We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to chill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kui-Zin

Kui-Zin
12, Rue Amsefah, Sidi Abdelaziz .Medina | 12, Rue Amsefah, Sidi Abdelaziz . Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 653-100088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $6 - $11
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Vegetarian, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Cafe restaurant sympa dans la medina de Marrakech,offre cuisine variee et rapide: plats italien :lazagnes,tagliatelle et ravioli...Salades,plats marocains,et francais.Boisson: cafe nespresso, cafe au lait, variete de jus, eau et soda (le restaurant ne sert pas le vin)Ouvert toute la journee pour le petit dejeuner, dejeuner et diner.Pour ceux qui preferent manger chez eux, nous proposons des plats a emporter.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Friendly staff and great coffee, local snake were great and worth a visit, the median is full of signs leading to their Cafe

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    112
    33
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I would call it a cafe rather than a restaurant. It was clean and modern but the food was bad, a lamb tangible with the scraggy end of lamb that was sat in a pool of fat. My wife had chicken which was slightly better but stale tasting and reheated, not freshly cooked.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good - but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had the lamb tagine with apricots and almonds and the tagine with meatballs, tomato and egg. Everything was satisfactory but without the unique aromas and powerfull flavors you would expect from Moroccan cuisine. Service was excellent and fast. And The restaurant very clean and tidy. All in all the quality of the food comes first and in our humble opinion the place on the scoreboard is not justified.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Visited Kui-Zin for dinner based on the complimentary TripAdvisor reviews and its close proximity to our riad - we had very high expectations but it didn't quite meet them. It wasn't bad, just not overly memorable. The staff were very well presented, friendly and efficient. We ordered the lamb tagine with almonds and apricots, and the Berber vegetable tagine. Both meals we just found to be a little lacking - this was our first meal in Morocco and we were expecting to be overwhelmed by the fragrant, rich, spicy flavours we had been looking forward to. Both meals were okay, but a bit bland for our tastes. Also my vegetable tagine was partly cold in places - I'm sure staff would have rectified this but I didn't want to bother them (I don't speak French and was having enough trouble communicating as it was haha).
The dessert was very nice though - we chose an apple tart and chocolate slice.
Altogether for a small complimentary entree, two main meals, two desserts and soft drinks came to about 200dH (£15) - so very affordable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good little restaurant to escape the madness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We saw this restaurant here on tripadvisor and decided to eat lunch here. We got detailed directions from our Riad and promptly proceeded to get lost. We wandered in the general direction and tried the map function on TA, but it's the Medina and it will not be mapped. We gave up any hope of finding it and looked up to get our bearings and there it was, right up the street. So, we got there after all. Ha.
This place is nice and quiet, at least at lunch. Very clean inside. Good, straight forward menu, free wifi and pretty cheap. We both were tangined out, so we ordered chicken with 5 spices with garlic potatoes. It was ok. Nothing mind blowing. It tasted like the chicken had possibly been slow cooked in the same pot with some lamb. So it gave the chicken a distinct lamb taste. Not bad, just a strange sensation. We enjoyed our break from the craziness of the Marrakech streets. Go here and enjoy friendly waiters and the peace! To give you an idea on price, 2 people eating an entree, 2 Cokes and a water was 190MAD.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kui-Zin also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Kui-Zin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kui-Zin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.