We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Inclusions
Ranked #10 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

We fully support the rave reviews on this site. It is indeed difficult to fault any aspect of our three night stay. The only missing facility was a pool (however small). Even in the 'mid-winter ' of January, with temperatures well into the twenties, a quick dip after a hard morning's sightseeing would have been welcome. Apart from this, the riad was perfection ....

Our bedroom was sumptiously furnished in local style and of modest but ample size. The bathroom and separate toilet were spacious and well equipped. Breakfast on the roof terrace was high quality continental. It comprised a variety of home baked breads and cakes, preserves, fresh orange juice, yoghurt, tea and coffee.

Service was genuinely caring, helpful and gracious. We were made to feel at home by Samira and all of her colleagues.

Higly recommended.

  • Liked — Highest quality of service
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    985
    53
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
149
626
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

I have struggled to find a negative because it's so hard to believe that perfection exists in this mad world, but it does and it's called Kniza. Without exception the owners and staff were wonderfully helpful, always there to sort anything that we wanted to do.

The suite was lovely and cosy with mega comfortable beds and it became a haven of peace and warmth in the evening with a roaring wood fire and a large glass of Jim Beam on the rocks ( we brought our own because although they do serve wine etc we guessed that they wouldn't have our favourite tipple ) before either going out to one of the great restaurants that are now all over Marrakesh or eating in. The meals in Kniza were extremely good and where we were planning to eat out every night we ended up eating in half the time.

As for the belly dancer laid on for New Years Eve I can only say that I'm in love, absolutely gorgeous and sensual.

The whole visit was an absolute delight and more like staying with good friends than in an hotel.

STOP PRESS it seems that a spa is promised soon so there really will be no reason to go anywhere else.

Chris 03.01.2007

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — go there
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2006

This Riad is perfectly situated on the edge of the Medina a short 10 min walk to the Jemaa-Al-Fna. The staff could not have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The Riad is beautifully furnished giving it an exotic feel. The kitchen was able to make anything you required I took two children under 13 and they were made very welcome. I would highly recommend this Riad. It was a wonderful experience staying here.

  • Liked — The friendlyness of the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London/NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

We stayed at Riad Kniza for 3 nights in November, and I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this Riad. It was like an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of the medina. From the ornately carved woodwork and plaster; to the decor of the rooms; the rooftop terrace; the food; the incredible hospitality of the staff -it really made our stay in Morocco very memorable. We went on to Fes after Marrakech, and even though the Riad there was very nice, our expectations of having as delightful a stay as at Kniza were not to be fulfilled.
Samira went out of her way to ensure all our needs were met - she even sent someone to the train station to purchase tickets for us for the train to Fes.
This is my first review on TripAdvisor (we found this Riad through TripAdvisor). Even though we travel a lot, I have never felt compelled to write a review before now.
I would thoroughly recommend this cosy Riad. I couldn't find fault with anything. Just delightful.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

Just came back from Marrakech and four nights in this wonderful house. I can´t say enough positive values from all of the staff, educated, charming, efficient...The Riad is a beautiful and superb deluxe hotel, we (my wife and me plus 4 friends) had the most exciting time in Marrakech with them. Thank you specially Samira and Hannane for your kindness and patient with me and the "story" about my watch, just incredible, I think you were as happy as I when I found it, sorry for the trouble I made. They arranged for us a tour through the medina and new city and a Special tour over Ourika valley and Berber house, Thank you Kamal (perfect guide, just perfect). The dinner was the best we had in the 4 nights ( I already Knew it before because of the reviews), breakfast was always faboulus, with our chimney going on...Our requests were always dealt, they treated as we were relatives to them, like royalty...I will recommend the hotel to all my friends and surely we will never forget all of you.
Thank you very much again, muchas gracias and God bless you all for you atention and generosity with us.
From Spain, Alfonso and Kathrin

  • Liked — The generosity from all the staff
  • Disliked — That I could not stay longer!
  • Tips/Secrets — Let them guide you in all, they are almost perfect.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

This was the most incredible place we visited. We had read the reviews online which were excellent so we already had high expectations - but these were surpassed during our stay at the Riad Kniza.

we were treated like royalty for our four days at the kniza. as there are only seven rooms you really feel like you know the staff and they know you. they tend to your every need - and quickly.

having all non alcoholic drinks included is fantastic. morocco is not a place where you want to be drinking tap water and we endulged in lots of mint tea and soft drinks to rehydrate after a day haggling in the souks.

they have wireless internet which is included in the price and very fast.

the rooms were incredible. we stayed in the l'orientale for 2 nights and the kenza suite for another 2 nights. each of the seven rooms have their own character - the decor is just amazing and completely authentic. the ceiling is hand crafted wood and everything inside was moroccan styled. the whole place made us feel special. particularly enjoyable was the fact that the kniza is situated inside the walls of the medina (old city).

one of the most interesting aspects of this place is the contrast between the beauty of the interior of the kniza and the souks (markets) outside. .. ill let you discover this for yourselves.

last but not least - we will never forget our stay at the riad kniza as on our last night - we got engaged! Kamal, the director was particularly helpful. He suggested a fantastic restaurant, he booked the horse and carriage, he organised the roses and personally hand delivered them to the horse/carriage to meet us after our wonderful meal. The evening couldnt have gone better and I am so glad I had him to help me.

in summary we would highly recommend this place if you are staying in morocco for a few reasons...

1) it is true authentic morocco right in the middle of the old city (we also stayed in a hotel which was great but had no authenticity about it)

2) it is well worth the money you pay - non alcoholic drinks, breakfast, internet all included.

3) the staff are charming and exceedingly helpful and attentive.

4) good place to get engaged...

thanks for everything - we will not forget you !

Jonny and Sara
London, UK

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2006

Riad Kniza is a wonderful riad offering peace and tranquility within the walls of the bustling medina. It has been lovingly restored by hand and the care and attention to detail is really evident. the staff cannot do enough to help make your stay really memorable and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is great, and if the weather is fine you can enjoy it on the terrace with views over the medina - great!

  • Liked — The decor
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#9 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Business Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.