We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best holiday ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza

Save Saved
You added Riad Kniza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Kniza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1 FREE Night
Ranked #9 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, UK
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our best holiday ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2006

This was the most incredible place we visited. We had read the reviews online which were excellent so we already had high expectations - but these were surpassed during our stay at the Riad Kniza.

we were treated like royalty for our four days at the kniza. as there are only seven rooms you really feel like you know the staff and they know you. they tend to your every need - and quickly.

having all non alcoholic drinks included is fantastic. morocco is not a place where you want to be drinking tap water and we endulged in lots of mint tea and soft drinks to rehydrate after a day haggling in the souks.

they have wireless internet which is included in the price and very fast.

the rooms were incredible. we stayed in the l'orientale for 2 nights and the kenza suite for another 2 nights. each of the seven rooms have their own character - the decor is just amazing and completely authentic. the ceiling is hand crafted wood and everything inside was moroccan styled. the whole place made us feel special. particularly enjoyable was the fact that the kniza is situated inside the walls of the medina (old city).

one of the most interesting aspects of this place is the contrast between the beauty of the interior of the kniza and the souks (markets) outside. .. ill let you discover this for yourselves.

last but not least - we will never forget our stay at the riad kniza as on our last night - we got engaged! Kamal, the director was particularly helpful. He suggested a fantastic restaurant, he booked the horse and carriage, he organised the roses and personally hand delivered them to the horse/carriage to meet us after our wonderful meal. The evening couldnt have gone better and I am so glad I had him to help me.

in summary we would highly recommend this place if you are staying in morocco for a few reasons...

1) it is true authentic morocco right in the middle of the old city (we also stayed in a hotel which was great but had no authenticity about it)

2) it is well worth the money you pay - non alcoholic drinks, breakfast, internet all included.

3) the staff are charming and exceedingly helpful and attentive.

4) good place to get engaged...

thanks for everything - we will not forget you !

Jonny and Sara
London, UK

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    919
    49
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
139
575
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2006

Riad Kniza is a wonderful riad offering peace and tranquility within the walls of the bustling medina. It has been lovingly restored by hand and the care and attention to detail is really evident. the staff cannot do enough to help make your stay really memorable and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is great, and if the weather is fine you can enjoy it on the terrace with views over the medina - great!

  • Liked — The decor
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

We had a fabulous stay at Riad Kniza, in a luxurious suite. Our hosts personally introduced us to the marvelous medina and made sure we were treated like royalty. We'd love to come back.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

Riad Kniza, Kamal and his staff, were the most wonderful experience we had in Morocco. The food is fantastic; we didn't want to eat dinner anywhere else. The kindness, hospitality, generosity and graciousness of the staff, and the comfort and beauty of Riad Kniza, are extraordinary. From a world traveler, I give RIAD KNIZA an A+++++!

  • Liked — The staff, the food and the room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Talk to Kamal
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2006

I cannot praise Riad Kniza highly enough. We had already read some reviews on this site before booking our stay, and they are absolutely true. The owners and staff really can't do enough for you - on our second day they arranged a full days itinerary for us including sorting out the transport and agreeing the cost for us. One night we requested room service but the kitchens were closed so they ordered a pizza for us! This trip was for our honeymoon, and although Marrakech perhaps isn't an obvious honeymoon destination, the riad was definitely the right choice, our room was a basic one, but you really wouldn't need any more because it was absolutely beautiful and enormous, with a fantastic bathroom. The intimate nature of the Riad (only 6 rooms) meant that we felt valued, and our requests were dealt with promptly. Also believe what they say about the food, it is fantastic! We particularly enjoyed the enormous breakfasts : ) The only negative (and it isn't really) is that due to its close vicinity to a number of mosques, and the fact that all noise carries due to the marble, it can be kind of noisy early in the morning, so if you are a light sleeper you may want to take some earplugs. Overall, I give it 5 stars, 10 out of 10 and the top rating on any other scale you can think of!

