We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay in an amazing city.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save Saved
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay in an amazing city.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Marrakech can be quite bewildering and in this busy city the Riad L'Orangeraie is a haven of tranquillity and calm. The manager and every member of his staff are the kindest and most courteous people one could hope to meet. They promised us from the start that they would make everything smooth for us, and so they did; with an efficient transfer from the airport, welcoming mint tea, a clear orientation with helpful advice on places we might like to visit, and brilliant recommendations for dinner. All this done with great charm and no sense of obligation. And our two suites were beautiful: rose petals and lit candles. We loved this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
101
265
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at Riad L'Orangeraie two years ago and returned because it was so good. This time it was even better! Ismail and his staff were attentive to our needs and unfailingly generous in response to our requests. Breakfasts were sumptuous and delicious served on their roof terrace in idyllic surroundings. Dinner which we arranged on our last night was a spectacular traditional meal. Delicious. An aperitif was offered one evening in their atmospheric and cosy lounge. And, on Christmas Eve they organised an open bar and Moroccan sweets on the terrace and traditional musicians entertained (all at no extra charge) we had a wonderful time.

The rooms are beautifully fitted with lighting and fabrics that iterate a Moroccan flavour, and the shower is terrific. The Riad is positioned close to the souks, close to Jemaa El Fna, and close to one of the gates of the Medina so that it is easy to get about. There are lots do taxis (be prepared to bargain) at the gate and an ATM is there. Even with this central position the Riad was quiet and relaxing at all times. I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This couldn’t have been better for us as our first trip to Morocco !

we spent a great night at this very traditional riad in Marrakech, the rooms were plush and comfortable. The staff were accomodating and welcoming. The rooftop deck was perfect for breakfast and dinner. This place really exceeds all the expectations when it comes to the quality, atmosphere, decor, style, personnel...no matter what Highly recommended. The food was incredible and we'll be back !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Spent 5 lovely days in Marrakech on a girly holiday. The staff make you feel like it's a home from home and it has a lovely atmosphere overall. Breakfast is always a surprise and you won't have to try the sheep's head for lunch, you'll be so full from a lovely breakfast!
Ideal for couples or friends and would definitely return for my next visit!

Room Tip: They're all great, the Cinnamon Room is rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent five nights split between two of the suites. Ismail, Aziz and Jamal were excellent with their hospitality, offering suggestions and making reservations for us. They arranged a cooking class, hammam and several restaurant reservations. The chef at the Riad is simply amazing. Her dinner was one of the best we had in Morocco. Breakfast was always a delight. Steps away from the souks, this Riad has it all.

Room Tip: We liked Nutmeg. Beautiful layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We could not get over the kindness of the service, the yummy breakfast and very good dinners (with a gris wine from Morocco)... the rooms are decorated with taste, the bathrooms look great and the beds are cosy, the service is really kind, helpful, dilligent, trust them, they all know the places you will like and enjoy, also they are of great advice. They really helped us out with all aspects of our stay in Morocco. We dined twice at the riad and the food was better than in restaurants, because this is like home-made and in small portions so everything is fresh and varied although typical. Breakfast is generous, we never needed to stop for lunch afterwards. It was a bit cool at nights, chilly in the rooms and we could have used an extra blanket: the only critic we have. Otherwise always nice to come back to the riad where rose petals are thrown on the bed cover, the room is lit with candles, and somebody comes offering tea. A highlight of the trip, and nicely situated at the medina entrance, not far from the heart of the medina. I would recommend Le Bain Bleu for hammam and treatments, as I went there; not luxurious but efficient and good service. Thank you anew to the team and manager if you read me.

Room Tip: We had ginger, which my boyfriend adored, and nutmeg, more spacious but nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We enjoyed a marvellous long weekend in Marrakech and could not have been happier with our choice of Riad. The Riad itself, the furnishings, room, food etc are beautiful and i am sure not so unusual. What IS unusual is the welcome and ongoing friendliness of ALL the staff and this is the memory one takes way, and which will bring us back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.