We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, food and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad l'Orangeraie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Riad l'Orangeraie
Save Saved
You added Riad l'Orangeraie to your Saves list
61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent five nights split between two of the suites. Ismail, Aziz and Jamal were excellent with their hospitality, offering suggestions and making reservations for us. They arranged a cooking class, hammam and several restaurant reservations. The chef at the Riad is simply amazing. Her dinner was one of the best we had in Morocco. Breakfast was always a delight. Steps away from the souks, this Riad has it all.

Room Tip: We liked Nutmeg. Beautiful layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    25
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
102
267
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We could not get over the kindness of the service, the yummy breakfast and very good dinners (with a gris wine from Morocco)... the rooms are decorated with taste, the bathrooms look great and the beds are cosy, the service is really kind, helpful, dilligent, trust them, they all know the places you will like and enjoy, also they are of great advice. They really helped us out with all aspects of our stay in Morocco. We dined twice at the riad and the food was better than in restaurants, because this is like home-made and in small portions so everything is fresh and varied although typical. Breakfast is generous, we never needed to stop for lunch afterwards. It was a bit cool at nights, chilly in the rooms and we could have used an extra blanket: the only critic we have. Otherwise always nice to come back to the riad where rose petals are thrown on the bed cover, the room is lit with candles, and somebody comes offering tea. A highlight of the trip, and nicely situated at the medina entrance, not far from the heart of the medina. I would recommend Le Bain Bleu for hammam and treatments, as I went there; not luxurious but efficient and good service. Thank you anew to the team and manager if you read me.

Room Tip: We had ginger, which my boyfriend adored, and nutmeg, more spacious but nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We enjoyed a marvellous long weekend in Marrakech and could not have been happier with our choice of Riad. The Riad itself, the furnishings, room, food etc are beautiful and i am sure not so unusual. What IS unusual is the welcome and ongoing friendliness of ALL the staff and this is the memory one takes way, and which will bring us back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location, wonderful attentive staff, beautiful food and tasty local wine. No negatives at all, in fact. A few steps away from Riad El Fenn and very similar except for the price. This place is wonderful value for money They have a partner Riad in Essaouira which is well worth visiting. This place is wonderful, the photos are accurate too. Cyrile the owner is happy to accommodate your needs, and Ismael the general manager is one of the kindest, loveliest people we have ever met in Morocco - and that's saying something. Choose this place, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent seven nights at the Riad L Orangeraie. This was our first visit to Marrakech / Morocco and picked this Riad based on a recommendation from a co-worker who stayed at the Riad last year.
Cyril, the owner was very accommodating and took care of every detail concerning our reservation. The L Orangeraie staff was excellent and did everything possible to ensure that we had a great experience and felt welcome and at home. We especially appreciated their arranging transportation to and from the airport for us and for our 20 year old daughter who joined us a few days later.
We stayed in the Paprika suite and enjoyed the beauty, space and cleanliness of the suite. We initially planned for our daughter to move to her own room after the first night but ended up having her stay with us since we found the space to be adequate and comfortable.
On our first night, we had dinner at the Riad Orangeraie of Chicken Tagine, couscous, bread and Moroccan salads. The food was excellent and one of the best meals that we had during our 15 night vacation to Morrocco and Spain.
We also enjoyed the breakfast which consisted of fresh squeezed orange juice, smoothie, French bread, Moroccan bread, hard boiled eggs, omelets, cereal, cake, etc.
Ismail and Aziz were excellent hosts and we greatly appreciated their recommendations and advice on restaurants and activities.
Thank you Raid L Orangeraie for an excellent experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My sister and I loved staying here, Ishmael, our wonderful host, said he wanted us to feel like we were in a home away from home and that is exactly what we experienced. The riad, and our room, was beautiful and the little touches were very special like the rose petals on our bed, candles lit in our room (and bathroom!) when we came home, chocolates and nuts replenished every day in our room... and tea and gorgeous cakes available complimentary whenever we asked for it. The food was absolutely delicious, fabulous breakfasts, different every day, and we only ate supper at there once but in fact it was probablly the best meal we had!
Cyril answered all our questions before we went and it was great to have his guidance in preparation. I can't recommend this riad highly enough, the staff were absolutely lovely and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

From arranging the stay to returning home Cyril, the owner, and his staff could not have been more helpful or attentive. [Even calling us after to ask for feedback on our stay as he had been away during our visit].
This Riad is a a truly peaceful and beautifully furnished bolt hole from the hustle and bustle of the Medina and it's souks. The contrast of the peace and quiet in the Riad to the noise and pace of the outside was incredible.
The food was excellent and as for breakfast.....it could not have been better. Thank you Cyril and your staff, we hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad l'Orangeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Orangeraie

Address: 61 rue Sidi Yamani | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored to its previous grandeur by a passionate team, this ancient Marrakech residence has been transformed into a Riad with a delightful ambiance. The seven spicy bedrooms, warm and colourful like their name, open onto two patios. The garden patio, where you can enjoy the flowers and aromatic plants while the fountain trickles in the background and the pool patio, an invitation to the art of relaxation, beside the sky blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad De l`Orangeraie Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad l'Orangeraie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;