We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Welcoming Home Away from Home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #8 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"A Welcoming Home Away from Home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Although the city of Marrakech for me had changed dramatically outside of the center after an absence of 25 years, the essence—charm and enchantment—remains. This was in no small part due to Riad Kniza, a Moroccan-owned and run boutique hotel in the Medina near Bab Doukkala. The multilingual staff were warm, efficient, and knowledgeable. Welcomed with a traditional glass of mint tea and sweets, the riad is thoroughly Moroccan in décor and beautifully designed. The rooms are spacious and striking. A private hammam followed by a massage was a perfect ending to a travel-weary day. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a wonderful way to start the day, with the sound of birds chirping. The evening’s menu was discussed and chosen earlier in the day and was always excellent. The “street” a stone’s throw away from the riad was a cook’s delight—exotic spices, beautifully displayed fruit and vegetables, and the hustle and bustle of everyday life away from the throngs of tourists. For an unforgettable stay in one of the world’s most unique cities, chose Riad Kniza for your “home away from home.” You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    50
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
146
599
15
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

I can't say enough about Riad Kniza!!!! From the drive in from the airport (arranged by the Riad) to the warm reception we received on arrival, to the day of departure, all went without a hitch and beautifully. First the Riad is absolutely beautiful, decorated with Moroccan furnishings and antiques -- it is the atmosphere one wants when in a foreign county -- local culture!!!. We received a warm welcome from the proprietors, Mohammed and Kamal, on arrival -- and they continued to stay in touch to make sure everything was to our liking -- throughout out weekly stay. I was hooked on the Riad as soon as I walked into the beautiful countyard, which has a fountain in the center filled with fresh rose petals. The surrounding rooms, where tea is served on arrival or on demand, are all beautifully furnished with hand-crafted wood panels, carved ceilings and gorgeous texties and antiques. The artisan work in Morroco was proudly and beautifully displayed in Riad Kniza. I was blown away when I saw our room (Royal Suite) and even more mesmerized aftar a delicious dinner in the dining room. Everything is made fresh daily, so you can ask for your preference for dinner. The meals were superb and we elected to eat in the Riad three times during our week stay due to the quality, price and atmosphere. The dining room always had a blazing fire going, setting off the glimmering crystals from the beautiful overhead chandelier. The location is great -- near the Bab Doukkala -- so it was very easy to pick up a taxi and a recognizable location for taxis dropping you off.

I cannot say enough good things about Riad Kniza -- it is a 5 star hotel/riad in all aspects of hospitality (room, customer service, food, location, etc,) AND don't forget the spa and hammam!! Fabulous!! I look forward to a return turn to Marrakech and this riad. Believe me when I say that Kamal and Mohammed will make this more than a memorial stay for you.

Jackie Stein
Alexandria, VA

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Being Moroccan by birth, I really wanted to feel what my USA friends call "Exotic" when mentioning their trip to Morocco. For me it was "business as usual"...nothing new, nothing different, until I went to Marrakech and stayed at Riad Kniza. For the first time in Morocco, I could finally understand what my friends were talking about and more. From my first step into the Riad until I left, I was surrounded by attentive staff in an elegant and comfortable home away from home! If I could put elegance, charm, and magic in one perfume, I would call it Riad Kniza and sell it all around the world. I am lucky I finally found my beautiful place in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

Phew. This was a review I didn't anticipate writing having done extensive tripadvisor research before booking weekend..
Amazing: lovely location, spectacular building, beautiful furnishings and very friendly, accommodating staff, delicious evening meal and very, very peaceful.
Poor: breakfasts a bit rubbish really, orange juice (delicious and available by the bucket for next to nothing in the main square) was poor, coffee very weak and only one cup each, yoghurt and a load of stodgy pastries. Once breakfast was served on the roof (spectacular setting) the waiter disappeared both days so we had to walk down two flights of stairs to reception to ask for more coffee.
The included trip to the mountains was just a tedious, theme park rip off via an 'authentic berber house' and 'authentic herb farm' and ended up in a giant SUV car park at some village where apparently the road ended. It was a waste of four hours of our weekend and we just used it to catch up on sleep (and wave to most people who had been on our flight).
The included massage was great but the hammam was a bit pricey (quoted at 'around 20 euros' but actually 30 euros on the bill).
It was a bit off putting while eating breakfast on the roof to have about 20 tourists do a tour and snap photos (though only what we had been doing to other people outside the riad;))
No prices were available for meals or drinks which is a bit off putting and overall, we thought that it was very pricey for what we got and a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Riad Kniza for 3 wonderful nights and we were made to feel special from the moment we arrived until we left.
We were picked up from the airport by Rasheed in a pristine 4by4 and offered a chilled bottle of water each.
When we got to the Riad, Samira greeted us like old friends and offered us some delicious mint tea and pastries while she explained the area to us.
The rooms and the riad are very tastefully decorated with wonderful art work and furnishings.
We had our breakfasts and 1 dinner at the Riad and they were of very high quality.
The service was impeccable, nothing was ever a problem, and the smiles that greeted us all over the riad were lovely!
The riad is about a 10 minute walk from the Jamaa el Fna. The walk is very interesting because you get to see how the people get on with their everyday.
I highly recommend Riad Kniza and its staff, they will make your stay in Marrakech special.
Thank you to all and hello to Samira, Hanane and Meream!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

nothing was too much trouble for the staff especially when our return flight was cancelled. they were fully booked so we couldn't stay at the Kniza but they made fine arrangements for a nearby hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights - 2 before our trip into Atlas Mountain and 1 after. From the welcome we had with mint tea/cookies and a quick intro to the city, we felt truly at home.

All the staff go out of their way to make your stay a fabulous one - from the advice from the ladies at reception, to the housekeeping, and even the waiters who walk around unobtrusively on the roof terrace, seemingly without glancing at your table to make sure you always have everything you would like. One time, we were trying to catch a taxi into the new town for dinner, but couldn't manage to flag one down after 30min. Disappointed, we gave up and decided to have dinner at the Riad, but when we returned the lady at reception asked us what happened and sent one of the stewards with us to help us get a taxi. It is this level of service that made us enjoy our stay so much.

The rooms were wonderful too - well decorated and spotless. On our second stay we were upgraded to a Senior Suite which is massive. If we had known the difference, we would have booked it in the first place!!

The Riad welcomes you to have meals when you want and to eat what you want. There is no set meal times or set menu, and no need for advance notice (except for the hour or so they need to cook!). We very much enjoyed this flexibility, especially after we left and found this wasn't the case at all Riads. The food of course is delicious as well, and the kitchen tries its best to think of alternatives to tagines (which some people may wish a change from after a few days of having it for lunch and dinner...).

This is *the* place to stay in Marrakech and all the excellent reviews it has received are a good reflection of what a stay is like at Riad Kniza.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#8 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.