything we asked for was never too much and we felt very well looked after.
We would definitely recommend this Riad, and would love to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Propriétaire at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your stay with us at l’Orangeraie and for your very kind comments about your time at the riad.

We really appreciated the fact that you outlined the quality of the service. We take great pride on meeting the needs of all our guests.

We all hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We only had two nights at this wonderful riad - we would have loved to have stayed longer. The room was gorgeous and the beds really comfortable; the bathroom was just so cool. breakfasts on the terrace were perfect, lovely home made yoghurt and fruit purée as well as pancakes, bread, cheese - a magnificent spread with excellent coffee. We arrived quite late but the friendly welcome from Ismail with mint tea, maps, explanations, tour of the riad put us completely at ease. Jamal walked the few minutes with us to the cafe Arabe that evening to make sure we didn't get lost. The area felt very safe and we quickly found our bearings. I would love to go back to Marrakech and will definitely try to stay at the Riad de l'orangeriae.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Propriétaire at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your visit at l’Orangeraie and your favorable review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast at the riad as we pay a special attention to the first meal of the day and try to make our breakfasts consistently good.

The whole team looks forward to having you stay with us again hopefully for longer next time

Cyril and the whole team at l’Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The attention to detail in the decor and the attentive but subtle service is second to none. It seems that everyone who works here wants to go the extra mile to make your time there extra special and they succeed. The breakfasts are amazing - great choices and brilliantly presented. It's an extra special experience when the weather is kind enough for you to eat on the roof terrace. Amazing views to the mountains and across the rooftops of the medina. The main square is just 5 mins walk and the souks on your doorstep. Ismail and Jamal organised several reservations and transport for us and everything worked like clockwork. I loved this Riad and look forward to going back. I completely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange64, Owner at Riad l'Orangeraie, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your very nice review.

We would love to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Cyril and the whole staff at l'Orangeraie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.