  • Liked — All of it, I can't narrow it down it was just generally fantastic.
  • Disliked — The noise, but that it easily remedied.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ignore any map you havem get one from the front desk but never look at it outside the riad or you'll get swamped with offers of guides.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder,Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

All the wonderful things people are saying about this Riad are true.

Karmal was a wonderful host and his staff were the best, anything we needed was provided with a smile. Drove us to lunch and his mother's shop, where they have beautiful items from Morocco and then to a masssage.

This is a Riad that I felt comfortable in, it is beautifully appointed with antiques from Morocco, it is very clean with lovely linens. A staff that is all about making you happy!

If you choose to they will fix you a delightful dinner, that is among the best in town.
It's nice to relax with a gin and tonic after a hard day in the medina!
This was a great way to end our two week Moroccan vacation.

  • Liked — it's staff,clean & beautiful
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book early
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

We arrived a bit spaced out from an early flight as newlyweds on the first day of our honeymoon.

Riad Kniza and their staff were a dream, just what we needed after a busy time up to the wedding. They were so attentive. Kniza only has 7 rooms so they can afford to get to know you better and handover was great -- new staff member would go on shift and they'd know everything you'd told the previous one. Drinks, incidentals and airport travel was included in the cost of the room. There are so many wonderful incidents I'll list them separately.

1. My wife had a blistered heel. They went out into the street and got her some plasters, hand delivered (no charge). Nice work guys.

2. On the second day we were planning to go to the Atlas mountains. Unprompted during a nice breakfast, one of the attendants came and suggested due to the weather that we may want to consider Essaouira as he'd checked the weather forecast and it was expected to be sunny there (it was). However they lent my wife a raincoat in any case, along with a lovely picnic basket with fresh towels and bottles of water. And an umbrella. Warm fuzzies.

3. Free stuff. We had tea with biscuits, and freshly squeezed orange juice, fruit, and water hand delivered to us wherever we were (on the lovely roof garden, in our rooms, downstairs in the atrium...). Same went for other incidentals -- plasters (as above), a comb, and ironing! My wife decided at the last moment to iron some clothes before a trip out. Oh. No ironing board in the room. Rang front desk -- can you bring one up? No they said, we'll get someone to do it. We were like, we have to go! They said it'll be done in 15 minutes. It was! Someone rushed off, ironed them, and returned them to our room! Amazing! Riad Caravanserai would've charged about £10 for this and only done it the next day.

4. Really nice lunches/dinners. Ok they were very expensive (350 = £25 each) but you just don't care at Kniza because you're so well looked after. Value for money. Service with a smile.

5. 5% discount for cash. I think they all do this, but it was nice. I just would've liked to know about this earlier -- getting lots of Dirham out on the day is quite difficult.

Downsides: no pool or hammam. My wife really missed them, but good news, they're adding one, so look out for it end of 2007. I certainly will be for our anniversary!

Also, the breakfast was ok -- but Caravanserai's had more variety.

Note -- we stayed at Riad Caravan Serai which in comparison, was a complete let down . See my scathing review of that for comparison (note Caravanserai has 18 rooms)

*A riad is simply a hotel with traditional decor. They generally have a lot of character and any trip to Morocco should stay in at least one, at least once just to see the striking contrast from generic international hotels.

  • Liked — Superb decor and service
  • Disliked — No pool, garden or hammam.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get in quick, this place gets booked out months in advance.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Kniza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kniza

Address: 34 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Kniza 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located 18th-century riad has been in the Bouskri family for almost 200 years and offers the complete package of traditional architecture, authentic furnishings, exquisite cuisine and, above all, overwhelmingly hospitable service. The owner, Mohamed Bouskri, having been a guide for the rich and famous for 34 years (Brad Pitt, Nicole Kidman, former US presidents and others) is a mine of information and is always glad to share his knowledge and passion of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad Kniza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kniza Marrakech
Riad Kniza Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Kniza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.